Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

5.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vero Beach, Florida

Flawless as usual!

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Don't change a thing,
Location: Secluded & private but minutes from Mandela Square. Has a fantastic car service at reasonable prices at the ready.
Professional staff & management, spectacular grounds, great restaurant & beautiful rooms. Great by any standard and looking very forward to my next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mexico

GORGEOUS HOTEL

Posted May 20, 2016
The hotel is sooo beautiful. The staff was super helpful and friendly. As soon as we arrived they gave us a complementary upgrade to the villas (thanks to expedia loyalty) with a complimentary sparkling wine bottle and 30 minute massage. The rooms are very spacious and the bed is super comfortable. The outdoor dinning area is so beautiful with such a great view of the pool and trees and sunset. They have an elegant restaurant that served 8 course tasting menu which was excellent, I would definitely recommend booking in advance. The hotel also helped us organize a private car to take us around the city. Its VIP treatment hotel 100%. It is definitely worth staying here. Im definitely coming back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Africa

Heaven on Earth!!!

Posted Apr 24, 2016
This is by far the nicest hotel in Johannesburg (and I've stayed in many other 5star hotels in the area)!!! I cannot fault a thing, from service to spa treatments and restaurants, everything was perfect and we were treated like royalties! If you can afford it, don't even look further, just book it and you won't regret it :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 27, 2016
I think this hotel is more expensive but fore expedia.com or season has sale, so I am very happy of this trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

At the end of a safari on the way home. Unwinding.

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Perfect for unwinding at the end of a holiday. The 500 restaurant was outstanding. Spent just one full day there. It is among the best hotels I have ever stayed at.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2015 by Derek Martin , Hotel Management
Good Day. Firstly we would like to thank you for making the Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa your last stop of your holiday, by the sounds of your stay you saved the best for last, We really appreciate that you took the time to write this amazing 5 star review, we will make sure that we pass your message of compliments to the entire team here at the Saxon, Once again thank you for staying with us and we really look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, Kind Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Amazon Hotel

Posted Jun 3, 2015
Pros: Setting and staff
Cons: Nothing
Location: We only stayed one night so didn't have the time to venture out.
Fantastic hotel with amazing staff nothing too much trouble. We could not fault.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2015 by Derek Martin , Hotel Management
Good Day, Thank you very much for making the Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa your choice hotel on your recent visit to South Africa and also for taking the time to give us this amazing 5 star review, We are really pleased that we exceeded your expectations during your last visit and we really looking forward to welcome you back to the Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa in the very near future, Kind Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from USA

Perfection.

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: Everything. One of the best hotels in the world.
Cons: Larger gym but was good! I like coffee maker in the room, but not a deal breaker. Maybe more private pool area for hotel guests away from day visitors
Location: Gorgeous setting. Safe. I didn't even want to leave the property.
Perfection. Staff, spa, room, shower (one of the best showers in the world), bed, the setting, food! It does not get much better than the Saxon. Worth every penny.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Derek Martin , Hotel Management
Good Day, Firstly we would like to thank you for selecting the Saxon Hotel on your recent visit to Johannesburg and also for taking the time to write us this amazing 5 star review. We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us and we are really thrilled to hear that you feel your stay was complete value for money. Once again thank you very much for taking the time to write this amazing review and we really look forward to welcoming you back in the near future,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey Hills, UK

Outstanding hotel.

Posted Feb 3, 2015
The Saxon is one of the great hotels in the world. Elegant, discreet, very secure, it is a joy to be there. Outstanding architecture with spectacular interiors. I have returned to it over the past 12 years and look forward to our next stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Derek Martin , Hotel Management
Good Day, Firstly we would like to thank you very much for your continuous support over the last 12 years, it is always great for regulars such as yourselves to give us this amazing 5 star review. Once again we would like to thank you for all the support and we really look forward to welcoming you back to the Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa on your next visit to South Africa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mumbai

It was a very warm and welcoming hotel.

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: The hotel was fully serviced with gym, swimming pool, great food, ;lots of places to relax and super staff.
Cons: the pool was cloudy so i didn't use it.
Location: we didnt get a chance to step out.
We felt very well looked after as though we were at home.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2015 by Derek Martin, Hotel Management
Good Day, Thank you very much for making the Saxon Hotel your home away from home on your recent visit to Johannesburg and also thank you very much for the great 5 star review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that all your expectations were met, we really are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Saxon Hotel in the new year. Kind Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Fabulous place to stay.

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: It's friendliness and detail to all our needs. The car drivers supplied by the hotel were excellent,
Cons: Nothing to improve.
Location: Location is in a lovely part of johannesburg. We went to the Soweto one day and ate the local food,We went to the Apartheid Museum which is a must.
Our stay at The Saxon Johannesburg was fantastic. Staff very courteous and on the ball for anything you needed. Food was first class and so were the evenings sitting out on the Terrace having a cocktail as the sun settled. I felt extremely safe with all aspects of our. Our room had a lovely view over the gardens too. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone,
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2015 by Derek Martin, Hotel Management
Good Day, Thank you very much for selecting the Saxon Hotel as your Hotel of choice on your recent visit to Johannesburg, we are very pleased that your stay surpassed all your expectations and that you really enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for your kind words, we will be sure to pass your message of compliments to the entire team at the Saxon Hotel. We really look forward to welcoming you back to the Saxon Hotel in the new future, Kind Regards