Ratings based on 146 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Be very very careful ....

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Myself and 2 Canadian Doctors arrived thru Amsterdam at 10pm JNB. We were instructed to go to Bus for Protea Hotel by Airport Staff. On arrival at the OR Tambo Protea Marriott hotel the reception tells us that Oh your in the transit hotel which is back in the terminal . So we have to get a taxi back the therminal ($20) because the Shuttle stops running at night even though they have confirmed Expedia reservation with flight arrival info. When we get back to terminal exhausted from 21 hrs flying the airline and security have all gone home. .thanks to a nice SAPS policeman I got a bnb close by to rest my weary head. If I don't get a refund for this book if I will never ever use Expedia for the rest of my life Here ending the review
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

5 Hrs in Transit in November

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: Proximity & Convenience Room aesthetics
Cons: Room preparation before guests check in, Breakfast!!
Location: Shopping, Great Cafe's at the Terminal generally too!!
First the good: Despite a mix up in check in date: Arrived at 1:00AM whereas the day change is effective 2:00AM but reception staff was gracious enough to find a room for this weary traveller who just needed 5 hrs of shut eye between flights. Room was clean and aesthetically pleasing. Proximity to check in terminals was a great plus. The not so good: There were no towels in the room and one had to go to the reception to pick them up..not very nice when you were just about to take a shower...now dress up and walk to the reception No breakfast despite the relatively dear rate.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad service but good location

Posted Oct 23, 2016 on Hotels
They gave us completely new towels with price tag and the reception service was really bad and slow!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mixed

Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
It was a very overpriced room whose advantage was simply that it was in the airport and allows for one to walk from the hotel straight to the gate in 10 minutes. The room was very sterile and minimalist. Not even such things as a box of tissues or drinking water. No gym. Nothing other than a simple, overpriced room. The hotel neglected my wake up call, which is very important in an airport hotel where people are jet lagged and staying just a few hours. Unlikely to ever stay there again. Much better alternatives just outside the airport at half the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous Thank you for your feedback, The hotel will look into addressing the concerns put forward by yourself. We value all our GUESTS, and hope you'll stay with us in the near future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

They have a big problem with their 'free internet'

Posted Sep 21, 2016
All of the guests could not log into the internet and the rooms were freezing......temperature gauge is not adjustable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2016 by Jeanny, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, We will be looking at all the concerns put forward to us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Inside Terminal only hotel

Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Orbitz
Hotel is only accessible from inside of terminal. If you exit to retrieve your baggage, you won't be allowed back in and thus can lose your reservation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 30, 2016 by Jeanny, Hotel Management
Good Day Yes the above is correct! The hotel accommodates GUESTS who are in between two international destinations, and hence the once you enter the country, you will only be granted access three hours prior to your departure time.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AB Canada

Terrible experience

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Cold welcome at the reception. The room where I was first was cold. The heat didn't work. I reported to the reception twice, twice they asked me if I wanted an extra blanket. At the third complaint, they sent someone to have a look at it. But in vain. Again a third suggestion for an :extra blanket (? ). I really needed to raise my voice to finally get to move to another room. The WiFi that is promised to be free was not actually free. Only the first few minutes were.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2016 by Shelley Ratering, Hotel Management
Dear Ray, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback after your recent stay. We will not be turning a blind eye to this incident and will instead learn from it. The procedures that we currently have in place will be re-evaluated to ensure that all requests from our GUESTS are correctly and efficiently dealt with and that we ensure we take ownership of the query from beginning to end. It is vital that the TEAM do their best to deliver the best GUEST service as we want to strive for consistency to guarantee a wonderful stay and positive experience for each and every GUEST. Kind Regards, Shelley Ratering
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brazil

Convenient for a medium-long connection at OR Tamb

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Location. It is exactly within the airport departure area.
Cons: Having a vendor machine for water and soft drinks.
Location: Within the departure area. Appropriate for medium-long term connections.
It is a very convenient hotel for one having a medium-long term connection at O.R. Tambo Airport. Actually I had a reservation outside the airport facilities, but arriving at the airport I learnt that I needed a special authorization to enter in South Africa with my daughter 10 years old, so found the Protea within the airport facilities and with no needs to go through immigration, so it was perfect location for a 12 hours connection. The hotel has direct access to the duty free area and although does not offer any catering, it is just a matter of walking a few meters to reach out the duty free area, where there are 24 hours open restaurant / coffe shop. Highly recommend for those just connecting in Johannesburgh. Much simply and easier than going throught immigration and staying in a hotel outside the airport. You just wake up a few minutes before your boarding time at that is it. No need for shuttle and worries with timing for going through security, immigration.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2016 by Shelley Ratering, Hotel Management
Afternoon Osorio, Thank you for your pleasant feedback of Protea Hotel Transit. Apologies for the issues you experienced trying to enter SA, we were glad we had the oppertunity to welcome you to Protea Hotel Transit. We are proud to be the only Transit hotel of its kind in Africa. PH Transit wishes all their GUESTs feel Refreshed, Rejuvenated and Relaxed while transiting. We look forward to welcoming you back, on your next transit through Johannesburg.