Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Evans

Quite Place

Posted Jul 31, 2017 on Hotels
It was a nice and quiet place though to get in was a problem.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2017
Dear Evans thank you for staying with us at Golden Gate Guest House. I am sorry that you had a problem of getting in of which we were not aware as guests have their own access getting in and out without any problem. We are looking into it to see why you were unable to get in and thank for your feedback.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 29, 2016 on Hotels
Unhelpful staff
1 out of 5
by Durandt from Paarl

Shocking misrepresentation

Posted Nov 23, 2015 on Hotels
Did not stay. Filthy, stinking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location and price

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Good location and price Friendly staff very easy to find need more attention to cleaning and maintenance
5 out of 5
by #UK visitor from Johannesburg

Outstanding staff

Posted Jul 25, 2014 on Hotels
Great hotel, my room was clean, well kept, very comfortable. Staff are outstanding, always friendly, always ready to help. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel. Great value for money. I have stayed in many much more expensive hotels in Jo'berg, this place is better than most.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good, clean but nothing special

Posted Apr 24, 2014
The staff were very friendly and the rooms were kept clean. When I arrived there the previous guests had locked the bathroom and the window had to be broken to get access the the bathroom. The window was boarded with cardboard while I was there and so I had to lock myself in the bedroom every night as anyone would be able to access the unit through the window. I had breakfast meetings for the first 2 days I was there but on the 3rd morning decided to have coffee and toast - there wasn't any butter (how can a guest house not have such a basic commodity!) So did not bother to go to breakfast on the rest of the days to save myself the aggravation.
3 out of 5
by Michael from china

nice hotel

Posted Apr 3, 2014 on Hotels
clean room, beautiful garden, rich breakfast....enjoy the stay there!
3 out of 5
by Rob from Tzaneen

Satisfactory Stay

Posted Sep 13, 2013 on Hotels
We found the Golden Gate Guest House to be ok, overall a rating of 2.5 stars.The staff are very friendly and the breakfast was good but the hotel is noisy and the decor is outdated. Hence I find the guest house over-priced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by juraj

Make sure you can get in late

Posted Sep 7, 2013
Pros: Nice and friendly and free wifi
Cons: Making sure people who stay inside can get in late as reception is not 24/7
Location: There's a small shopping centre with a restaurant. Sandton is about 6km away by car which is a major suburb with hotels, shopping centres, convention.
The only problem when I was coming late and didn't have keys to get in. It took over half an hour and another person who stayed there that opened for me. Make sure you can get in late either someone can open or you have the keys.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lagos

Posted Sep 3, 2013 on Hotels
Very conducive environment for leisure and business.