Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by Cheryl from Nashville, TN

Posted Apr 30, 2016 on Hotels
Don't miss the spa or the restaurant!! All incredible.
5 out of 5
by Vitor from Maputo - Mozambique

If you are looking for a widen getaway

Posted Dec 22, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel deserves the rating that's shows (5 STARS), all one looks in a hotel could be found either in the room or just outside the room. Amazing main facilities including the SPA. A true widen gateway and so close to Sandton, I thought that I could not be surprised anymore, and here it is.
5 out of 5
by Tendayi B from Harare

The little Paradise of Johannesburg

Posted Dec 11, 2015 on Hotels
It was the best home away from home stay that I have had in a long time. The hotel more than exceeded my expectations. The hotel is exquisitely decorated with a great opulence that provides the feeling of Paradise on earth.... The staff is more than helpful and always ready to serve but without being in your face all the time.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 15, 2015 on Hotels
Absolutely first rate from top to tail!
4 out of 5
by Gustavo from johannesburg

could be better

Posted May 12, 2015 on Hotels
beautiful hotel & grounds. service was not as good as i would have expected. long wait at checkin , room was not ready. when taken to room, lights not working & bad smell in room. had to wait until another room was made up. food was average!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

My Stay at Fairlawns

Posted Dec 22, 2014 on Hotels
I loved everything about the hotel. Dinner was amazing. Staff very friendly. Just that my breakfast that I have ordered to the room for 06H00 the next morning only arrived at 06H30 and the receptionist still wanted to justify it as I needed to leave at the time and could not enjoy the breakfast that was included in my rate. I left with a bad taste. Besides that... I e-mailed them about it and never received any feedback with regards to my complaint. I have to say though that it is a wonderful hotel. A little improvement with regards to communication would help though. I will go back though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2015 by Mr Kewley, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our Hotel. Your kind comments about the Fairlawns Boutique Hotel are most appreciated, and will be shared with my Team. We will ensure improvement on communication as suggested in your review. As a recognized 5 star Hotel we strive for more in order to remain a unique and exclusive establishment, where only the best service is delivered. We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to our Sanctuary in the City. Kind Regards Mr Michael Kewley Managing Director
3 out of 5
by Hans Gerhard from Lephalale,

Good and Quite Place close to Sandton City

Posted Dec 13, 2014 on Hotels
Stayed for 7 nights; very nice setting; rooms are really great and quiet; very comforable bedding; enjoyable garden; breakfeast not really up to 5 star; dispite confirmed booking confusion within hotel staff about length of our stay thus spoiling our the last evening/night by locking us out (door key expired) and not serving the rooom. Summary: enjoyed staying there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2015 by Mr Kewley, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our Hotel. Your kind comments about the Fairlawns Boutique Hotel are most appreciated, and will be shared with my Team. I can assure you that the confusion with regards to your length of stay was an isolated incident, but I would like to apologize for the inconvenience non the less. As a recognized 5 star Hotel we strive for more in order to remain a unique and exclusive establishment, where only the best service is delivered. We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to our Sanctuary in the City. Kind Regards Mr Michael Kewley Managing Director
5 out of 5
by Rupa from USA

An Exquisite stay at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel!

Posted Aug 22, 2014 on Hotels
We had a splendid and perfect stay at the Fairlawns! The hotel was grand and elegant and the grounds very beautiful. The service of the staff was impeccable.The staff were very warm and friendly.Our room was luxurious and comfortable.The hotel provided a free shuttle to the Sandton center and Mandela square which was very convenient. We stayed twice at the Fairlawns Boutique Hotel and both times our stay was superb. August 2014
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2015 by Mr Kewley, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our Hotel. Your comments with regards to our Elegant Hotel and beautiful grounds are most appreciated, and will be shared with my Team. As a recognized 5 star Hotel we strive for more in order to remain a unique and exclusive establishment, where only the best service is delivered. We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to our Sanctuary in the City. Kind Regards Mr Michael Kewley Managing Director
4 out of 5
by Sasha from Johannesburg

Booking not honoured, refund not forthcoming

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: Great food.
Cons: Friendliness of check in staff, better response times from reservations.
Location: Secluded. Which is super!
When I checked in, having booked and receiving confirmation via Expedia, the hotel had no such record. The check in manager was not exactly the friendliest chap and asked me for the rate quoted, which I thought was hardly professional. When I complained post my stay, with the email received from Expedia, I was promised a refund, after waiting ten days nothing was forthcoming. This left a pretty bad taste in my mouth. Other than that, the hotel is beautiful, the room was not what I had booked via the Expedia website (it was not even in the system) and lucky for us there was a room available. The reservations staff offered a refund, but that never came.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 21, 2014 on Hotels