Ratings based on 110 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, New Zealand

Second time, just a good as the first.

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: The staff are very welcoming, you feel like you are visiting family
Cons: The lighting in the lounge could be a little brighter.
Location: The lodge is about 20 mins from the airport, they organised transfers for us, so all in all it was a breeze.
If you are looking for somewhere away from those boring hotels and are looking for something a little more friendly, look no further. We have stayed here twice now and it is great. Francois is so welcoming and nothing is a problem. The environment is very comfortable and the food is excellent. Try this out I can't speak highly enough about Outlook Lodge.
4 out of 5
by Terry

Worth a Stay

Posted May 12, 2017 on Hotels
The Lodge was totally satisfactory with the best parts being the terrific service and excellent food. The breakfast, which came with the room, was abundant and quite tasty. The optional dinner was excellent with the wine complementary. The bedroom was adequate for a night or two stay but did not have Wifi (excellent coverage in the public area, however). The bed was of the full size, not quite the comfort of other lodges in which I have stayed. All in all I was very pleased.
5 out of 5
by David

Great way to start trip

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
My wife and I stayed here our first night in South Africa. We chose it as it was close to the airport, but not at the airport. It also offered a convenient jumping off point for our drive to Kruger on day two. Our room was spacious and very nice and Francois was very friendly and a pleasure to talk to. Before the tip, the lodge was very accommodating in setting up a day tour for us to see a few sites in Johannesburg. If we ever pass through again, we'll certainly stay here.
4 out of 5
by Barbara

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 15, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent, UK

Nice stopover

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Good place to recover after or before a long flight to nearby OTambo International airport. Quiet, restful, helpful. Safe in gated area, Francois very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2015
Great stay. Very accommodating friendly staff. Easy smooth pickup at the airport for a nominal fee.
4 out of 5
by Brett

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 19, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine and Soth Carolina

Always a warm welcome

Posted May 24, 2015
Pros: We enjoy the comfort, ambiance and convenient location.
Cons: From our perspective, very little. High-maintenance types may prefer a 'real' hotel.
Location: Jo'burg has a wide variety of activities, from animal parks to museums and historic districts to flashy Vegas-style resorts.
This was my third stay at Outlook Lodge, where there is always a warm welcome, comfortable accommodations and a helpful staff. Outlook is a B&B, not an hotel, so don't expect hotel amenities. That said, rooms are well-equipped and modern, and there is a pool. Manager Francois will gladly arrange day trips with English-speaking local drivers, very useful in Johannesburg, where you drive on the left in traffic that reminds me of LA. He always has plenty of suggestions for sights, activities and restaurants if needed. There is even a bird sanctuary within walking distance for those who are interested in viewing wildlife.
5 out of 5
by Thomas from Sammamish WA USA

Great value

Posted Apr 4, 2015 on Hotels
Great hotel; crazy low price. Wonderful meals by Francois ... Set up in a way to meet other guests. I'm returning this week.
5 out of 5
by James from Decatur, GA

First class service and accommodations

Posted Mar 31, 2015 on Hotels
Fantastic stays going to and coming from Kruger National Park. The owner Francois is a delight and bent over backward to provide amazing service, from rustling up dinner for me when I arrived late to waking up and giving me a bag-o-breakfast when I left the next morning to drive to Kruger at 4 am to working with me (and calming me down!) when I had two flat tires and had to sit on the roadside for 5 hours into the night on the way out of Kruger. The accommodations are splendid and the food is excellent. First class in every way!