Ratings based on 921 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good for a 1 night stop over

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: The bed
Cons: Customer service across the board
Location: Good location 5 min from the airport
I would only stay here for 1 night and not have many expectations. - check in was the most miserable, unwelcoming and unhelpful check in I have experienced. - staff on all levels (reservations, restaurant and general lobby staff) were all quite rude and did not display any 'customer service' during our stay (with the exception of the customer service rep who was okay and the two young men who were serving our breakfast they were very friendly) - shower blocked up and the room flooded
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Conveniently located near airport.

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Excellent location. Good restaurant. Friendly staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff Needs Training

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Both check-in and check-out were cumbersome and time consuming. The staff didn't know how to use the systems to assign a room to me even though I had a reservation. The rooms attempted to be "funky" but were small and not terribly functional. The breakfast was just ok and it took 3 attempts to get a veggie omelette. In short, needs work.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2017 by Noluthando Dzimba , Hotel Management
Dear GUEST, Thank you for your review. We deeply apologize that you didn't find your experience at check-in to be of great service and professionalism, we will look into this with the rest of the TEAM and work on it. We would also like to apologize for the mediocre breakfast and not keeping up to standards. Further we would like to thank you for you again for your review as it is motivation for us to do our best every time. Kindest Regards, Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R Tambo Airport
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great airport stop over

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Made a great effort for us food wise, ensuring my kids food was gluten free.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2017 by Noluthando Dzimba , Hotel Management
Dear GUEST, Thank you for your inspiring review. We are excited to hear that our STAFF were able to give you an amazing experience making you feel welcome and leave you with a good first impression. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your dining experience, your safety is important to us and it is a privilege having you. Further we would like to thank you for the great response and for letting us know. Kindest Regards, The Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R Tambo TEAM
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Nice with 15 minute free shuttle to airport

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: 15 minutes from airport with free shuttle. The bed and bedding were spotless and comfortable.
Nice hotel, good value, 15 minutes from airport. Ask airport information desk for directions to shuttle. The staff was pleasant. The bed and bedding were comfortable. The restaurant food is good and fairly reasonable. The room was spacious enough and spotless. The shower and sink are at the end of the room (not walled off), and the shower walls are all glass (no privacy) so you may have to have a drink at the bar while your roommate is showering if privacy is an issue.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2017 by Noluthando Dzimba , Hotel Management
Dear Chris, Thank you for your inspiring review. We are excited to hear that our STAFF were able to give you an amazing experience making you feel welcome and leave you with a good first impression at check in . It is great to see that they were helpful in assuring you have a comfy bed and clean room, creating ease and making for a better stay. We are delighted that you found our food to be pleasant to you and to see that you found our location to be convenient to you. Further we would like to thank you for the great response. Kindest Regards, The Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R Tambo TEAM
5 out of 5
by Phillip

Posted Dec 28, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Phillip, Thank you for your inspiring review. We are excited to hear that our STAFF were able to give you an amazing experience making you feel welcome and leave you with a good first impression at check in . Your review is motivation for our TEAM to do their best every time. Further we would like to thank you for the great response. Kindest Regards, The Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R Tambo TEAM
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
quiet, despite proximity to the airport and the breakfast was excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear GUEST, Thank you for your inspiring review. We are excited to hear that you had an amazing experience feeling welcome and leaving you with a good first impression. We are delighted to see that you found our food to be pleasant and found our location to be peaceful and convenient to you. Further we would like to thank you for the great response. Kindest Regards, The Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R Tambo TEAM
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 7, 2016 on Hotels
This a very good Hotel with friendly staff and they offer all that is needed to be comfortable and secure
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear GUEST, Thank you for your inspiring review. We are excited to hear that our STAFF were able to give you an amazing experience making you feel welcome and leave you with a good first impression. It is great to see that they were helpful in assuring you have a comfy and clean room, creating ease and making for a better stay. We are delighted to see that you found our location to be convenient and safe for you. Further we would like to thank you for the great response. Kindest Regards, The Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R Tambo TEAM
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Hotels
Very bad service, air conn not working, locker not working, TV remote not working. bathroom got clogged and no housekeeing for 1 hour, had to leave without taking a shower.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear GUEST Thank you for the review, we apologize we could not meet your expectations, we will share this with the rest of the TEAM and we will work hard to improve the our facilities. Kind Regards, Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect airport hotel

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
Just a perfect airport hotel, close to the airport, free shuttle, modern, good food especially the breakfast buffet and most importantly great staff, very welcoming and very friendly
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your inspiring review. We are excited to hear that our Hotel gave you an amazing experience making you feel welcome and leave you with a good first impression . It is great to see that our shuttle service was of convenience to you. We are delighted to see that you found our location and breakfast buffet was to your standard. Further we would like to thank you for the great response. Kindest Regards, The Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R Tambo TEAM