Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisville, KY, USA

Excellent hotel, be aware of the neighborhood.

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Summary: Great hotel in a rough neighborhood. This is a great hotel, but it's in a dangerous neighborhood. If you are going to be picked-up / dropped-off at the hotel (taxi, day tour, shuttle, friends, whatever) and don't plan on walking to anything nearby, then this is a great hotel. If you are white then don't even think about walking outside the gates. Other than that the hotel is FANTASTIC. Excellent food, excellent rooms, great rooftop bar, very friendly and extremely helpful staff, and a very great price. Excellent security measures; very clean, nice, and safe (once you're inside the gates). Very good security staff; good and friendly people.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Uk

The hotel is definitely 3-ster

Posted Apr 13, 2016
Stayed one night only. The view was great and the room was massive. The staff were all great and the food in the restaurant was nice. The problem was the hotel seems old and worn. It need a facelift. Also there's not much to see in the neighbourhood. I went out for a walk around and there wasn't much to see beyond a railway line, a little park and a statue. However, I didn't feel threatened by anyone like other people have said. That said, unless you've got a specific place to go, then you probably won't need to venture out. If the hotel had been on a better location, I would have given a higher rating,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Shakes Marriott Platinum Loyalty

Posted Mar 13, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Did not venture outside
Non functioning wifi. Dirty, kitchen smelly, depressing room. Checked out early. Except for front desk manager and staff, every other inter action with staff bizarre My first time at Protea chain and my last.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice hotel near trendy Braamfontein neighbourhood

Posted Dec 1, 2015
Pros: Rooftop bar, pool, and views; room size; hotel staff
Cons: Commitment to eco-friendly initiatives. Per the hotel's note, we hung our towels up to reuse them, but they were replaced daily.
Location: Near Gautrain station; Neighbourgoods market on Saturdays is only 3 blocks away; trendy, fun nightlife walking distance
Great value for the price. The suite size was perfect for our needs, and I was surprised that the room ended up being larger than I had anticipated. Rooftop views were spectacular, too. The hotel staff were friendly and polite. The immediate neighborhood seems a bit run down, but walk a couple of blocks and you'll find yourself in the trendy Braamfontein neighbourhood and in close proximity to boutique shopping, restaurants, and bars. The Gautrain Park Station is also a brief walk from the hotel, which is convenient for travel to and from the airport.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2015 by Debbie, Hotel Management
Dear Jelly, Many thanks for your positive Review. Your comments will be passed to all Heads of Department so that the STAFF are aware that their efforts are appreciated. We hope you will visit our hotel again if you are in this area. Best regards, Debbie Prinsloo - Marketing Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The worst 4 star hotel ever!

Posted Mar 30, 2015
The star rating of this hotel should be reviewed! The parking facilities are shoddy, and the hotel is accessible only by a skywalk across the road. Despite 4 elevators, we experienced lengthy delays every time we used them. The room and its facilities was not of 4 star quality.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

The location and the area is terrible

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: Nothing I had to check out and go to Radisson Blue which you see I booked through you
Cons: Give me credit or points as I had to pay for the second day but moved to another hotel and I further extended my stay at the Radisson
Location: Nothing, absolutely nothing and it is very far from all attractions
The hotel room do smell bad, the area is very unsafe to the extent that hotel staff recommended to me not to even walk. There is nothing around, no shops...and if you walk further down you feel the scary part
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mbabane

Was on the 9 floor. Nice views and close to city c

Posted Mar 7, 2015
It was great. Was staying for second time and will certainly stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Moscow

Wonderful staff, but probably would not return

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Pros: Fitness Center, Outdoor Rooftop Pool, Driver, Front desk staff
Cons: Smoke smell in rooms, comfort of beds, couches, pillows, tv channels, front desk manager, restaurant choices and quality of food
Location: Hop on/hop off bus, Constitution Hill, but are is unsafe and staff tells you that you cannot leave hotel grounds without a security escort.
Hotel has some really great staff members at the front desk and an awesome driver who made me feel welcome. The rooftop pool area was beautiful, room was large with a great view, but stunk of smoke so it felt dirty and made it hard to breathe. I was moved to a different, smaller room. It also had a smoke smell but not as bad. Opening a cupboard, I found an ashtray and matches, strange for nonsmoking rooms. The restaurant had a disappointing dinner buffet so I ordered pasta from room service. Transport got me a taxi to Soweto and back which ended up being $120, the bus tour would have only been $12.00 so I don't recommend this. The location of this hotel is near Constitution Hill but you are told its not safe to walk anywhere without a security escort, which makes you feel like you shouldn't have stayed here. The desk staff told me there was a free shuttle to Mandela Square Mall so to be in lobby by 6pm if I wanted to go. I was there at 5:45. At 5:55 I inquired at the desk, they told me to wait out front. At 6:05, the bellman told me to have a seat on the bench. At 6:20 I asked again and was told to talk to the desk manager. She said I was given incorrect information and there was no shuttle. I pointed to the sign on the desk with shuttle days and times. She seemed to have no idea what was going on at her hotel. She called one driver who didn't answer. The shuttle arrived at 6:40. It took 30 min to get to the mall and stores closed at 8 =(
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Reasonable hotel in central Joburg

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Pros: Centrally located, decent rates. Dining in OK, excellent breakfast. Relaxed bar. Staff very friendly. Drivers on hand to transport you to meetings etc
Cons: Noisy air conditioning system in an adjacent building. Air con in rooms not very strong. Elevators are slow.
Location: Decent market about 3 or 4 blocks away on weekend - walk out of gate and turn left.
Cheap and reasonable place for a business traveler looking for a clean welcoming place to stay that's conveniently located without paying through the nose. Some dodgy areas nearby but the immediate area around the hotel is OK.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle upon Tyne UK

Great Rooms Great staff

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: Rooms, working desk, wifi, balconies on all rooms, views and a great staff
Cons: Check out a bit slow!
Location: Joburg Theatres Ebtertauinment, Constitution Hill Struggke Heritageand Brammfontein nightclubs. Easy access to Market Theatre and Newtown.
Third visit now in past four months will return on my nect trip to Joburg.