Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by Kirk from Washington DC

Sanctuary

Posted Mar 20, 2016 on Hotels
Illyria House was an absolute sanctuary to return to during a week of meetings. Beautiful gardens and general areas, outstanding food served at your convenience. Friendly and accommodating staff, quiet and nicely appointed rooms. Will not stay anywhere else in Pretoria after this!
4 out of 5
by Beverley from Durban

Awesome; will definitely return

Posted Feb 3, 2016 on Hotels
personal service- nothing too much trouble; Great attention to detail; huge rooms; Freshly Cooked meals, superbly presented; freshly brewed coffee on tap; eccentric; quirky; elegant
5 out of 5
by Janine from Pretoria

One in a million chance!

Posted Jan 5, 2016 on Hotels
I wanted to go to a spa and then noticed that this hotel had an amazing rate of just R1100 per night. So I booked it immediately. I wanted to go to the hotel's spa for ages and now was the chance to use the spa facilities (sauna, flotation pool, gorgeous outdoor pool, Japanese hideaway retreat lounge) for much less than a spa visit, and on top of that, also stayed in a luxurious suite (named Salome). Breakfast very special, nice presentation of food. Owner also very chatty and made me felt very welcome. The butler is very attentive. Lush garden with many bird species. Many magazines and books to browse in many luxurious lounge areas. One can stay here for a long time!
3 out of 5
by Coenraad from Swakopmund

Not really what you think it is

Posted Jan 4, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed at this place after seeing these beautiful pictures on the website. I was initially ipressed with the place until I had to start making use of the services. Everything is old which can be nice and fancy, but was pressed into a room with an extra bed in the corner which didn't fit and for the prices you pay at this place I expected much better cupboards. Stayed over Christmas at this place which seems to me plays all the time these classical music, which in this case was Christmas songs. It was only one CD that played the whole day and eventually made us run away just to get away from the music. The Christmas lunch was the most I ever paid for what we received and really not worth half the price. The staff was extremely friendly and so the hostess, however, they didn't bother to make sure our fridge in the room was replenished daily with water and as well as the fruit and snacks. We booked the Jacuzi and I was so disappointed to see the dirty rings in the sides after I climbed into it. After booking a hot stone message we had to cancel eventually because it took them hours to heat up the stones with no electricity. The have some ducks that walk all over the place which is fine however I was not impressed with them walking through the lounge to get to the pond to swim. A lot of the products were not available although on the menu and the chef improvised a lot with his recipes which annoyed me as well. A wonderful place which is going backwards very fast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Recommended for romantics

Posted Nov 12, 2015 on Hotels
Very interesting, slightly surreal experience. Grand, slightly faded ambiance, good food, great service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ha

Eclectic hotel which exudes charm and style.

Posted Oct 23, 2015
Pros: It is completely different from anywhere I have stayed before.
We stayed for two nights and were completely overwhelmed by charm of this small hotel and the thoughtful service of the staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A shame

Posted Sep 10, 2015 on Hotels
This place could be beautiful but unfortunately it's been left to deteriorate. The professional pictures you see are from a long time ago and the hotel no longer looks that way. The food was good but we had to order our dinner at 3pm as the chef makes everything fresh.
5 out of 5
by Clive from Pulheim

Our return to Illyria House

Posted Aug 30, 2015 on Hotels
At Illyria House we were put up in a large well equipped junior suite situated away from the main house.Our lunch which was slow in coming but well worth waiting for was served on the rear patio overlooking the garden and the hidden pools. Illyria House is today a hotel, but for many years it was the family home and even today you feel that you are staying at a private house rather than at a hotel The only difference is you will get a final invoice to pay just before you leave. After lunch, the owner came to welcome us back and what then followed was unique, quirky and will stay with us for many years to come. Content censured by my wife too personal. The owner turned dinner into a magic moment and had set up a candle light dinner for us in the small but well stocked wine cellar – how romantic.. The evening was magic, we both were treated as life long friends. Illyria House is very much set in the colonial style. If you look carefully you will find things which need repairing, the rooms are functional and full of personal artefacts from the family. Please remember this was her home and we were treated like friends and not like a hotel guest. With this in mind, I found the time spent at Illyria House was outstanding. On a practical note, we requested a Johannesburg airport pick-up which the hotel arrangement per email. The staff were there to meet us and like last time, came together and sang to us on our departure.
5 out of 5
by James Sherry from Atlanta

Much more than expected!

Posted Aug 22, 2015 on Hotels
Charming hotel. We had a candlelight dinner in the wine cellar the first night. Great menu selections. We truly had our own butler who attended to everything. Can't wait to find an excuse to go back
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent Choice

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Pros: beautiful building, very quiet, excellent staff
Location: Beautiful neighborhood, but a very suburban feel. You cannot walk to anything.
Illyria House is a small, very high quality hotel with an excellent restaurant. The hotel was formerly a single family home that has been converted to a luxury hotel. The place is immaculate -- hardwood floors that have been polished to within an inch of their lives, antiques, and an extremely attentive staff. Very quiet -- the house is surrounded by embassies to South Africa. This is not the place to go if you are looking for excitement, and you cannot walk to anything. However, if you are looking for quiet, a wonderful staff, and a beautifully maintained vintage building, this is your place in Pretoria.