Ratings based on 346 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Lafayette, IN

Genesis

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: Unique design, room appointments, friendly/helpful staff. Reminded me of Embassy Suites except open in he middle rather than enclosed.
Cons: Perhaps a note about how to arrange transportation. There is no shuttle and so I called the hotel and the receptionist gave me the telephone number.
Location: N/A for our short overnight visit.
Although advertised as "close to the airport", I guess we have different concepts of close. It was a 20 minute, $30 U.S. dollar ride + tip.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No water, no notice, no concern

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: It was over a good grocery store
Cons: The non-existent service
We booked and prepaid for a three bedroom suite for 5 people for two nights. It was clean, minimally stocked and starkly decorated and furnished. It was also safe and over a grocery store. So much for the good. The first night the unit was provided four towels for the five of us. After four requests for an additional towel we eventually received one, but there was well over an hour delay. We returned from touring for our second night about 5 pm needing to clean up to make our flights the next day. The hotel had no water and evidently had not had running water since we left in the morning. Nobody advised the guests or voluntarily offered any assistance. We were told repeatedly that the water would be on shortly, then it was to be at 8:00 pm. , then nothing. No apology, no help in finding other lodging ("You can look it up on the internet"), no concern. Successfully pressed for a refund, nobody on staff could process it, so another wait, until we got out of there about 9:30. Still no water, no apology or concern ("Its not your fault, it's not our fault)"
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great modern apartments in excellent location

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: Great location
Cons: Should put basics in kitchen e.g. dish towel, sponge, washing liquid etc. Comes with absolutely nothing.
Location: Lots of shops and good places to eat.
We stayed in a lovely 3 bed apartment with small kitchen and comfortable living area. Apartments are part of a shopping mall with underground parking so secure with all amenities on hand.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Lusaka

Fantastic All Suite hotel in a very nice area.

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Amenities, Location, Space, Convenience, Cleanliness, Comfort and Hotel Staff
Cons: Nothing, its superb
Location: Nice quiet area with a play park right outside. Normally wouldn't go to a place like that in JoBurg, but we felt very safe. RoseBank Mall is 5min away
We travelled as a family with 2 little kids. We booked the 2 bedroom suite and it was not only very spacious but had all the amenities one could possible hope for. The hotel staff were very accommodating and provided us with a cot and nice bedding for it. The hotel has got a woolworths food and Pick n Pay supermarket on site which is so handy for getting food and drinks, great for access to baby food and nappies. But if you don't feel like cooking then you can order in from 2 restaurants on site :-) Not only will we stay again, but I don't think we will stay anywhere else when travelling to JoBurg and certainly will be recommending it to our family and friends. I couldn't find anything I could fault and that says a lot as I like my comforts when travelling.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Australia

Family friendly hotel.

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Location and rooms set up. Promotes continuity of family living in own home.
Cons: Variety of meals would make a big improvement.
Location: Good.
The location is great,staff are wonderful and cheerful. The atmosphere is good and friendly for family vaccations.My family enjoyed their stay and had a memorable experience.
5 out of 5
by Junae Diamond

Wow, Wow, Wow! Lovely hotel!

Posted Mar 16, 2017 on Hotels
Wow!! This was our first hotel in South Africa and it was absolutely amazing! I had arranged for us to be picked up from the airport and the driver from the hotel was right there waiting for us once we deplaned and retrieved our baggage. The hotel is outside of Johannerburg's city center, but is well worth it! Our hotel was a gorgeous 2-bedroom, 2-bathroom suite with a fully appointed kitchen and a balcony that overlooked the entire city! The food and drinks at the hotel's restaurant were ridiculously delicious, especially the steak and pasta! There is a bank, barber shop, post office and super market on the premises. I would definitely stay here again! Everyone was so kind, accommodating and hospitable,
5 out of 5
by Sonya

Very pleasant stay

Posted Mar 15, 2017 on Hotels
This was a great, comfortable, convenient hotel. The staff was pleasant and welcoming, the room was very spacious and attractively designed. Nice restaurant, lounge, coffee shop and super markets in the building.
4 out of 5
by Tiffany

Overall good value

Posted Mar 2, 2017 on Hotels
Genesis all suite hotel jnb *This is an apartment hotel in a shopping center (in a predominatly Jewish neighborhood with security everywhere) with a Spa,restaurant,grocery market & liquor store. I can’t remember the shuttle drivers name but he was very welcoming upon my arrival at the airport and was very patient while I waited at the currency exchange queue (uber is cheaper alternative) I booked a 2bdrm suite however I was actually given a 3bdrm suite at check in. The kitchen had an oven and microwave/toaster oven. There was no laundry area in the suite and I didn’t notice a laundry area in the shopping center. All the bdrms had aircon wall unit and there were 2 standing fans in the unit. The mattress in the master bdrm was firm& the stall shower was small even for me at 5’1 (my friend in the single twin bdrm stated the mattress was comfy). There were hardwood floors throughout & a 6 seat dining table. The sofa was a leatherlike material however the ottoman and the sofa pillows were cloth and very dirty (should be replaced or covered) There is no aircon in the shared areas however there were 4 sliding glass door exits onto the patio that I was able to open if the temp was warmer during the day. The ‘mini bar’ consists of snacks/wine/water on the counter and inside the fridge & you are advised at check in that these items are not complimentary. I did eat in the restaurant however the food is nothing special the service however was great.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cape Town

They Lie Don't go there!!!!! Use another website.

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Expedia and the hotel need to start being honest.
Location: Miles from the airport
This is most definitely not an airport hotel as per the Expedia website. In fact it is miles from the airport. The "airport shuttle" turned out to be ano agency car that we were forced to pay for before being taken back to the airport next morning. R760 - Unbelievable. On top of this they informed us that Expedia had taken 50% of the hotel cost and we would have to pay the rest + R760. Not as per the Expedia site. How could we tell what had been taken from our credit card. Reception staff said Expedia keep doing this and customers keep complaining resulting in disputes on check out. Seriously angry and disappointed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 31, 2017 on Hotels