Ratings based on 174 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 5, 2017
There was a certain gentleman (staff) that was quite rude to us. The hotel however is great
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by Nonku, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we at Faircity train our staff to provide remarkable experiences, especially when coming into direct contact with our guests. To hear of an unpleasant experience and a staff member being “rude” is very unsettling. Please accept our most sincere apology to this regard. We will be sure to make a note of this. We would also like to thank you for mentioning your appreciation for the hotel in general. We hope to see you sometime in the near future. Yours in hospitality Faircity Management & Staff Nonku Sithole Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

A nice slightly old fashioned hotel

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Pros: Comfortable, attractive, location, shuttle, food
Cons: Ability to change money and offer pens and paper at reception.
Location: Mandella shopping center, Morningside Mall.
Most of the upscale hotels for tourists are not in the city proper and many are in Sandton. Faircity Quartermain is a very comfortable attractive hotel that is warm and inviting--no modern steel and plastic. Brick, carpets, curtains, and a very inviting warm feeling. The food is excellent and the courtyard is very inviting to sit in. So is the lounge. You can walk to one nearby shopping center, but there is a shuttle that will take you there or to other locations. We arranged tours through the hotel and a lovely well-informed man named "Life" spent two good days with us. Be aware that service is not like in the US. Hotel had limited ability to make change. Staff in the bar were a bit slow-moving. But I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone liking a relaxed setting. There is a pool, but it is in the courtyard, so some might not feel comfortable swimming there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by Nonku, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your kind words in regard to our Faircity Quatermain Hotel, positive reviews are always appreciated. We take pride in our hotels “Homely” atmosphere and the comfort the English–Style charm it provides for our guests. We also appreciate your compliments regarding our restaurant “Sel et Poivre” and we will surely be passing them onto our dedicated and exceptional team in the kitchen. We will continue to strive for a higher level of service and attention to detail. Thank you again, and we hope to see you again sometime in the near future. Yours in hospitality Faircity Management & Staff Nonku Sithole Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A wise and secure choice

Posted Feb 23, 2017
This hotel is spacious. attractive and very well presented. The service was absolutely immaculate, in almost every way. The staff were helpful. positive and prompt. We only ate breakfast there; but it was first class. . The room was large, comfortable and fully-equipped. Overall, we would strongly recommend this hotel to everyone. The only criticism I can think of is that I had to get salt from another table.!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by Nonku, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, We appreciate you taking the time to write a review, and thank you for your kind words about our service and facilities. Our team at Faircity strives to provide such a service to warrant this type of response. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast as well as that our experienced and passionate staff added to the overall experience. We will be sure to have salt on the table ready and waiting for your next stay, and continue to strive for that perfect experience. Yours in hospitality Faircity Management & Staff Nonku Sithole Guest Relations Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Location: Secure location, short drive to Sandton where there are shops, entertainment, etc
Secure area, clean rooms. Carpets are a bit worn out though..Overall, not bad. Older people or others with heavy baggage might not like it as there are several flights of stairs (at least to rooms 510-515 where I stayed). There is no elevator.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by Nonku, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, your feedback is much appreciated in all regards. We are pleased to hear the rooms were up to standard in terms of cleanliness, we will communicate that to our passionate and skilled housekeeping team. We are also delighted to hear that our location provides adequate security. We would like to apologise for the condition in which the carpets were in, relevant departments will be communicated with in this capacity. Thank you for staying with us and providing us with invaluable feedback, we hope to see you again in the near future. Yours in hospitality Faircity Management & Staff Nonku Sithole Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Quiet location, shuttle to Sandton centre

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff. Efficient shuttle service.
Cons: Lounge seating round pool
Location: Sandton is the place to go to shop and eat. Requires shuttle or taxi to get there.
Very nice, spacious rooms, good soundproofing. Shuttle service very good, taking you to Sandton centre, and Gautrain station (connects with airport). Restaurant good, and staff very friendly and efficient. Negative point was the limited amount of lounger seating round the pool.
5 out of 5
by Manish

Value for money

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
were good staff they have free courtesy van to pick u up and drop u anywhere in sandton good place u should stay here value for money for sure
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Safe, comfortable hotel would return

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Safe, comfortable hotel in a good area. Nice rooms. Disappointingly small pool rather than the two pools in the Expedia description. Good restaurant with quiet patio. Shuttle service useful but failed to collect us as arranged at the mall.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2017 by Nonku, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for providing us with your valuable feed back, it is highly appreciated. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel rooms, please accept our sincere for the the pool not meeting your expectation. We are delighted to hear that you were happy with the restaurant and patio. We have noted your feedback on the shuttle service and we will address this matter urgently. Yours in hospitality Nonku Sithole Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
by Marcus

Excellent hotel

Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Hotels
We spent 6 nights here at the end of our holiday, this is certainly a 4 star hotel, clean rooms with a decent size. It was great value for money. The only down side is the restaurant, where breakfast was a bit chaotic on some mornings. We are at the restaurant twice and on both occasions the service was slow (although as we were on holiday it didn't matter too much). Those are only small things as the staff were always friendly and made the stay even better. Can highly recommend this hotel if staying in the area :)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Hotels
It was average in terms of my expectations,Rooms were neat and clean.
5 out of 5
by Mary

Waht a bargain - and so elegant

Posted Jan 7, 2017 on Hotels
Staff was amazing - shuttle service helpful. great breakfast and great price! Our towel rack did not heat up but everything else - perfect.