Ratings based on 217 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Very nice hotel close to the airport

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: Close to airport. Can walk to the hotel and feel safe.
My son was arriving in Johannesburg for a two month stay. He arrived on a Tuesday evening and was not going to be picked up from the hotel until the next morning. This hotel was very easy to find coming out of the airport. He had a very nice room and was able to have a nice dinner and breakfast the next morning. This is a good option for a hotel close to the airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Outstanding airport hotel

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Stayed here twice over a couple of weeks as we used Johannesburg as a hub for our African holiday. You would only use this as an overnighter any longer we stayed at The Maslow at Sandton which is a much nicer area. The staff at the I/C are great. Although it is just a few metres across the road from the arrivals hall they offer a meet & greet service & on departure they accompany you from your room to complete check in . Not bad . Lovely food well above an airport hotel standard. Wouldn't consider anywhere else for overnight convenience
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Sonia Carreira, Hotel Management
Dear John Thank you for taking the time to post your recent stay with us on Expedia.com. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our elegantly appointed rooms that have full amenity offering in the rooms. I truly appreciate you recommending my property and I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future. Kind Regards Sonia Carreira Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indian Land, South Carolina

First Class Hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2017
As a single traveler, I was somewhat apprehensive about traveling alone to Johannesburg, and then on to Cape Town. On a friend's recommendation, I spent the night at the InterContinental after I arrived from America. After landing around 9:30 pm, I exited arrivals and saw the hotel directly ahead. It was a very short walk to the lobby. From the time that I arrived at the hotel, until I checked out the next morning for my flight to Capetown, I felt safe and pampered. The staff was friendly and professional, the accommodations top rate, and the morning breakfast was excellent. When it was time for me to walk to the airport, the porter carried my luggage and accompanied me to my gate, waiting until I was in line. The process was repeated in reverse when I stayed at the hotel before my return flight home. I highly recommend this hotel. I had a great experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by Sonia Carreira, Hotel Management
Dear Jan Thank you for taking the time to post your recent stay with us on Expedia. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our elegantly appointed rooms that have full amenity offering in the rooms. I truly appreciate you recommending my property and I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future. Kind Regards Sonia Carreira Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Spa treat at the airport

Posted Jul 2, 2017 on Hotels
The spa on the top floor was outstanding.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
way over priced
5 out of 5
by Charlie

Posted Jun 3, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2017 by Sonia, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous Thank you for taking the time to post your recent stay with us on expedia.com. I do hope that we can give you the warm welcome once again in the not too distant future. Kind Regards Sonia Carreira Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location, location, location. . .with luxury!

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: Decor, staff, restaurant & service
Location: Easy access to the airport and Guatrain
We stayed 3 nights at the InterContinental on the way to Richards Bay, South Africa. Initially we chose this hotel because it was at the airport and we were arriving late. Being able to collect your baggage then literally walk across the street into a luxurious hotel was priceless. We were off the plane and in bed within 30 minutes! And it was super quiet. You could never tell we were that close to a major airport. The hotel decor was beautiful, very modern. The staff were super friendly and helpful. We ate several times at their restaurant (and room service) and found the menu to be diverse and the prices very very reasonable. They had a fantastic breakfast buffet as well as a la carte items which were included in our room rate. I was amazed I could get an eggs benedict AND a trip to the breakfast buffet and it was all included. And everything was top notch & delicious. We also enjoyed the lounge area in the lobby and outside the restaurant for having a glass of wine and appetizers. I read complaints about the service, but we always had great service and were impressed by the friendliness of everyone. Being next to the airport, the hotel is also right by the Guatrain which is a fun and easy way to get to other parts of the city. You can take an Uber from any of the train stops to get where you need. Although with the restaurant and spa at the hotel we didn't have much desire to leave.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017 by Sonia Carreira, Hotel Management
Dear Traveller I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us on Expedia. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us from our elegantly appointed rooms to that of our culinary offering in our Quills restaurant which is open 24 hours and our overall service which we strive to exceed at every opportunity. I truly appreciate the lengthy review on my property and its such an honour to know that we made you stay special. Once again thank you for the thorough and great review on my property and the staff. We truly appreciate you feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future. Kind regards Sonia Carreira, Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

great airport hotel

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: Convenience and comfort
This is a very nice hotel and a well signposted easy walk with luggage from the airport terminal
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2017 by Sonia Carreira, Hotel Management
Dear Chrissy Thank you for your most recent post on expedia.com of which I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future. Kind regards Sonia Carreira, Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great location, very comfortable

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Great location, very comfortable, great room. Only issue was that the in room TV did not have movies on demand and you had to call to get a DVD.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2017 by Sonia Carreira, Hotel Management
Dear Daniel Thank you for your most recent post on expedia.com of which I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future. Kind regards Sonia Carreira, Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
by Derege

Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Hotels
Overall, my stay was very good. My only complaint is with checkout. There were only two people at the front desk and about ten people trying to check out. Everybody on queue was frustrated since we had to wait for about twenty minutes. We were all at the desk by around noon and management should have assigned more staff since that is when almost everybody checks out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Derege Thank you for your most recent post on hotels.com of which I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I sincerely apologise for the lack of staff during the time of your check-out, I can assure you that this is not the norm from our establishment. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future. Kind regards Sonia Carreira, Guest Relations Manager