Ratings based on 153 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Hotel is in the airport, which makes it very conve

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: See above
Cons: More staff at front desk to assist when they are a number of people waiting to be served!
Location: You have full access to the restaurants, shops, & services!
We have stayed at this hotel on many occasions & have always been very satisfied with the room, the staff & the convenience!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Be very very careful ....

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Myself and 2 Canadian Doctors arrived thru Amsterdam at 10pm JNB. We were instructed to go to Bus for Protea Hotel by Airport Staff. On arrival at the OR Tambo Protea Marriott hotel the reception tells us that Oh your in the transit hotel which is back in the terminal . So we have to get a taxi back the therminal ($20) because the Shuttle stops running at night even though they have confirmed Expedia reservation with flight arrival info. When we get back to terminal exhausted from 21 hrs flying the airline and security have all gone home. .thanks to a nice SAPS policeman I got a bnb close by to rest my weary head. If I don't get a refund for this book if I will never ever use Expedia for the rest of my life Here ending the review
1 out of 5
by Ian

Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Hotels
We did not get to stay at the hotel. Not understanding "transit" resulted in us not able to access the hotel. Upon returning home I reviewed the website and found where if I had clicked on the "more" link it did outline this hotel was only for international travellers. I am not sure why this would not have been more prominently displayed. We arrived in Johannesberg at 11:00PM, and during the 45 minutes it took to find alternate accommodation with the support of the airport information booth, 3 other couples were dealing with the same problem. This would indicate that we were not the first people to have this problem. Please ensure you meet the criteria BEFORE booking and paying like we did.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nelspruit and Miami Florida

My kids staid on a bench all night not allowed to

Posted Dec 10, 2016 on Orbitz
Terrible. I won't recommend anyone to book his family on that hotel. They should get out the airport or change the rules
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

5 Hrs in Transit in November

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: Proximity & Convenience Room aesthetics
Cons: Room preparation before guests check in, Breakfast!!
Location: Shopping, Great Cafe's at the Terminal generally too!!
First the good: Despite a mix up in check in date: Arrived at 1:00AM whereas the day change is effective 2:00AM but reception staff was gracious enough to find a room for this weary traveller who just needed 5 hrs of shut eye between flights. Room was clean and aesthetically pleasing. Proximity to check in terminals was a great plus. The not so good: There were no towels in the room and one had to go to the reception to pick them up..not very nice when you were just about to take a shower...now dress up and walk to the reception No breakfast despite the relatively dear rate.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad service but good location

Posted Oct 23, 2016 on Hotels
They gave us completely new towels with price tag and the reception service was really bad and slow!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mixed

Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
It was a very overpriced room whose advantage was simply that it was in the airport and allows for one to walk from the hotel straight to the gate in 10 minutes. The room was very sterile and minimalist. Not even such things as a box of tissues or drinking water. No gym. Nothing other than a simple, overpriced room. The hotel neglected my wake up call, which is very important in an airport hotel where people are jet lagged and staying just a few hours. Unlikely to ever stay there again. Much better alternatives just outside the airport at half the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous Thank you for your feedback, The hotel will look into addressing the concerns put forward by yourself. We value all our GUESTS, and hope you'll stay with us in the near future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

They have a big problem with their 'free internet'

Posted Sep 21, 2016
All of the guests could not log into the internet and the rooms were freezing......temperature gauge is not adjustable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2016 by Jeanny, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, We will be looking at all the concerns put forward to us.