Ratings based on 765 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 10, 2016
Nice hotel with good shuttle service to and from the hotel. Only complaint was the heavy,lumpy duvet. Needed a light blanket.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Günstige Lage zum Flughafen

Posted Feb 10, 2016
Uns war die Lage zum Flughafen entscheidend. Kostenfreier Shuttleservice zum Flughafen jede halbe Stunde.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just passing through

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Very basic room. It was ok for one night, better than sleeping on the airport floor. The sinks were blocked so when we showered the water came into bedroom area Not a holiday destination hotel a needs must hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice Hotel, Good Value, Close to Airport

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Pros: Price and comfort .. also had 2 lovely decorated welcome muffins upon arrival .. very thoughtful.
Cons: No suggestions - was really quite good.
Location: Was only there overnight - location is about 10 minutes from the Airport.
Stayed overnight while making a connecting flight. Had read other expedia reviews that suggested to ask for a room that did not face the airport .. which we did. Lovely and quiet. Room had been freshly painted though .. didn't care for that. Superbly comfy bed with duvet, wonderful tub for 2, great shower and 24 hour room service with a good selection of great food. Free shuttle to/from the airport - a little challenging to find upon arrival in Johannesburg but we just kept asking people along the way. Shuttle operates on a good schedule making it most convenient.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 5, 2016 by Marketing assistant, Hotel Management
Thank you for the Hotel review Margot and Alex, it is really warms our hearts to hear from you regarding the stay that you had with Protea Hotel O.R Tambo, happy to hear that you enjoyed our various selection of food and found the hotel with a wonderful tub, please feel free to also share on where we need to improve as a hotel. Kind regards Protea Hotel O.R Tambo TEAM.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location but in need of an uograde

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Staff great Facilities good State of rooms as other areas "tired" need some attention No ATM to draw local currency
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We found the room and all staff were helpful.

Posted Jan 17, 2016
Pros: Clean and comfortable
Cons: No
Location: We went out both days which the travel desk organised for us very good service.
A very enjoyable stay would not hesitate staying their again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2016 by Marketing Assistant., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and choosing our hotel, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, looking forward in having you again as our GUEST. Kind regards. Protea Hotel O.R Tambo TEAM.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel by the airport. Excelent design.

Posted Jan 12, 2016
Pros: Design, location, cleanliness
Nice stopover while waiting to pick up family from the airport. Excelent design (if you a fan of those things like me). Food is nice, but F&B staff can be a little inconvenient if you do not left a deposit at reception for your extras.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 11, 2016
Cons: receptionists that speak clear English and keep promises of room bookings
we had a good stay even though Protea could use more interconnected rooms for families.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 11, 2016
Great hotel for the cost. The odd number rooms face the airport so there's more noise in those rooms; found that out a return visit. The first night we stayed there was in an even number room and was amazed at how quiet it was. The amenities were first rate. Would recommend this place if needing to stay near OR Tambo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 7, 2016
Pros: style
Cons: receptionists clear talking and putting reservation in computer
Location: 5 minutes shuttle from airport
236 & 238 are connected rooms, which might be good for families to know about. It was disappointing that they were not available on our way back - though reserved. Another recommendation is to make sure that the receptionist speak a clear and understanding English. I had to call 3 times to make sure a babycot was reserved for us and did not understand the feedback given. Too polite talking & too little clear communication with results. Holing the line a long time aso. In the end everyting was fine.