Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from ha

Eclectic hotel which exudes charm and style.

Posted Oct 23, 2015
Pros: It is completely different from anywhere I have stayed before.
We stayed for two nights and were completely overwhelmed by charm of this small hotel and the thoughtful service of the staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Choice

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Pros: beautiful building, very quiet, excellent staff
Location: Beautiful neighborhood, but a very suburban feel. You cannot walk to anything.
Illyria House is a small, very high quality hotel with an excellent restaurant. The hotel was formerly a single family home that has been converted to a luxury hotel. The place is immaculate -- hardwood floors that have been polished to within an inch of their lives, antiques, and an extremely attentive staff. Very quiet -- the house is surrounded by embassies to South Africa. This is not the place to go if you are looking for excitement, and you cannot walk to anything. However, if you are looking for quiet, a wonderful staff, and a beautifully maintained vintage building, this is your place in Pretoria.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Canada

Outstanding experience

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Yes the facilities are a little dated but that is all part of the charm. The personal attention is amazing. Like a remnant from another era. The hot tub, pool, private patio with table where you can eat or lounge....how romantic! The food was amazing....both dinner and breakfast. Treat yourself. You will not be disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Unique and wonderful

Posted Nov 29, 2014
Superb service in a uniquely charming hotel - strongly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anette from San Mateo, CA

Wonderful staff at Illyria House

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Pros: Great service!
Cons: It would have been great to be able to put suitcases on a stand and not on the floor.
We met with Patient and Johannes who work at this guest house. Their service were wonderful and the food was great. This is truly a gem. We have enjoyed our stay here so much. Will definitely come back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sean from London

Spectacular!!

Posted Feb 19, 2014
What an amazing period property. Opulance is the best way to describe this guest house. The owner was extremely welcoming making sure that we were well looked after. This was not necessary as the staff were superb but here intentions were much appreciated. I cannot recommend this destination more as a wonderful environment and amazing value for money. I for one will not hesitate to return.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

A great idea but needs significant investment

Posted Jan 4, 2014
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Major investment all round
Location: Inside is quiet but not the greatest area of town.
With such high ratings on expedia and trip advisor we were expecting something really special, but unfortunately this was not the case. At first instance the place is much smaller and more run down than the photos indicate. Other than the main entrance halls - which are beautiful - the house is in serious need of investment and a tidy up. Also the beds desperately need replaced / repaired - lumpy and squeaky - making for a poor nights sleep. The only real highlight for us was the breakfast - good food, garden view and service. This place has potential but is certainly not 5 stars - I would say more 3 stars and a little run down.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Rotterdam

Bijzonder, zeldzaam en niet voor gewone mensen

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Pros: Alles
Cons: Niets
Location: Verstopt voor de gewone reiziger
Veel meegemaakt maar dit nog nooit. Een huis en een tuin zo groot dat er geen einde aan lijkt te komen. Twee zwembaden, drie jacuzzi's, diverse tuinen en gastenvertrekken, en nog in een koloniale gastvrije sfeer. De eigenaresse is creatief, artistiek en een bijzonder mens. Voor wie gewone professionele dienstverlening wil, ga dan naar Hilton of zo, maar voor wie het bijzondere kan waarderen is er veel te genieten.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unglaublich !

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Pros: Die Einrichtung und der Service
Cons: Nein
Location: Gute Lage um Johannesburg oder Pretoria zu besuchen. Auch gute Ausgangsbasis für den Krüger Park.
Das Illyria Haus war ein Erlebnis. Toller Service, tolle Zimmer und die Zeit scheint einfach stehen geblieben zu sein. Jedoch im positiven Sinn. Erholung pur mit einer unglaublich charmanten Besitzerin, die sich gut auskennt und Ihre Stadt liebt. Das merkt man bei der sehr persönlichen Stadtführung.