Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent, UK

Nice stopover

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Good place to recover after or before a long flight to nearby OTambo International airport. Quiet, restful, helpful. Safe in gated area, Francois very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2015
Great stay. Very accommodating friendly staff. Easy smooth pickup at the airport for a nominal fee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine and Soth Carolina

Always a warm welcome

Posted May 24, 2015
Pros: We enjoy the comfort, ambiance and convenient location.
Cons: From our perspective, very little. High-maintenance types may prefer a 'real' hotel.
Location: Jo'burg has a wide variety of activities, from animal parks to museums and historic districts to flashy Vegas-style resorts.
This was my third stay at Outlook Lodge, where there is always a warm welcome, comfortable accommodations and a helpful staff. Outlook is a B&B, not an hotel, so don't expect hotel amenities. That said, rooms are well-equipped and modern, and there is a pool. Manager Francois will gladly arrange day trips with English-speaking local drivers, very useful in Johannesburg, where you drive on the left in traffic that reminds me of LA. He always has plenty of suggestions for sights, activities and restaurants if needed. There is even a bird sanctuary within walking distance for those who are interested in viewing wildlife.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alabama USA

Whatever more can you ask for?

Posted Feb 7, 2015
Secure location good sleep great breakfast what more can you ask for?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alaska

Safe beautiful area near Tambo Intl Airport

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Pros: The staff, the ambiance, the food, and the location. It is very safe and is security gated.
Cons: The only recommendation would be that it would be nice to have Internet access in the rooms. Currently it is only available in the living room/lobby.
Location: Very nice neighborhood with beautiful homes - close to the Estuary, shopping, and Tambo Intl Airport. Also not far to go into Johannesburg.
I have stayed here every year for 4 years. It is a wonderful location and the staff is extremely accommodating and friendly. Every year they have made improvements and it is becoming a very upscale boutique B&B. I don't ever look for anywhere else when I am in the Johannesburg area. Francois is an excellent manager. It is so comfortable that it is very much like being at home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel close to airport

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: Proximity to the airport, close enough to be nearby and far enough away to be quiet.
Cons: A mattress protector/topper would provide additional comfort
Quiet hotel only 15 minutes drive from airport. Reliable pick up and drop off service from/to airport for a minimal cost. As a single traveller felt very safe. Staff really went out of their way to make me feel at home. Excellent food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Simone from Australia

Always made to feel welcome

Posted Jan 28, 2014
Pros: Good atmosphere, comfortable rooms, very relaxing, great staff, happy fat dogs
Cons: nothing comes to mind... some of the rooms are a bit dated but I quite like that - it feels comfortable and has personality..
Location: Very close to airport, and easy to organise trips for shopping , sightseeing, movies etc. They also do tours/ safaris to Kruger.
I have used Outlook Lodge when I have Johannesburg stopovers, for the past 3 years. (It was recommended to me by a booking agent and has been a much appreciated recommendation) Francois is a great manager and host, always with an entertaining story or two to tell. The rooms are clean, meals are good healthy home cooking with a twist or two that makes them special, and the atmosphere is always relaxed, homely without being boring.. The airport pickups are great too - I love being met by a happy, friendly driver each time. I will be back, and back, and back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Brilliant

Posted Dec 23, 2013
Pros: The service was outstanding
Cons: Nothing
The most welcoming lodge I have ever stayed at. I felt so welcomed and it is definitely a home away from home
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 9, 2013
Pros: They offer three course dinner at a really reasonable rate, I'd definitely recommend it!
Location: Close to the airport without the excess noise of the airport
Beautiful location, friendly staff that make you feel like family. They happily catered for my tricky dietary requirements. They also have free wi-fi which is great when you want to connect with family back home. I would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Charlotte from Wisconsin

Comfortable and Welcoming

Posted Oct 16, 2013
Pros: We liked almost everything about this hotel. Most of all, we enjoyed the personal attention and caring of the staff.
Cons: The Wi-Fi is very good in the many comfortable common areas. It wasn't as strong in our room.
Location: The Lodge is within a very nice and green suburban area with gated entrance. There is a bird reserve a few blocks away. Convenient to airport.
My husband and I stayed at Outlook Lodge twice during our recent trip to South Africa. It is very convenient to the JNB airport and the hotel arranges for airport transit. The house is big and architecturally interesting but has many updates including spacious and modern bathrooms. There are many comfortable outdoor and indoor places to relax and enjoy the amenities. The staff are very friendly and committed to helping you enjoy your stay at Outlook Lodge and your trip to South Africa. The food is of high quality and very plentiful. One evening, Francios prepared a braai with lamb, beef and sausages as well and delicious vegetables. The other evening we had ostrich which was also very good. The breakfasts are fresh and plentiful. The structure of the house encourages interaction with the other guests and we enjoyed two very lively and interesting evenings. There is a house dog who is unobtrusive but very responsive to a little attention from the guests. We really enjoyed staying at the Outlook Lodge and if the opportunity presents we will look forward to returning.