Ratings based on 960 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Good hotel for an extended layover in Johannesburg

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Close to the airport, and offered a free shuttle.
The room was comfortable. The restaurant on the ground floor was good. Our only problem was due to a fire alarm in the early morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Good hotel when you need to stay near the airport.

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Close to the airport, and comfortable.
Cons: Fire alarm system.
Location: Near the airport.
We needed a place to stay during a 12 hour layover between flights. The pickup and drop off went well. Check in took a while since there were several groups coming in at the same time. The room was nice, and better than I expected. We ate in the restaurant on the first floor. There was some confusion about the bill. At first they asked for our room number and we gave it to them. Later they called us in the room saying that they couldn't charge it to our room since we didn't have a credit card on the room (since we paid through Expedia). They offered to bring the card reader to our room, but it was easier for me to come down later, so I did that. It seemed like they didn't use the card machine very often. Our one other problem was a fire alarm at 2 am. We got up and assembled in the parking lot, waited a while, then were told it was probably due to someone smoking. The alarms went off a couple of times after that while they were resetting the system (or finding the problem). That was somewhat irritating, but it had us awake and ready to checkout at 4:15 for the first shuttle to the airport.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from paris

Posted Sep 5, 2017
I the application indicated the hotel was near the the airport (0.2km) but turned out to be some 5kms near a 4star hotel charging much less and I had discarded it due to distance (5kms)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tasmania, Australia

Close to airport

Posted Aug 19, 2017
The staff and facilities are great if you have a stop over in Johannesburg. They have a shuttle running every 30 minutes from the airport (find the bus terminal behind) for easy transfer between. The food in the restaurant is good and staff are wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom.

Excellent

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Good location. Good food. Excellent staff. Hotel very clean. Good location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2017 by Thembelihle Mposula , Hotel Management
Dear Diana, Thank you for your inspiring review. We are excited to hear that our STAFF were able to give you an amazing experience making you feel welcome and leave you with a good first impression at check in . Your review is motivation for our TEAM to do their best every time. Further we would like to thank you for the great response. Kindest Regards, The Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R Tambo TEAM
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, Wa

I stayed one night on route from Seattle to Maun.

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: Location near airport was convenient. I did not leave the hotel for any excursions.
The hotel worked perfectly for our needs. We arrived early but the very courteous staff got our rooms cleaned up and were able to check us in well before the posted 2pm check in time. We were pleased to be able to relax with a coffee latte while we waited. Overall, very comfortable and clean with helpful staff. We had a very dinner while there. I would stay there again and recommend to others. I do remember requesting a room with 2 twin beds for my sister and myself but were put in a room with a queen or king bed which worked out just fine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2017 by Melany, Hotel Management
Dear Willma Thank you so much for the lovely review of our Hotel. It is always great to read that our GUESTS had thoroughly enjoyed their stay with us. I will most definitely share your compliments with the TEAM to continue to motivate and inspire them to keep up the good work. Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and we do hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back whenever your travels bring you back to Johannesburg. Kind Regards Melany McMurdie GUEST Relations Manager
4 out of 5
by Aniruddha

Decent business hotel

Posted Jun 24, 2017 on Hotels
Nice cozy rooms for single person. Could be little cramped up for 2 persons.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2017
Dear Aniruddha, Thank you for your inspiring review. We glad to hear that our STAFF were able to give you an amazing experience making you feel welcome and leave you with a good first impression upon check-in. It is great to see that they were helpful in ensuring that you have a comfortable bed and clean room, creating ease, making it a better stay. Further we would like to thank you for your response, for it is motivation for our TEAM to do their ultimate best every time. Kind Regards, Thembelihle Mposula
4 out of 5
by Nicole

Friendly, helpful staff. Great food.

Posted Jun 22, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed here 3 nights during a 3 week African safari. It has a very industrial look and is close to the airport but very quiet. The buffet meals were great for me as a vegetarian. I felt like I had plenty of choices. They also made a killer cappuccino. Really the only thing I didn't like was the shower stall in the bedroom. The tap water was not potable but they did provide a large bottle of drinking water in the room. We used the gym and it was on par with what we see in the US.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2017
Dear Nicole, Thank you for your inspiring review. We are excited to hear that our STAFF were able to give you an amazing experience making you feel welcome and leave you with a good first impression at check in. It is great to see that they were helpful in assuring you have a comfy and clean room, creating ease making it a better stay. We are glad that you found our food to be pleasant for your taste. Overall we are delighted that you had a wonderful experience at OUR Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to OUR property once you find yourself in Johannesburg again. Further we would like to thank you for the great response. Kindest Regards, Thembeihle Mposula
4 out of 5
by Brodi

Overnight stay

Posted Jun 4, 2017 on Hotels
Great price! Even better location and modern rooms. A perfect airport hotel with free shuttle service...it's just 5 mins from the terminal
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2017
Dear Brodi, Thank you for your inspiring review. We are excited to hear that our STAFF were able to give you an amazing experience making you feel welcome and leave you with a good first impression at check in . Your review is motivation for our TEAM to do their best every time. Further we would like to thank you for the great response. Kindest Regards, The Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R Tambo TEAM
5 out of 5
by David

Great hotel stay

Posted Jun 3, 2017 on Hotels
We had an excellent stay at this hotel...The room was a big on the small side, but everything else about it was great...even excellent food in the bar area. It's very close to the airport and so convenient...and the tour desk will easily arrange things to do and transport if needed. There's also free shuttles to the airport and an nearby entertainment centre. Highly recommended for short stays.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2017
Dear David, Thank you for your inspiring review. We are excited to hear that our STAFF were able to give you an amazing experience making you feel welcome and leave you with a good first impression at check in. It is great to see that they were helpful in assuring you have a comfy bed and clean room with a great view, creating ease and tranquility, making it a better stay. We are glad that you acknowledge our amnesties. We are glad to see that you found our location and transportation to be convenient to you. Further we would like to thank you for the great response, we would like to see you Kindest Regards, The Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R Tambo TEAM