Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Good experience. Family enjoyed stay. Learn something about the hotel
2 out of 5
by Bonita

Posted Jun 7, 2016 on Hotels
It was our anniversary so we went for a full body massage just before booking in. I paid for the hotel saty through trivago, when we got to the reception she could not even pick up my payment. The evening we went out to smoke and my husband slipped and hurt his back (and we just had a massage) the floor was wet due to the sprinklers that was on. There was no sign of warning that the floors are wet. We told reception and all they could say was sorry. Don't you think we deserve something back??????Your beds made it worse we were in such pain the morning as your beds are very uncomfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not so great.

Posted May 3, 2016 on Hotels
Room was not that clean, bathroom very old, rather un-pleasant. no headboards in with single beds. Aircon too old doesn't cool room, Windows not sound proof, even 7th floor very noisy. Rooms very very hot, 1 night nothing more. Pics on Website nothing like room we had!
3 out of 5
by mmakoma from mahikeng

mrs.

Posted Mar 14, 2016 on Hotels
I am disappointed that I booked the hotel through internet and my bookings was paid and the reception could not identify my payment and I had to make payment again on my arrival which was inconvenient on my side. Please recheck and update your systems.
5 out of 5
by Bridgette from Usa

Great Classy Hotel

Posted Feb 3, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is very classy. The staff are very nice and professional. The decor is lovely, it has a Posh New York style. There is a wonderful restaurant and bar that seems to attract sophisticated persons from the city. I would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cape Town

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 31, 2015
Other than one lady in charge of airport transfer by the name if Mari.... (can't even remember what she calls herself) who kept me waiting for almost 2 hours at the airport everything was fine. She didn't even have the courtesy to apologize. Nice hotel though
3 out of 5
by Mofolo from polokwane

good

Posted Oct 26, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is clean and the beds are old need to be changed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Train station helps a lot

Posted Oct 5, 2015
Pros: Good location, food selection is nice, decent nightclub, and the wonderful hotel shuttle.
Cons: A better TV remote - bit simplistic.
Location: There is some shopping nearby and some restaurants, but you probably just want the hotel shuttle to take you to Brooklyn Mall where there are more.
The Manhattan Hotel is a good place to stay because of its location close to the train station, its wonderful buffet restaurant, great and helpful staff, and nice free shuttle that will take you to the mall or the museum. The train station is a short walk away (although the hotel will take you there by shuttle) and you can get a fast train to the airport easily. The meals were excellent and definitely the breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets had something even for vegetarians. The staff welcome you with a nice spritzer of apple juice and you can arrange tours with them. About the only cons involve the air-condition units in the room as sometimes it can be difficult to get the room temperature right because of their location in the far corners (king bed room) and there is a bit of street noise but if you travel a lot you know that in a downtown location you are going to get that. All in all - its a good price and you receive that.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Value

Posted Sep 21, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent location. lovely flat
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Doha Qatar

Family Stay

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Pros: The restaurant, the location, the staff.
Cons: The shuttle bus took us to the Brooklyn Mall - but did not return to collect us at the agreed time - and despite a phone call did not arrive.
Location: Right near the Gautrain station. The hotel has a shuttle bus. A short walk to the Transvaal Museum, Church Square and Burger Park
The restaurant at the hotel was fantastic - great food and service - and the hotel is in a good location. The booking was incorrect - we were a family of 4, but initially they put us in an Executive Suite with only a king bed. This had 2 separate rooms, a lounge area and the bedroom and it was lovely. We were prepared to have fold away beds brought in for our children or have the lounges made up into beds as the room was spacious enough, however we were told we would have to move to a family room - we wish we had stayed! The family room was OK, 2 single beds for the kids but only a double bed for the adults, the fridge arrived the second day and at first we had no hot water. In addition, this room was located on the floor, in the same corridor as where the hotel places large groups of school/university students that are on tour - we were constantly woken by the noise of these young people moving up and down the corridor, knocking on our door at all hours of the night looking for their friends rooms and then at 7am when one group of 50 people decided to cram into the room opposite us and commence their choir warm up rehearsal! Not exactly conducive to children sleeping and recovering from early morning travel. On a positive note the staff were very responsive to all these problems - the hot water issue was fixed in less than 10 minutes, the choir rehearsal immediately shut down, security increased for the noise in the corridor, although that didn't stop the door knocking.