Ratings based on 377 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Exelent location lovely kitchen very clean

Posted Feb 19, 2018
We enjoyed our stay very much The room was practicall ,clean and pleasant .There are-kosher restaurants in a short distance.Many synagogues around.The staff was helpful.We took a guided tour through the hotel with Jimmy who was an excellent guide.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Highly recommend!

Posted Feb 13, 2018
After a long flight from the US, we were thrilled with our 2 bedroom suite that had a balcony overlooking a golf course. We were able to shower, go downstairs to buy a bottle of wine and enjoy the balmy weather on the balcony. Very well kept apartment that was very clean and welcoming. There is a nice grocery store on the ground level and a wine store. We made breakfast in the apartment. Far exceeded our expectations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boca Raton , Florida , USA

FANTASTIC HOTEL ... EXCELLENT SITUATION !!

Posted Feb 8, 2018
Pros: EVERYTHING !!
Cons: FAULTLESS !!
Location: EXCELLENT LOCATION WHICH SUITED OUR NEEDS PERFECTLY !!
FANTASTIC VISIT ... WILL DEFINITELY STAY WITH YOU AGAIN !!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Posted Jan 10, 2018
Great location, customer service, suite layout and comfort, and so many amenities at your finger tips
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lusaka

Fantastic hotel for young families

Posted Jan 9, 2018
This is our go to hotel for Johannesburg. The rooms are big and well equipped. It is all the benefits of a self catering apartment with the convenience of hotel amenities. Highly recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Botswana

Happy New Year

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Pros: Proximity to airport, Neat, clean, up-to-date, well maintained. Safe. Secure.
Location: We like the shopping area within the conference center.
Our family arrived in Jo'burg for a conference a couple days early to adjust to the time change from the US. We were there for 1 1/2 days, leaving New Year's day, We have stayed at Genesis many times and this time did not disappoint. Everything was very neat and in order. The beds are comfortable and the living space spacious. We always feel secure and are able to relax when we stay here. We'll be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canton, MI

Great hotel apartment

Posted Dec 6, 2017
Our room had 2 BRs, 2 Baths, fully furnished kitchen with stainless steel appliances & granite countertops. Dining & living area. 2 patios with furnishings. Beautiful decor. Amenities on site, grocery, eateries, bar, liquor store, post office, etc. Served 12-16 oz T-bone steak in hotel restaurant for about $12, meal included fries & salad. Server made me the best Latte ever. Located in a Jewish neighborhood in JNB.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Recommend with reservations

Posted Dec 1, 2017
Pros: Rooms were clean and comfortable. Suite set-up. We did not have breakfast and the one dinner went well.
Cons: See above
Location: Location is purely for those with private transport or an Uber account as there is nothing nearby of interest.
We were graciously welcomed for our first stay, had booked a second stay after a trip to Cape Town and our request for a room with a view was honored. Hotel should post details of how to enter after hours as we (3 women) had a bad experience after dark one night. Also restaurant closes by 21:30 not 22:00 as stated. Finally, there should also be notice that property does not accept foreign exchange as payment for bills as another unfortunate experience occurred as we were enroute to the airport.
5 out of 5
by ADA

Great hotel

Posted Nov 22, 2017 on Hotels
I thought the whole set up was amazing. I woukd definitely go back and recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2017
Dear ADA Thank you very much for your positive and constructive feedback. We look forward welcoming you back to Genesis All- Suite Hotel in the not too distant future. Kind Regards Nico Steenkamp
4 out of 5
by Latiesha

2nd Visit

Posted Nov 13, 2017 on Hotels
I had to come back to Genesis Suites because after having a whole apartment here the first time it was hard to stay in a room at other hotels. When I was booking to come back they were booked up and I couldn't get in until Sunday and all they had was a 2 bedroom / 2 bath apartment so I took it. I was pleasantly pleased again. I had another awesome city view this time over looking the big Jacaranda tree in the park across the street. The apartment was furnished well again so I felt at home. My only complaints were that the refrigerator had an odor, the floors were a little dirty and there was not a proper place to plug up my surface. However I solved the plug issue being the over packer that I am with my power strip I was able to plug into the wall and stretch my cord across the floor to reach the dining room table. After I came up with that hack I was in heaven because I could look at my surface and my lovely view at the same time.