Ratings based on 246 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Luxembourg

Komfortabeles Hotel

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Ruhiges komfortables Hotel mit freubdlichen Personal.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to The Wanderers cricket ground.

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: Close to the cricket
Cons: More information on local dining. Improved shuttle services for Rosebank mall and station.
Protea Hotel Wanderers is handy for attending cricket matches at the adjacent ground. The Hotel bar and restaurant are quite acceptable quality. There is a nice north facing pool and deck. The Wanderers club provides a convenient alternative for meals and drinks and is a must. There are several restaurants and bars Within easy walking distance. Rosebank mall and Gautrain station are 20 minutes walk away.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Hotel staff were extremely attentive and friendly. I left my sunglasses on the table in the restaurant and they kept them safe until the following day. The rooms are spacious, bright and clean. The location was good for us as we needed to be in that area, as long as you don't expect to be able to walk to shops and restaurants. I would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Canada

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Great place to stay! Safe! And great experience with the area and shopping :) Hotel staff and shuttle staff are amazing!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New South Wales, Australia

Lovely property well located and great value.

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: Everything!
Cons: The Alfredo sauce used on the room service pasta dish is not very tasty; it is bland and watery and the recipe needs to be revamped.
Location: Great location close to Rosebank and Sandton for shopping for dining out.
My stay was very enjoyable. My room had a great view over the city, and was simply furnished but extremely comfortable with a great six-foot bed. The shower cubicle was the most user friendly I have ever encountered in my travels - leak-proof, non slip sloping floor which drained water and suds away in seconds, and with a sturdy handle to hang on to. The staff were efficient and friendly, always greeting you with genuine warmth and excellent service.
4 out of 5
by Hans Gerhard from Lephalale

Weekend in Northern Johannesburg

Posted Jul 9, 2016 on Hotels
Enjoyable. Like this hotel.
4 out of 5
by Ali

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 4, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Adeniyi from Lagos

Good hotel

Posted Jun 14, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Easy access to the city via railway

Posted May 5, 2016
Location: Large shopping mall (with local craft market) and railway station into the city.
Staff were helpful, I did not fly out till late in the day so they looked after my bags then a driver dropped them to me at the local shopping mall/train station in the afternoon so that I could catch the train to the airport. All very easy.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

I was disappointed with Internet service upon arri

Posted May 2, 2016
Pros: Meal Service
Cons: Internet
Location: Did not get out much.
Otherwise, my stay was pleasurable, especially the meal service and front desk.