Ratings based on 947 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom.

Excellent

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Good location. Good food. Excellent staff. Hotel very clean. Good location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2017 by Thembelihle Mposula , Hotel Management
Dear Diana, Thank you for your inspiring review. We are excited to hear that our STAFF were able to give you an amazing experience making you feel welcome and leave you with a good first impression at check in . Your review is motivation for our TEAM to do their best every time. Further we would like to thank you for the great response. Kindest Regards, The Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R Tambo TEAM
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, Wa

I stayed one night on route from Seattle to Maun.

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: Location near airport was convenient. I did not leave the hotel for any excursions.
The hotel worked perfectly for our needs. We arrived early but the very courteous staff got our rooms cleaned up and were able to check us in well before the posted 2pm check in time. We were pleased to be able to relax with a coffee latte while we waited. Overall, very comfortable and clean with helpful staff. We had a very dinner while there. I would stay there again and recommend to others. I do remember requesting a room with 2 twin beds for my sister and myself but were put in a room with a queen or king bed which worked out just fine.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Hotel close to airport

Posted May 20, 2017
Rooms were average in terms of cleanliness! Given they have had a refurb the shower areas were particularly average. Tiles cracked, re-grooting needed etc. Modern look of a wet room
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Lihle Mposula , Hotel Management
Dear Jonathan, Thank you for your review. We are glad that you we were able to offer a clean room making ease and a better stay.Your review is motivation for our TEAM to do their best every time. Further we would like to thank you for the great response. Kindest Regards, The Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R Tambo TEAM
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Pleasant hotel close to the airport.

Posted May 17, 2017
Staff are all very pleasant and helpful. Check in was very easy and they let us check in early which after an all night flight was greatly appreciated. Our food was good both for dinner and breakfast. The breakfast buffet was outstanding. We highly recommend this hotel as your first stop in South Africa.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by Melany, Hotel Management
Dear Ann, Thank you very much for the review on your stay with us. It is great to hear that you found our Hotel to be fantastic and that the food was delicious. We will be sure to share your feedback with our TEAMs to motivate them in keeping up the great work. We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back to us whenever your travels bring you back to Johannesburg. Kind Regards, Melany McMurdie
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Not quite a Marriott

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: Great staff.
Cons: The food.
The hotel is ok, it is not what I have come to expect from a Marriott property. The rooms were very small, the food was poor. However, the staff was great and very friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by Lihle Mposula , Hotel Management
Dear Jeff, Thank you for your review. It brings great pleasure to hear that our STAFF were able to leave you with a great impression at check-in, however we would like to express our apology on not being able to meet your expectations. We will look into this with the rest of the TEAM. Thank you for letting us know. Further we would like to thank you for your response as it is motivation to our TEAM to do their best every time. Kind Regards, Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R Tambo Airport
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Basic hotel close to airport

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness
Cons: Construction/repair noises in early a.m. Shortages on menu/hamburgers! Better food service
Location: Near airport, not convenient to any tourist sites
Clean rooms, pleasant staff. Food was better than average but wait staff very slow.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017 by Thembelihle Mposula , Hotel Management
Dear Sam, Thank you for your review. We are excited to hear that our STAFF were able to give you an amazing experience making you feel welcome and leave you with a good first impression at check in . It is great to see that they were helpful in assuring you have a comfy bed and clean room. However we would like to apologize for any inconvenience that you had experienced at the Hotel. We will look into the matter. Thank you for letting us know. are delighted to see that you found our location to be convenient to you. Further we would like to thank you for the great response. Kindest Regards, The Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R Tambo TEAM
5 out of 5
by CHUI SHAN

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
We did not expect too much for airport hotel as we are staying for one night. The Front Office team has definitely impressed us by their friendly and prompt service. We feel valued.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2017
Dear CHUI SHAN, Thank you for your inspiring review. We are excited to hear that our STAFF were able to give you an amazing experience making you feel welcome and leave you with a good first impression at check in . Your review is motivation for our TEAM to do their best every time. Further we would like to thank you for the great response. Kindest Regards, The Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R Tambo TEAM
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice airport hotel

Posted Apr 20, 2017
All dinning needs an upgrade. Not the best quality or flavor. For breakfast bacon seems to be more like jerky. Probably a couple of days old.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2017 by Melany McMurdie - GUEST Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous Thank you for your honest feedback, we need such feedback so to ensure we can definitely improve on certain aspects that we are offering our GUESTS. It is rather disappointing to hear that you had not enjoyed your dining experiences had with us. We have shared your feedback with our Executive Chef so that he can bring it to the attention of his TEAM. The bacon I am unsure as to why it was hard as you say but it could have been that it was cooked way too much and the Chef's are on top of it to ensure this was an isolated issue and that it does not occur again in future. Thank you once again and we do hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back whenever your Travels bring you back to Johannesburg
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Good transit hotel

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Orbitz
This is a convenient hotel for staying just before or after travel. 24-hour restaurant is helpful. Rooms are small, old but clean. Service at restaurant is little slow. Shuttle to airport runs twice an hour and is convenient.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2017 by Melan\y McMurdie- GUEST Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear JK Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you found the Hotel to be convenient along with the facilities and other services we offer. I do apologize on the service you experienced in the restaurant and this has been brought to our Food and Beverage TEAMs attention as this is not a true reflection of the service we are proud at offering. Thank you once again and we do hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back whenever your travels bring you back to Johannesburg.
4 out of 5
by Ronald

"Modern" is not always right.

Posted Apr 9, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel tries to hard to be "modern". There is no separation for the bathroom that will allow one person to get ready without waking up the other. It is in a great area. However, when we come back again, we will probably not stay here.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017
Dear Ronald, Thank you very much for your response. Our rooms are a modern European style so the showers are designed that way so that can watch TV whilst they are taking a shower. However we would like to apologize for any inconveniences that you have faced with your time here at the Hotel. We are delighted to see that you found our location to be convenient to you. Further more we would like to thank you for your response. Kind Regards, Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport