Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Surrey, England

Nice hotel close to OR Tambo airport, but not on i

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Good location. Staff were very friendly.
Cons: N/A
Location: 5 minutes drive from OR Tambo Airport
This hotel is conveniently located about 5 minutes drive from OR Tambo airport, which good highway links to most locations. It is based on the Emperors Palace complex ( casino / restaurants / shops ) which are all within a short walk. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and have the usual facilities required for business travelers ( free good wifi ), satellite tv and tea / coffee making facilities. As the hotel is located in an area with external restaurants etc, what is available in the hotels is slightly limited in the way of food. There is a restaurant, but not really much for a quick bite unless you want room service. External restaurants are only 5 mins away so not really a problem unless you do not want to go out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect Start

Posted Jun 11, 2016
We started our 14 day trip to south Africa trip here, it was perfect. We were suffering from jet lag coming from the states and wanted a place that we would have the ability to stay up to local time. The bellhop arranged a taxi to drive us around in the city, we had an amazing meal right in the hotel with five star food at a reasonable price and we finished by playing roulette. The room was comfortable with balcony over their fountains and the staff was friendly. Perfect way to start our adventure!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to airport

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Ideal for stopover. Courtesy bus . Comfortable room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Pros: Loved the breakfast buffet
Cons: Spa services were just OK.
Hotel offers a convent free shuttle service from the airport. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quick stay before or after a safari.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Perfect alternative to airport hotels

Posted Dec 30, 2015
Highly recommend this place, it's close to airport but very very quiet. Free shuttle bus runs every 20 mins
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 28, 2015
Fantastic room, staff great - perfect nights stay during xmas!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 25, 2015
Overall a very nice stay. The staff, facilities and location were nearly perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lilongwe, Malawi

Top class hotel near OR Tambo International

Posted Dec 19, 2015
Pros: The swimming pool and gardens and short walk to casino and entertainment centre. Great selection of restaurants
Cons: Rooms are dated, need an upgrade. Put a shower in the rooms and drop the bath. Put digital television and make wifi open access
Location: Casino and great restaurants a 10 second walk from hotel lobby.
The hotel is situated next to a Casino and entertainment complex so finding things to do and eat whilst you are there is no problem at all. The pool and gardens are beautiful. Great breakfast, really 5 star. The only thing is that the rooms are beginning to look dated, don't get me wrong there is nothing wrong with them but when compared to the latest hotel rooms in Asia where we had just come from, the rooms here need an upgrade for the price you pay. We will stay at this hotel again as long as there is an Expedia special because the normal rate, no mortal can afford.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver BC

Overnight stay in Johannesburg

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Convenience to the airport, had a casino shops and many places to eat attached to the hotel
Cons: Lighting in the room/bathroom was very dim
Nice reception we were very early had come from a 12 hour flight and our room was ready by noon for a early check in and a much needed nap
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brighton, UK

Five star luxury at 3 star prices!

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Cons: Wifi a bit dodgy
Location: Very close to airport, small mall of restaurants and casino 5 minutes walk but NO SHOPS.
Quality in everything; great breakfast, spa looks good but did not use it.