Ratings based on 134 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

They have a big problem with their 'free internet'

Posted Sep 21, 2016
All of the guests could not log into the internet and the rooms were freezing......temperature gauge is not adjustable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AB Canada

Terrible experience

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Cold welcome at the reception. The room where I was first was cold. The heat didn't work. I reported to the reception twice, twice they asked me if I wanted an extra blanket. At the third complaint, they sent someone to have a look at it. But in vain. Again a third suggestion for an :extra blanket (? ). I really needed to raise my voice to finally get to move to another room. The WiFi that is promised to be free was not actually free. Only the first few minutes were.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2016 by Shelley Ratering, Hotel Management
Dear Ray, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback after your recent stay. We will not be turning a blind eye to this incident and will instead learn from it. The procedures that we currently have in place will be re-evaluated to ensure that all requests from our GUESTS are correctly and efficiently dealt with and that we ensure we take ownership of the query from beginning to end. It is vital that the TEAM do their best to deliver the best GUEST service as we want to strive for consistency to guarantee a wonderful stay and positive experience for each and every GUEST. Kind Regards, Shelley Ratering
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brazil

Convenient for a medium-long connection at OR Tamb

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Location. It is exactly within the airport departure area.
Cons: Having a vendor machine for water and soft drinks.
Location: Within the departure area. Appropriate for medium-long term connections.
It is a very convenient hotel for one having a medium-long term connection at O.R. Tambo Airport. Actually I had a reservation outside the airport facilities, but arriving at the airport I learnt that I needed a special authorization to enter in South Africa with my daughter 10 years old, so found the Protea within the airport facilities and with no needs to go through immigration, so it was perfect location for a 12 hours connection. The hotel has direct access to the duty free area and although does not offer any catering, it is just a matter of walking a few meters to reach out the duty free area, where there are 24 hours open restaurant / coffe shop. Highly recommend for those just connecting in Johannesburgh. Much simply and easier than going throught immigration and staying in a hotel outside the airport. You just wake up a few minutes before your boarding time at that is it. No need for shuttle and worries with timing for going through security, immigration.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2016 by Shelley Ratering, Hotel Management
Afternoon Osorio, Thank you for your pleasant feedback of Protea Hotel Transit. Apologies for the issues you experienced trying to enter SA, we were glad we had the oppertunity to welcome you to Protea Hotel Transit. We are proud to be the only Transit hotel of its kind in Africa. PH Transit wishes all their GUESTs feel Refreshed, Rejuvenated and Relaxed while transiting. We look forward to welcoming you back, on your next transit through Johannesburg.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 22, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

호텔 연결을 제대로 시켜주지도 않고 서비스가 만족스럽지 못했습니다.

Posted Apr 22, 2016 on Hotels
저희는 공항안에만 있다고 생각하고 출국장으로 나왔는데... 이 호텔에서는 공항 밖에 있는 같은 호텔로 연결해준다고 해서 셔틀 버스를 타고 갔더니 다시 돌아가라고 하고.. 결국 시간안에 취소도 하지 못하고 1박의 요금을 받지도 못했습니다. 4성급 호텔인데 이렇게 처리해줘서 실망스러웠습니다.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lagos

Good hotel.

Posted Apr 8, 2016
WiFi took over 8hours to connect. Disposable bathroom slippers should be provided in the rooms.
1 out of 5
by Oliver

Posted Apr 7, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is sitiuated inside the international part of the airport. If you have a domestic conection, you will most likely need to pass through pass controll and will have no posibility to reach the hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sorry, Charlie, you're out of luck!

Posted Mar 24, 2016
I made the mistake of going through immigration and could not get back into the hotel. I called hotel and they would not refund, would not give me a credit at this hotel nor the Protea i am staying in Bloemfontein in several days. Didn't offer to put me up at the cheaper Protea a mile away. Front desk was very matter of fact. Based on this poor customer service, I do not plan to book here again. Went to the Premier Hotel a mile way. Great price (half of Protea) shuttle leaves airport every 30 mins, updated hotel - very nice. Boo Protea Transit!
1 out of 5
by Pietro from Boulder

Never book this hotel. Total scam

Posted Mar 23, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel should NOT be a choice. 6 hours maximum, no possible luggage collection (left @ international baggage terminal indefinitely). Complete joke. Ended up at different hotel, decided not to stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Amazing transit hotel

Posted Mar 23, 2016
Pros: Very nice and clean room and facilities.
Cons: Attitude of one staff.
Location: Very close to shops in the airport.
I had about 18 hours of layover in Joburg and this transit hotel offered an amazing haven for travelers. It is located inside the airport and very accessible to all shops, bars, and restaurants. The only downside is that they didn't offer drinking water and I had to walk out in the middle of the night to find something to drink. Staff were very nice except for one young lady who was probably not happy with her work or just tired who never offered pleasantries or greetings upon check-in and was not very friendly to guests. While looking at the computer monitor, she said "I need to charge your credit card now" after I filled out all the forms. Then I said, "Sure," and gave her my card. She just had the biggest sarcastic smile and said, "Oh I'm not even talking to you. This is for another guest." This all happened at around 6PM on Sunday, 20 March, while I came in very tired coming from an exhausting trip in Lesotho and going home to New York. Unlike the other staff who treated me very well last week when I came in for one night stay, this lady acted and looked unprofessional wearing only a white t-shirt and a blazer on it. She looked young though like an intern or something.