Ratings based on 882 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bedfordshire, UK

Perfect for ovnight stopover

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: Convenient, friendly and relaxed.
Hotel was very convenient for an overnight stopover. Free shuttle service worked well. The room was comfortable and very clean. We had an excellent steak in restaurant - food and service was good. Outside terrace, pool and gardens was perfect to relax for a few hours before our onward flight home.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2016 by noluthando.dzimba@proteahotels.com, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your inspiring review. We are excited to hear that our Hotel was convenient to you. It is great to see that our STAFF were helpful in assuring you have a comfy bed and clean room, creating ease and making for a better stay. We are delighted to see that you found our Restaurant food appealing and that you enjoyed your meal. We are also excited to see that our outside area was relaxing and worth the view Further we would like to thank you for the great response. Kindest Regards, The Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R Tambo TEAM
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to airport, transit hotel. Nothing special

Posted Oct 4, 2016
If you are in transit and staying their for one night, it's an convenient hotel otherwise not a great place for long term stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 5, 2016 by noluthando.dzimba@proteahotels.com, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted to hear that you found convenience in your stay with us and had a good experience. Your review is motivation for our TEAM to do their best every time and to work harder towards making sure GUESTS enjoy their long and short term stays we hope that in future we do get the opportunity to have you, you will experience the true Protea standard. Kind Regards, The Protea Hotel O.R Tambo Airport TEAM
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maputo

This was actually a surprise

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Pros: Staff were the highlight
Cons: Everything OK
I was expecting the same old, same old dreary, worn out airport hotel full of bored staff but actually on all these fronts I was proven quite wrong. To start with, the free hotel owned airport-hotel shuttle bus every half hour was a godsend. Fresh clean rooms with clever ergonomics. Very accommodating and helpful front desk staff, ever do obliging to assist with a queries. The highlight was actually the restaurant with very switched on waiter staff who were actually enjoying their jobs (or so it seemed from their positive interactions with their customers) and with a great menu, very reasonably priced and with generous servings. All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel for when the necessary overnight stopover at ORT Airport is the best option. It's actually great to see the Protea Hotel Chain starting to commit profits back into refurbishing their hotels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 5, 2016 by noluthando.dzimba@proteahotels.com, Hotel Management
Dear David, Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a good experience regarding the food, We are delighted to see that our Staff were able to give you service that was to your standard and that you found our Hotel to be fresh and improved. Your review is motivation for our TEAM to do their best every time . Kind Regards, The Protea Hotel O.R Tambo Airport TEAM
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ideal als kurze Zwischenstation

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: kostenloses Shuttle vom Flughafen und zurück kostenloses Shuttle zum Emperors Palace Preise für Essen im Hotel im vgl. zu teuer kostenloses Wlan
Cons: Preise für Essen im Hotel im vgl. zu teuer
Location: Emperors Palace kann man gut und günstig essen
Aufenthalt jeweils ein Abend nach Ankunft vor und nach der Safari in den Vicfalls
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Close to Airport

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: location, staff, breakfast.
Cons: pool needed cleaning although it is simply decorative.
Location: remote / not much
Arrived early & got early check-in. Friendly staff, very nice breakfast buffet at a good price. The hotel is located right next to the airport yet noise was not an issue whatsoever. It is located in a residential area so their were no nearby services (stores, laundry, restaurants shops, etc.).
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2016 by noluthando.dzimba@proteahotels.com, Hotel Management
Dear Ross, Thank you for your inspiring review. We are thrilled to hear that our STAFF were able to give you an amazing experience and leave you with a good first impression. We are glad the buffet was to your standard and added to the comfort of your stay. We are also delighted to see that you felt safe at our Hotel, found peace of mind Further we would like to thank you for the great response and thanks for letting us know. Kindest Regards, The Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R Tambo TEAM!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saint Avre

Posted Sep 9, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a good experience regarding your check-in. Your review is motivation for our TEAM to do their best every time. Kind Regards, The Protea Hotel O.R Tambo Airport TEAM
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, WA

Easy Airport Access

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Check-in/check-out process
Stayed one night waiting for a connecting flight. Typical airport hotel: had what you needed, and set up for the traveler. The staff was helpful-although there should have been more checking people in/out. The courtesy van driver was very helpful, delivering us to the location we needed to depart from.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2016 by noluthando.dzimba@proteahotels.com, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a good experience regarding your check-in. Your review is motivation for our TEAM to do their best every time and try and fix the issues mentioned. Kind Regards, The Protea Hotel O.R Tambo Airport TEAM
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Short stay for a couple nights. Breakfast a little much and a little confusing to get to. But free shuttles to airport.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2016 by noluthando.dzimba@proteahotels.com, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a good experience regarding your check-in. Your review is motivation for our TEAM to do their best every time and improve where needed. Kind Regards, The Protea Hotel O.R Tambo Airport TEAM
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Haven CT

OK but not as good as it seemed

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels
Most people stay here on an overnight basis because of the proximity to the airport. On the map this hotel looks the same distance to the airport as the Intercontinental. But you can walk across a road to the Intercontinental. You also have to walk across the same road and pass the Intercontinental to get to the shuttle for the Protea. The shuttle comes every half hour and takes 10-15 minutes to get to the hotel. We ate in the restaurant. They did not have mixed drinks (in spite of the fact that a funky bar is advertised) and they did not have 3 of the 8 wines by the glass that were on the menu. Food was good but not great. I wish I had spent slightly more money and had stayed at the Intercontinental.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write us a review. We would like to offer our sincerest apologies as to the bad experience you had regarding your stay with us. This issue will be addressed to the team and hopefully if we have the pleasure of having you in our hotel again we wont have the same problem and hopefully you will have an exceptional experience with us.Once again we would like to apologize for your bad experience and we hope that we will have the opportunity to give you a much better experience Kindest Regards, The Protea Hotel O.R Tambo TEAM!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very noise hard to sleep

Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels
Hard to check in. People party in halls till 3am keeping you awake. Don't go there to catch up on sleep after a long flight. Food good
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear GUEST, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write us a review. We would like to offer our sincerest apologies as to the bad experience you had regarding your stay with us. This issue will be attended to and hopefully if we have the pleasure of having you in our hotel again we wont have the same problem and hopefully you will have an exceptional experience with us.Once again we would like to apologize for your bad experience and we hope that we will have the opportunity to give you a much better experience Kindest Regards, The Protea Hotel O.R Tambo TEAM!