Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Andre from KZN


Posted May 14, 2016 on Hotels
It was all there: great bed, quiet, private, nice central area, great breakfast and very friendly service. Will go again.
4 out of 5
by Barbara from Toronto

Relax on the deep porch!

Posted Mar 17, 2016 on Hotels
Had tours arranged but close to Rovos Rail office and close to Union Buildings.
5 out of 5
by Not Provided from Hatem Hussein, Cairo, Egypt.

Just marvellous

Posted Nov 30, 2015 on Hotels
What a marvelous place to stay in near Pretoria’s CBD and just 200 meters away from the Union Buildings’ gardens. The room was very clean and tidy and full of all the required facilities to suit both business and leisure travellers. I really enjoyed my stay for twelve nights in this peaceful and quiet place and I wish it was one complete year instead!! On top of that, the hosts were also very kind, friendly and helpful (thanks Piet and Elize very much). Definitely, would stay again there again if I’m visiting Pretoria in the future.
5 out of 5
by Wei from Shanghai, China

Lovely place

Posted Jun 2, 2015 on Hotels
Great location in Pretoria and lovely garden
5 out of 5
by Thomas from Schwäbisch Hall

Nice Location

Posted May 31, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful little Location with an nice Service and good overview over Pretoria. It's very close to the German embassy and the South African Union Buildings. Recommendable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA USA

Beautiful oasis

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: Owner is engaging and takes great pride in his inn.
Well-maintained gardens and rooms. Plenty flowers and birds.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bilpin, Australia

Beautiful historic residence well situated for tou

Posted Jul 9, 2014
We had a very enjoyable stay in Pretoria at the Melvin GH. Pete and the staff at Melvin Residence were extremely helpful and friendly. Breakfast was delicious and the house is a treat. Pete made suggestions for day trips which gave us some sight seeing which we may have otherwise missed. We'ed definitely stay again and recommend it to our friends.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A gem close to the centre

Posted Mar 4, 2013 on Hotels
It was at the end of a 5.5weeks break travelling from Cape Town to Jo'Burg so it was nice to have a bit of comfort. The welcome was exceptional, our hosts explained to us everything that we needed and gave a great deal of local advice, including printing off route maps. Our host is an IT enthusiast so our wifi connections were assured......He also knows a lot about cars and engines!
2 out of 5
by Kobus

Dont be late for breakfast

Posted Nov 19, 2012 on Hotels
Excellent rooms, but awful guest relationships. I was 7 min late for breakfast, and refused.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

GEWELDIG mooi Guesthouse voor schappelijk prijs

Posted Aug 23, 2012 on Hotels
Dit Guesthouse is gevestigd in een oud, zeer mooi en prima onderhouden pand. Gewoon een lust voor het oog. De gasten verblijven zijn afzonderlijk in de fraaie tuin gelegen, in twee geschakelde blokjes, en hebben allen een eigen ingang. De kamers zijn niet heel ruim maar voldoende en van goede kwaliteit. Prachtige tuin met eigen parkeer gelegenheid. vriendelijk personeel en een eigenaar die graag een praatje maakt en wil vertellen over zijn pand en land. goed ontbijt. Gelegen naast de Union Gardens (parlements gebouwen) en als je wilt (en durft i.v.m. criminaliteit dreiging) is het centrum van Pretoria met een flinke wandeling bereikbaar. Het Guesthouse zelf ligt in een goede buurt met vele ambassades maar alle panden zijn wel omgeven door hoge hekken met prikkeldraad en elektrische toegangs hekken, zo ook dit Guesthouse. Veiligheid is gewoon een thema in Pretoria en dat is voor dit Guesthouse niet meer of minder. Aanrader met een goede kwaliteit/prijs verhouding .