Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
5.0 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Posted Nov 16, 2015 on Lastminute
Absolute luxury and excellent service. The bathrooms are divine, the spacious tub and shower are perfect for relieving post-flight soreness
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Richard from Minneapolis

Wonderful

Posted Nov 8, 2015 on Hotels
We slept so well that we didn't wake up until 10:30. To my surprise they still had Breakfast waiting for us. Service was wonderful. the brought a voltage converter to our room to use. Great place. Pictures don't do the room justice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ellen from South Carolina

A Real Treasure

Posted Nov 7, 2015 on Hotels
A beautifully renovated boutique hotel in an historic building in Rosebank. Within a block there is the Rosebank Mall which is a high end mall and fun to explore. We really enjoyed having dinner both nights at the hotel. The chef does a great job and the service was excellent. The included continental breakfast was also good. We enjoyed visiting downtown Joburg and the Cradle of Humankind while at the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Royal treatment

Posted Oct 21, 2015 on Hotels
Staying at The Monarch is always a wonderful experience that we look forward to. We are always made to feel welcome & given vip treatment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by STEPHEN from NYC

Great place to stay

Posted Oct 12, 2015 on Hotels
Wonderful hotel location room value staff. Highly recommended
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Safe, convenient and friendly

Posted Oct 11, 2015
Pros: Location; safety and friendly staff; comfortable rooms
Cons: Food service in the restaurant
Location: Gautrain and the on-off bus is close by but we opted for a private tour guide
We stayed two nights at the Monarch Hotel late September 2015. It is located conveniently in a nice suburb with a modern shopping mall next door. It is over the rood from a Gautrain station with direct access to both the airport and the CBD. The front door of the hotel is locked and the room was very comfortable. Staff were very friendly. We hired a private tour guide (Cashan Tours) for two days - they picked us up from the hotel and dropped us back each day. The hotel arranged a driver to take us to Johannesburg Park Station to catch the Shosoloza Meyl train to Cape Town. We had breakfast and one dinner at the hotel which was ok.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

A Heavan of peace

Posted Oct 7, 2015
From stepping out of my cab the staff of the monarch couldn't do enough for me to ensure my stay was perfect The suite I was in was beautifully appointed with everything I could possibly need The food is excellent as well All in all a 5* hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by RAVI B from Toronto

Monarch the BEST

Posted Sep 18, 2015 on Hotels
Awesome hotel with very courteous staff. Staff made extra effort to make our stay more enjoyable. Richard at Breakfast was the best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Roomi

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 25, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Thulani from Kingship life style

Luxury at it best

Posted Aug 19, 2015 on Hotels
It was excellent Hotel staff was very friendly