Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Luxury Boutique Hotel in Beautiful Garden Setting

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: The room was large and luxurious and the bathroom as well. I liked the Charlotte Rhys product in the bathroom
Location: Sandton City is close and this hotel provides you with a sanctuary close to the bustle of the city.
Fairlawns is a beautifully appointed luxury boutique hotel set amongst extensive gardens. It is hard to believe that you are close to the bustling Sandton shopping and business areas - but you are! It is luxury all the way, from the moment you arrive to the moment you leave. A warm towel and fresh juice welcomes you at reception. You are escorted to your room and the room's amenities are explained to you. The staff are courteous and well trained. Our room was large and stately. The bathroom too. French Provincial style. The pool area is great for relaxing and the patio is a lovely shaded area where you can enjoy a glass of wine or a meal. Breakfast is served on the patio. We had dinner arrangements so did not dine in the restaurant - Amuse Bouche - but it looked lovely! Next time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USVI

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Pros: Beautiful grounds. Spacious rooms, well decorated and just classy.
Cons: The weather. It rained the latter part of my trip but lots of umbrellas available. the wifi gave some trouble too.
Location: It is in a neighborhood, so I really felt like I was at home.
I am so glad I chose to stay at Fairlawn. I wavered between a hotel chain and Fairlawn. I needed peace and rest and I got tis at Fairlawn. The staff was amazing! Like truly amazing. Neil, Andries, Madelyn, Andre, Sherri and so many whose names I cannot recall were so accommodating.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Ernst from Rustenburg

Best stay ever!

Posted Jun 14, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent! Greatly Satisfying!
5 out of 5
by Cheryl from Nashville, TN

Posted Apr 30, 2016 on Hotels
Don't miss the spa or the restaurant!! All incredible.
5 out of 5
by Vitor from Maputo - Mozambique

If you are looking for a widen getaway

Posted Dec 22, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel deserves the rating that's shows (5 STARS), all one looks in a hotel could be found either in the room or just outside the room. Amazing main facilities including the SPA. A true widen gateway and so close to Sandton, I thought that I could not be surprised anymore, and here it is.
5 out of 5
by Tendayi B from Harare

The little Paradise of Johannesburg

Posted Dec 11, 2015 on Hotels
It was the best home away from home stay that I have had in a long time. The hotel more than exceeded my expectations. The hotel is exquisitely decorated with a great opulence that provides the feeling of Paradise on earth.... The staff is more than helpful and always ready to serve but without being in your face all the time.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 15, 2015 on Hotels
Absolutely first rate from top to tail!
4 out of 5
by Gustavo from johannesburg

could be better

Posted May 12, 2015 on Hotels
beautiful hotel & grounds. service was not as good as i would have expected. long wait at checkin , room was not ready. when taken to room, lights not working & bad smell in room. had to wait until another room was made up. food was average!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

My Stay at Fairlawns

Posted Dec 22, 2014 on Hotels
I loved everything about the hotel. Dinner was amazing. Staff very friendly. Just that my breakfast that I have ordered to the room for 06H00 the next morning only arrived at 06H30 and the receptionist still wanted to justify it as I needed to leave at the time and could not enjoy the breakfast that was included in my rate. I left with a bad taste. Besides that... I e-mailed them about it and never received any feedback with regards to my complaint. I have to say though that it is a wonderful hotel. A little improvement with regards to communication would help though. I will go back though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2015 by Mr Kewley, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our Hotel. Your kind comments about the Fairlawns Boutique Hotel are most appreciated, and will be shared with my Team. We will ensure improvement on communication as suggested in your review. As a recognized 5 star Hotel we strive for more in order to remain a unique and exclusive establishment, where only the best service is delivered. We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to our Sanctuary in the City. Kind Regards Mr Michael Kewley Managing Director