Ratings based on 937 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Hotel close to airport

Posted May 20, 2017
Rooms were average in terms of cleanliness! Given they have had a refurb the shower areas were particularly average. Tiles cracked, re-grooting needed etc. Modern look of a wet room
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Lihle Mposula , Hotel Management
Dear Jonathan, Thank you for your review. We are glad that you we were able to offer a clean room making ease and a better stay.Your review is motivation for our TEAM to do their best every time. Further we would like to thank you for the great response. Kindest Regards, The Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R Tambo TEAM
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Pleasant hotel close to the airport.

Posted May 17, 2017
Staff are all very pleasant and helpful. Check in was very easy and they let us check in early which after an all night flight was greatly appreciated. Our food was good both for dinner and breakfast. The breakfast buffet was outstanding. We highly recommend this hotel as your first stop in South Africa.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by Melany, Hotel Management
Dear Ann, Thank you very much for the review on your stay with us. It is great to hear that you found our Hotel to be fantastic and that the food was delicious. We will be sure to share your feedback with our TEAMs to motivate them in keeping up the great work. We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back to us whenever your travels bring you back to Johannesburg. Kind Regards, Melany McMurdie
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Not quite a Marriott

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: Great staff.
Cons: The food.
The hotel is ok, it is not what I have come to expect from a Marriott property. The rooms were very small, the food was poor. However, the staff was great and very friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by Lihle Mposula , Hotel Management
Dear Jeff, Thank you for your review. It brings great pleasure to hear that our STAFF were able to leave you with a great impression at check-in, however we would like to express our apology on not being able to meet your expectations. We will look into this with the rest of the TEAM. Thank you for letting us know. Further we would like to thank you for your response as it is motivation to our TEAM to do their best every time. Kind Regards, Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R Tambo Airport
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Basic hotel close to airport

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness
Cons: Construction/repair noises in early a.m. Shortages on menu/hamburgers! Better food service
Location: Near airport, not convenient to any tourist sites
Clean rooms, pleasant staff. Food was better than average but wait staff very slow.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017 by Thembelihle Mposula , Hotel Management
Dear Sam, Thank you for your review. We are excited to hear that our STAFF were able to give you an amazing experience making you feel welcome and leave you with a good first impression at check in . It is great to see that they were helpful in assuring you have a comfy bed and clean room. However we would like to apologize for any inconvenience that you had experienced at the Hotel. We will look into the matter. Thank you for letting us know. are delighted to see that you found our location to be convenient to you. Further we would like to thank you for the great response. Kindest Regards, The Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R Tambo TEAM
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice airport hotel

Posted Apr 20, 2017
All dinning needs an upgrade. Not the best quality or flavor. For breakfast bacon seems to be more like jerky. Probably a couple of days old.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2017 by Melany McMurdie - GUEST Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous Thank you for your honest feedback, we need such feedback so to ensure we can definitely improve on certain aspects that we are offering our GUESTS. It is rather disappointing to hear that you had not enjoyed your dining experiences had with us. We have shared your feedback with our Executive Chef so that he can bring it to the attention of his TEAM. The bacon I am unsure as to why it was hard as you say but it could have been that it was cooked way too much and the Chef's are on top of it to ensure this was an isolated issue and that it does not occur again in future. Thank you once again and we do hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back whenever your Travels bring you back to Johannesburg
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good for a 1 night stop over

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: The bed
Cons: Customer service across the board
Location: Good location 5 min from the airport
I would only stay here for 1 night and not have many expectations. - check in was the most miserable, unwelcoming and unhelpful check in I have experienced. - staff on all levels (reservations, restaurant and general lobby staff) were all quite rude and did not display any 'customer service' during our stay (with the exception of the customer service rep who was okay and the two young men who were serving our breakfast they were very friendly) - shower blocked up and the room flooded
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by Lihle Mposula , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. It brings sadness to hear that we could not meet your expectations as well as exceeding them. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience that you had faced with your time here. We will address that matter with the rest of the TEAM and we will attend to it as soon as possible. Thank you for letting us know. Kind Regards, Lihle Mposula Assistant Guest Relations Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Conveniently located near airport.

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Excellent location. Good restaurant. Friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2017 by Lihle Mposula , Hotel Management
Dear GUEST, Thank you for your inspiring review. it brings great pleasure to hear that our STAFF were able to give you a great experience from the time of your check-in throughout. We are delighted to hear that the food was of great taste for your convenience. Further we would like to thank you for your response fir it brings motivation to us to do our outmost best. Kind Regards, Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R Tambo Airport
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff Needs Training

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Both check-in and check-out were cumbersome and time consuming. The staff didn't know how to use the systems to assign a room to me even though I had a reservation. The rooms attempted to be "funky" but were small and not terribly functional. The breakfast was just ok and it took 3 attempts to get a veggie omelette. In short, needs work.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2017 by Noluthando Dzimba , Hotel Management
Dear GUEST, Thank you for your review. We deeply apologize that you didn't find your experience at check-in to be of great service and professionalism, we will look into this with the rest of the TEAM and work on it. We would also like to apologize for the mediocre breakfast and not keeping up to standards. Further we would like to thank you for you again for your review as it is motivation for us to do our best every time. Kindest Regards, Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R Tambo Airport
4 out of 5
by Peter

Value @ OR Tambo

Posted Feb 12, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderfully sited within 10 min of OR Tambo-if you`re flying in or out of SA take this option
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Peter, Thank you for your inspiring review. We are excited to hear that our STAFF were able to give you an amazing experience making you feel welcome and leave you with a good first impression. we are glad that you found the location to be convenient to you. Your review is motivation for our TEAM to do their best every time. Further we would like to thank you for the great response. Kindest Regards, The Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R Tambo TEAM
2 out of 5
by Patrick

Average

Posted Feb 10, 2017 on Hotels
My experience was average, First I didn't get the room I booked. I asked for a room with a bath. The receptionist said sorry we are fully booked and busy. Well I thought I also was a paying customer? My room had no water in it to drink ? The water pressure was very low in room. The restaurant kept me waiting over an hour to eat on a evening where it was not too busy. I waited 30 minutes to order food. I eventually had to go to the cashier and place my order. Afterwards I waited another 35 minutes before they brought my food. The food was delicious when it eventually came . I unfortunately will not stay again for that price ..
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Patrick, Thank you for your review. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience and that you were unhappy with your overall experience at the Hotel, we will take address this matter to Management and the rest of the TEAM. Your review is motivation for our TEAM to do their best every time. Further we would like to thank you for the response and for letting us know. Kindest Regards, The Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R Tambo TEAM