Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
5.0 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Canada

Classy with Personality

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Nice small hotel, very well located. Nice, comfortable rooms. Pleasant courtyard that is great for enjoying local wine and relaxing at the end of busy day of touring. Very professional and welcoming staff adds to charming surroundings where tasteful and unique artwork is displayed advantageously throughout the hotel. Breakfast is excellent as are a la carte dinner meals. Highly recommended
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2016 by Jan van As, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the Monarch. We appreciate the lovely feedback and the recommendation. We hope to welcome you back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Outstanding Service, good food and facilities

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: Excellent location, outstanding Service, dinner limited in choice but very good. Rooms had a feel of luxury. Breakfast was perfect. good range of food
Cons: Nothing
Location: Rosebank Mall next door. Has a good African handicraft market for last minute souvenir buying. Remember to haggle for a good price at the market.
The minute we walked in, we where blown away by the excellent service and feel of the Hotel. Would highly recommend this Hotel to anyone. Right across the road from the station and next door to Rosebank Mall.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2016 by Jan van As, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Monarch. We appreciate your lovely compliments and feedback, and hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely Jan van As General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One of Our Best Experiences Ever in a Hotel

Posted Oct 5, 2016
I stayed at the Monarch with my adult children and their spouses - 8 of us in total. The hotel is amazing and the staff even better. Our flight was delayed from Johannesburg to Atlanta and the hotel allowed our entire family to use an entire suite for the day to help us out. They went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. We strongly recommend the Monarch. You will shocked at how elegant and spacious the rooms are!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2016 by Jan van As, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Monarch. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us - and that we were able to accommodate you while waiting for your flight. Above and beyond is the order of the day :) We do hope to welcome you back again soon. Yours sincerely Jan & the Monarch team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best hotel!

Posted Sep 28, 2016
First class service felt like royalty and did not have to pay the price
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2016 by Jan van As, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Monarch. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely Jan & the Monarch Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids, MI

Everything Was Perfect

Posted Sep 24, 2016
We had a wonderful holiday at the Monarch Hotel! The hotel and staff exceeded all of our expectations. It is in a safe walkable location. The rooms are luxurious, the service is impeccable, the staff is kind and welcoming - this is truly a 5 star hotel. We loved it so much that we are returning for another night later this week.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2016 by Jan van As, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the Monarch. There is no better compliment than a returning guest. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great room and great value

Posted May 12, 2016
Pros: everything
Cons: A proper bar would be nice
Location: nice location in Rosebank near the Mail
This is a wonderful place, wonderful rooms, great staff, highly recommended
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2016 by Jan van As, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of the Monarch. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Sincerely Jan van As General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Safe, convenient and friendly

Posted Oct 11, 2015
Pros: Location; safety and friendly staff; comfortable rooms
Cons: Food service in the restaurant
Location: Gautrain and the on-off bus is close by but we opted for a private tour guide
We stayed two nights at the Monarch Hotel late September 2015. It is located conveniently in a nice suburb with a modern shopping mall next door. It is over the rood from a Gautrain station with direct access to both the airport and the CBD. The front door of the hotel is locked and the room was very comfortable. Staff were very friendly. We hired a private tour guide (Cashan Tours) for two days - they picked us up from the hotel and dropped us back each day. The hotel arranged a driver to take us to Johannesburg Park Station to catch the Shosoloza Meyl train to Cape Town. We had breakfast and one dinner at the hotel which was ok.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

A Heavan of peace

Posted Oct 7, 2015
From stepping out of my cab the staff of the monarch couldn't do enough for me to ensure my stay was perfect The suite I was in was beautifully appointed with everything I could possibly need The food is excellent as well All in all a 5* hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York State

Great helpful staff - luxury room and attendance

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Pros: Great staff - helpful, always smiling and at your service immediately. Room was luxurious and clean, good food, fantastic breakfast, just great place
Cons: NOthing
Location: In Rosebank, suburb of Jo'burg - mall in the area
Staff was utterly great - room clean and luxurious - great food - couldn't ask for anything better -
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Honeymoon Stay

Posted Jun 24, 2015
My husband and I stayed here at the end of our honeymoon for 3 nights in Johannesburg. It is a beautiful hotel, our room was large and very comfortable, and the staff was very accommodating to all of our requests. It is not located ear the sights that we wanted to see in the city, but it was very easy to get around by train or taxi and it is in a safe location right by the Rosebank mall, which includes a craft market where you can get a lot of souvenir shopping done