Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
5.0 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by Coenraad from Swakopmund

A Little Gem in the Heart of Rosebank

Posted Jan 4, 2016 on Hotels
What an amazing place with wonderful staff and very nice and spacious rooms. Real 5 Star service, quality and treatment. The only disappointment is that their room service menu is the same during the day and and evening. Their reason is that there are so many very good restaurants in the area. We left the hotel the evening to a=eat at these "Highly recommended" expensive places and the food was horrible. I am sure that if they give attention to their evening menus they can draw the crowds back because their food is excellent and the chef is very good.
4 out of 5
by Gabriel

Lindo hotel

Posted Dec 27, 2015 on Hotels
Excelente
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 5, 2015 on Hotels
Great stay with unexpected delights of an extra 1/2 bathroom, amazing shower and service beyond expectations.
5 out of 5
by DEBRA from Bowral

The only place to stay in Jo'burg!!

Posted Nov 16, 2015 on Hotels
This is a little oasis. The decor is wonderful - very olde worlde charm plus! The hotel is immaculate and beautifully decorated with art of all sorts. Our room was enormous with a lounge/dining room, an huge bedroom and huge bathroom with a freestanding bath. There was also a second toilet, and a small private courtyard leading on to the hotels garden. We only ate breakfast there which was very good. The staff were excellent - nothing was too much trouble and there was always someone there to answer any questions we had. Located in a good neighbourhood with the Gautrain at the front door and a fab shopping centre with great food just around the corner, we would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sydney

Posted Nov 16, 2015 on Lastminute
Absolute luxury and excellent service. The bathrooms are divine, the spacious tub and shower are perfect for relieving post-flight soreness
5 out of 5
by Richard from Minneapolis

Wonderful

Posted Nov 8, 2015 on Hotels
We slept so well that we didn't wake up until 10:30. To my surprise they still had Breakfast waiting for us. Service was wonderful. the brought a voltage converter to our room to use. Great place. Pictures don't do the room justice.
5 out of 5
by Ellen from South Carolina

A Real Treasure

Posted Nov 7, 2015 on Hotels
A beautifully renovated boutique hotel in an historic building in Rosebank. Within a block there is the Rosebank Mall which is a high end mall and fun to explore. We really enjoyed having dinner both nights at the hotel. The chef does a great job and the service was excellent. The included continental breakfast was also good. We enjoyed visiting downtown Joburg and the Cradle of Humankind while at the hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Royal treatment

Posted Oct 21, 2015 on Hotels
Staying at The Monarch is always a wonderful experience that we look forward to. We are always made to feel welcome & given vip treatment.
5 out of 5
by STEPHEN from NYC

Great place to stay

Posted Oct 12, 2015 on Hotels
Wonderful hotel location room value staff. Highly recommended
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Safe, convenient and friendly

Posted Oct 11, 2015
Pros: Location; safety and friendly staff; comfortable rooms
Cons: Food service in the restaurant
Location: Gautrain and the on-off bus is close by but we opted for a private tour guide
We stayed two nights at the Monarch Hotel late September 2015. It is located conveniently in a nice suburb with a modern shopping mall next door. It is over the rood from a Gautrain station with direct access to both the airport and the CBD. The front door of the hotel is locked and the room was very comfortable. Staff were very friendly. We hired a private tour guide (Cashan Tours) for two days - they picked us up from the hotel and dropped us back each day. The hotel arranged a driver to take us to Johannesburg Park Station to catch the Shosoloza Meyl train to Cape Town. We had breakfast and one dinner at the hotel which was ok.