Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Service disappointment

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: The rooms were neat, complete, and well furnished.
Cons: COMMUNICATIONS!
Location: Public transit is near by but little else.
We booked on a special breakfast included promotion. We were then charged extra for breakfast (c..$18 each). There are no other eating facilities in the neighbourhood. I asked them to recheck our booking. We did not go for our second breakfast (diarrhoea) and the prospect of $18 for tea. We went to check-out at 10 am and were then told our breakfast was now included. I said we were now on they way to the airport and asked about a refund for the out of pocket expense and the "included" meals not received. They said they did not have time to do that but would credit points to compensate. Despite 4 calls to Holiday Inns head office and 2 unanswered emails to the hotel we have received neither points or a cash refund.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Poorly maintained - avoid at all costs

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Cleanliness of the entire place and the rooms. Service is really poor. It just seems no one cares and the hotel is falling apart.
Location: Great location - but that's the only nice thing about this place.
The service was poor from check-in. The hallways seemed dusty and had a weird musky smell. The room door had oil stains on it. The room was tiny and the bathroom was very small too. You literally have the shower, wash basin and toilet all next to each other - pretty gross! There was one flimsy bed sheet over the mattress, the duvet didn't have a fresh scent as they usually do. Their was dust on the lamps and counters. It was like staying in a cheap motel - we had one night. We got in and out as quick as we could. We will never stay there or recommend it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 9, 2016
Hotel is fine. They need to be flexible in giving late checkouts without charging.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location, location:

Posted May 2, 2016
Pros: location and size
Cons: transportation coordination,
safe neighborhood, can walk to Gautrain ( subway ), nearby shopping
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Spacious modern Green hotel

Posted Nov 2, 2015
Pros: Location, Large spaces, environment consciousness
Cons: Room service should be faster.
Location: Sand ton City mall. Shuttle available but one can also walk
Keep up the green initiative. Quiet environment but close to Sandton city mall.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but definitely for business travelers

Posted Sep 26, 2015
We stayed at this hotel for three days. The front desk staff was quite rude to us when we wanted to change rooms secondary to noise from construction on our side of the hotel. The bed was also not comfortable. We were also made to feel like our children were not welcome and they were looking for business travelers not young families. We have traveled to several Holiday Inn's and were saddened by the service we received here. Will not be returning!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Choose another option for your stay

Posted Sep 12, 2015
Pros: The staff were cordial
Cons: More attention to details. Lights not working, electric receptacles not working to properly cleaning rooms.
This hotel is not in keeping with the "Holiday Inn" brand.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel top location

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Good hotel in top location. Staff friendly and helpful at all times.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from R, baltimore usa

close to Mandela squat

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Horrible experience with staff, shuttle didn't come to pick us up, hotel staff guy just said oh well didn't apologize rather said you must have missed it. We said we were waiting outside at 6pm for a 6:10 shuttle, he didn't care.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Nairobi, kenya

very good nice...

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Pros: simple and many clean comfort.
Cons: no problem...
Location: sandton city good.
hotel all staff very kind smile service good. meal very delicious and parking area wide