Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Germany

Very close to a major shopping district and trains

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: I loved the staff. The rooms were more than I expected from a Holiday Inn, and at a great rate.
Cons: Put in real bathroom doors. I don't think glass doors are appropriate
Location: Large shopping district w great restaurant
The staff was very polite and accommodating. They did everything perfectly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

I can't wait to return

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Pros: Most of all, I enjoyed the staff. the rooms were up to date and clean.
Cons: Take away the glass window on the bathroom door. NASTY
Location: The hotel is in a large shopping district w many restaurants. Only 20 ft from the train station
I checked in as soon as I got off of the train from the airport. The ladies at the front desk really set my trip off to an amazing start. They were funny, sweet, cordial, friendly, helpful... I can go on and on. They recommended a GREAT place to eat in the area (Tashas), and gave excellent directions to everything we needed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Feb 29, 2016
The location was spot on. Next to the Mall. Rosebank station. And the price for the hotel is right
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleased we stayed here

Posted May 13, 2015
First time in Johannesburg and really glad we chose rose bank and also the holiday inn. It's well known as one of the nicest and safest areas of joberg! Fantastic rooms very clean and tidy great bathroom did have a see through door but can be covered with a towel. Staff were great ate dinner and breakfast and both were very nice. The main perk is that it's literally 20 steps to rosebank mall with movie theatre heaps of food and takeaway (the Indian restaurant was very yummy) and clothes supermarket and chemist would dry here again and advise others to stay here too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good base for jo'burg

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pros: Proximity to Rosebank
Cons: Coffee!
Location: Rosebank mal + Sunday market
Booked to stay in Rosebank for post long safari and visit to Sunday Market. Great for access to Rosebank Ic many restaurants and good shopping and easy route in and out from M1.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nigeria

Awesome hotel close to everything

Posted Dec 14, 2014
It was an awesome experience. Room was clean and hotel was right by mall and bank.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from st helens , U.K.

nice hotel

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: location
Location: shopping & bars or a trip round the city in cab with the doors locked .
nice hotel kind & courteous staff would do anything to help . Made a very pleasant stay .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rosebank, South Africa

Great Stay!

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Staff and location were both amazing!
Cons: Housekeeping comes way too early and they knock quickly and enter without giving you a chance to respond. Also had to call for several things not left
The hotel staff are soooo nice and amazing with children. My son had a great time- especially with the restaurant staff. Front desk staff were great too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2015 by Bill, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great compliments relating to our hotel and especially our team at the hotel. I was pleased to note that your son had a great time in his interaction with our team. Looking forward to seeing you back at our hotel soon. Thank you Bill Frohlich General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Barry from Denver, CO USA

Great Rosebank location

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Pros: Clean and comfortable rooms. Excellent value for the money.
Location: Excellent location; everything you need is a short walking distance from the hotel.
The Holiday Inn Rosebank is very well located right next door to the Rosebank Mall (many excellent restaurants and shops). The hotel is very comfortable and clean, the rooms well appointed, and the staff is fantastic. I have stayed here half a dozen times and plan to return on my next trip to Johannesburg.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by Bill, Hotel Management
Many thanks for your great review of our hotel recently and I was pleased to read of your great stay with us. Our team is committed to providing excellent service and it is gratifying to note that you experienced this first hand. Many of our guests choose our hotel for the great location and proximity to shopping centres, offices and Gautrain. We do hope to be of service to you when next in Johannesburg. Thank you Bill Frohlich General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Yazzev from London

Handy for airport and central area

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Hotel in convenient location by Gautrain transit system 20 mins from airport with one transfer and 7 mins from central area station. Hotel by Rosebank shopping mall with good range of restaurants. Bedroom of good size, with tv, tea/coffee making facilities. Bathroom also fine. Staff at reception provided good service but gave wrong info on safety about getting off at Park station on Gautrain: was told it was not safe at all to get out and walk 20 metres to get to pick up point for Citytour bus. This cost me 170 rands to go by cab, one way on a 8 min drive to get off at the same 'unsafe' spot. But hotel and services good, nothing exceptional but convenient location. Swimming pool very small.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2014 by Bill, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of our hotel recently. I was pleased to read that overall you found our location and services to be handy and helpful. My sincere apologies for the incorrect information given regarding security in the downtown area. We did err on the side of caution and in future will provide the appropriate information available to us. Thank you Bill Frohlich General Manager