Ratings based on 135 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Service disappointment

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: The rooms were neat, complete, and well furnished.
Cons: COMMUNICATIONS!
Location: Public transit is near by but little else.
We booked on a special breakfast included promotion. We were then charged extra for breakfast (c..$18 each). There are no other eating facilities in the neighbourhood. I asked them to recheck our booking. We did not go for our second breakfast (diarrhoea) and the prospect of $18 for tea. We went to check-out at 10 am and were then told our breakfast was now included. I said we were now on they way to the airport and asked about a refund for the out of pocket expense and the "included" meals not received. They said they did not have time to do that but would credit points to compensate. Despite 4 calls to Holiday Inns head office and 2 unanswered emails to the hotel we have received neither points or a cash refund.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and clean hotel.

Posted Nov 26, 2016 on Hotels
The room was amazing and close to shopping/restaurants!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel staff were excellent. Unfortunately, there was construction across the road which was worked 24 hrs a day. I am quite sure it would be more than pleasant once this has been completed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Poorly maintained - avoid at all costs

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Cleanliness of the entire place and the rooms. Service is really poor. It just seems no one cares and the hotel is falling apart.
Location: Great location - but that's the only nice thing about this place.
The service was poor from check-in. The hallways seemed dusty and had a weird musky smell. The room door had oil stains on it. The room was tiny and the bathroom was very small too. You literally have the shower, wash basin and toilet all next to each other - pretty gross! There was one flimsy bed sheet over the mattress, the duvet didn't have a fresh scent as they usually do. Their was dust on the lamps and counters. It was like staying in a cheap motel - we had one night. We got in and out as quick as we could. We will never stay there or recommend it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2016 on Hotels
Though I had a hotels booking confirmation of breakfast for 2 pax, The hotel did not allow and informed to charge extra for my guest. This left me very sad and not happy.
3 out of 5
by Rakesh from Dubai

Poor hotel

Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
We were extremely disappointed with the service at Holiday Inn. We were moved to 3 rooms till we could finally settle down.Apparently there was a confusion about the rooms. The safety box wasn't working. There was noise from the construction site near by.
4 out of 5
by Evangelos from Zurich

Good value 4* Hotel

Posted Aug 9, 2016 on Hotels
It's located 8min walking from Sandton trainstation, which connects to the Airport.
4 out of 5
by Horacio from Luanda

Horacio Review

Posted Jul 24, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is confortáble and a safe place.
5 out of 5
by Gaylan from Atlanta

Sandton, Johannesburg

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is beautiful and the Concierge and Front Desk very friendly and helpful. We included the buffet breakfast and were not disappointed - eggs, vegetables, fruits, breads, cereals, salmon, juices. There were 3 of us so the family room with pullout sofa was perfect. An hourly shuttle to the nearby mall was perfect for evening dining. The area is very upscale and safe - a security guard watches the outdoor mall area. Wonderful restaurants to choose from. We also arranged to be picked up at the airport and were pleased with the service. I highly recommend this hotel!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 28, 2016 on Hotels
Very friendly and helpful hotel staff.