Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Safe location, amazing staff

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Awesome stay in April - motel arranged for airport pickup, which was a big relief in a new city after a long trip. Room was nice and clean and had good WiFi. Breakfast was very good. Staff is so friendly and helpful with suggestions for sights, activities and safety. The neighborhood is very nice too, with shops and restaurants close by and safe to wander in by day. Would definitely stay again and will recommend it to everyone.
5 out of 5
by Philip

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 19, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Matthew

Posted Feb 5, 2017 on Hotels
Great value for money.
5 out of 5
by Jessica

Great Stay in South Africa!

Posted Jan 20, 2017 on Hotels
I stayed for 6 days and had a great time! The hotel is situated very nicely between a shopping complex and restaurants, so you have all you need within walking distance. The staff was very nice, and even loaned me an adapter for my cell phone charger since I hadn't realized they would be different from the US. First time outside North America, so I really appreciated that. I had the studio apartment, and I was very impressed with it. Very spacious, and the modernity of the kitchen as well as the bathroom. The bed was huge and very comfortable. I didn't eat the continental breakfast much, since I used the studio kitchen instead. Having the kitchen was very helpful in saving money. It was nice eating local food but I don't even eat out everyday at home, so it's nice to save money where I can on vacation. Also, the electronic gates add a nice level of protection. All in all, definitely I would definitely recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
DEAR JESSICA YOU DELIGHT IS OUR DELIGHT. THANK YOU FOR ENJOYING motel Mi Pi CHi and FOR APPRECIATING IT IN ITS CONTEXT. OUR GUESTS ARE ENORMOUSLY IMPORTANT TO US. WE HOPE TO HAVE YOU BACK IN THE VERY NEAR FUTURE! VERY BEST UNTIL THEN, motel Mi Pi CHi team
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect stay

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice stay. The motel is placed in Melville - chilled and easy area of Jo'burg. We (3 friends) got a spacious apartment that had everything we needed. Nice breakfast and friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
THANK YOU FOR YOUR KIND REVIEW OF motel Mi Pi CHi. MAY YOU AND YOUR FRIENDS RETURN AGAIN AND AGAIN!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Shabby Chic

Posted Nov 27, 2016
The location and staff are very good, but the rooms have aged a bit since photos were taken. I'm not fussy and would stay again. I couldn't recommend it for all of my friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Greater london

Friendliest hotel yet.

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: The staff
Cons: The security gates if made to run a little quieter would be nice, but I can live with the noise
Location: Plenty of small restaurants nearby within walking distance and further afield by taxi which is surprisingly cheap.v
Virginia, Mavis, Winston and other members of staff make you feel at home from the moment you arrive. The rooms are a good size, very clean ( and are kept that way daily). Breakfast though simple is way more than I expected. The security guy who keeps an eye on your safety is very reassuring too. There are tours that can be arranged by the staff. In fact they go the extra mile for you. I will certainly stay there again without hesitation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2016 by NICKY ROFAIL, Hotel Management
DEAR PETER THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR YOUR KIND AND GENEROUS REVIEW OF motel Mi Pi CHi and THE PEOPLE WHO ARE SO INSTRUMENTAL TO ITS SUCCESS. IT PLEASES ALL OF US GREATLY WHEN OUR GUESTS ARE HAPPY. THAT ARCHITECTURALLY DESIGNED GATE IS A THORN IN OUR FLESH! WE TRY EVERYTHING IN OUR POWER TO KEEPS ITS MOUTH SHUT BUT IT APPEARS TO BE MORE DIFFICULT THAT A MERE DROP 3-IN-1 OIL! IT WOULD BE GREAT TO HAVE YOU STAY WITH US AGAIN IN THE FUTURE. PERHAPS YOU SHOULD TRY THE COURTYARD ROOMS. THEY ARE FURTHER AWAY FROM THE GATE AND HAVE SMALL OUTDOOR SPACES. VERY NICE FOR A LONGER STAY. WITH GOOD WISHES FROM motel Mi Pi CHi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nz

Lovely stylish motel with friendly helpful staff

Posted Oct 29, 2016 on Wotif
Mi Pi Chi is a lovely stylish motel with friendly helpful staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2016 by NICKY ROFAIL, Hotel Management
DEAR ROB DELIGHTED THAT YOU ENJOYED YOUR STAY AT motel Mi Pi CHi. BE BACK SOON!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and convenient

Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
An excellent place to stay to see Johannesburg and surrounding area. My studio was very spacious, comfortable and private, with room to park outside. The motel owners are friendly and welcoming, with an excellent breakfast provided. The motel is in a pleasant residential area but with a supermarket a few minutes' walk away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2016
This is a minimalist hotel (hippy) in the neighborhood of Melville. The motel is close to few restaurants and the staff is friendly. My partner and I enjoyed the breakfast at the motel! The staff told us that it's not safe to walk at night (after 7 pm) around the hotel. It seems it's like this everywhere in Joburg so we were not too surprised about this. We did a tour of Soweto/museum of apartheid and another tour of the cradle of humankind during our stay (arranged by the motel). Note that the tour(s) organized by the motel are expensive and we did not do all the activities written on the brochure. Last, the motel also arranged the transfer from the airport. The cab was late and somewhat expensive. Overall, nice motel but you should organize tours/transfer yourself.