Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Njål Armann

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 2, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North America

Definitely not 5 star

Posted Mar 30, 2016
Pros: Location. Close to the airport, shopping and highways. The reception staff were pleasant and tried to be helpful. Pleasant room cleaning staff.
Cons: General upgrade in interiors, maintenance, food variety and safety, better trained staff in the restaurant, consistency, gate security.
Location: Shopping and restaurants at Eastgate Mall, Bedford centre, Village View centre in Bedfordview.
Location. This is the only reason the hotel worked for me. It is located in a quiet area, familiar to me and close to where I needed to be. At first glance the property looks great. Unfortunately, this does not follow through. The room was just ok, could benefit greatly from an upgrade. Sparse dated interiors, worn stained carpets and upholstery. Poor plumbing. No in room WiFi. Not consistent in replacing toiletries, water etc. Restaurant was hit and miss. Breakfast was on occasion a buffet. Continental breakfast consisted of cereals, fruit, cold cuts, cheese and yogurt. The food and drinks were not kept chilled or properly covered, often visited by flies. Service was practically non existent. The runners on the tables were always dirty, attracting flies. The staff tried to be helpful once asked but, it seemed they could not cope. The restaurant was never busy, especially dinner time. I can see why. I had to wait 40 minutes one evening for the menu to be printed and another 30 minutes to be served. Sad. This hotel has a lot of potential but it is just not functioning properly in any areas. The pool was empty due to a leak and the roof in the hotel was leaking. The shower faucet in one room sprayed all over the bathroom except for inside the shower. There was often no bottled still water available.
1 out of 5
by Christopher from Johannesburg

Stay here at your own peril

Posted Feb 17, 2016 on Hotels
We found that this hotel was anything but a signature Hotel & Spa. We are not quiet sure how it qualifies to be a 4 star hotel. The walls in reception have cracks, the furniture is scuffed and dirty, the grass outside was long and uncut, the pool was green and their were broken tiles in the restaurant. The room provided had old and very used linen. The attitude of management was unaccommodating in any way. I can honestly state that our experience was not great. I would definitely recommend giving this place a miss.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wigan, UK

A friendly home from home experience

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Pros: The receptionist was so helpful and caring. The food was delicious
Cons: As a wet shaver I found the bathroom lighting not quite as good as it could be
Location: Just 20 minutes from the airport
I had experienced a frightful journey by Air France from Paris and was so tired that I could hardly stay awake as I registered at this delightful hotel. The receptionist understood and had noticed my delayed flight on the web site. She told me to get straight off to bed and have a meal whenever I woke up. The dining room staff were delightful and the food was made to order and among the best i have ever eaten. I love this place! The bedroom and bathroom were huge and well fitted out
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful grounds, attentive and courteous staff

Posted Dec 10, 2015 on Hotels
Great for leisure, perhaps not the greatest for business. The WiFi unfortunately left much to be desired, but the attentiveness of the staff, the service provided, and the beauty of the grounds were enough for me to recommend this hotel to family and friends traveling for leisure in Johannesburg.
4 out of 5
by Manuel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 22, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Discreto Hotel non di sicuro 5 stelle !!

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Prodotti per bagno spesso inesistenti , frigo bar vuoto , bagno spesso carente di pulizia ,
4 out of 5
by D J M from Boca Raton

Good place, decent value, clean, safe

Posted Mar 11, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel adjacent to highway, fairly windy drive up the hill in a suburb close to al, you need and in the midst of shopping and restaurant district. Walking out! Car 3 min drive. Good security, safe parking on huge grounds. Room are enormous, all cons on site. Nice pool, friendly staff. One of the better ones in the east of Johannesburg, 10 min off the airport. Will use as base from now, good place. Conference, Golf or other event hotel, very little to do with family or as a couple.
4 out of 5
by Beryl from Byron Bay, Australia


Posted Feb 25, 2015 on Hotels
The basins were not properly sealed and leaked onto the floor underneath. The bath moved and was not properly fitted. Guard dogs on the property next door barked through the night.
1 out of 5
by Jenny from Johannesburg

Do yourself a favour and look elsewhere......

Posted Feb 17, 2015 on Hotels
What a rip off......Pity I can't show you my photos versus those on the website. First appearances are everything and with the grass not cut for about two weeks my first impressions were already tainted. When I enquired why it was so tatty the porter told me it made too much noise for the guests to cut it. Moving onto our room. It was bare but for a bed in the corner and a huge headboard. Two small chairs trying to look big in the other corner with a cheap box print picture on the wall. The mirror was stuck directly to the wall with a bit of paint sticking to it. No showerheads in the shower - just plain pipes. A bath was hiding in another corner and the toilet window had construction dirt all over it. The lighting was either fluorescent or LED's which made the place about as warm and inviting as a school hostel. Having said that, you would be lucky if the light bulb actually worked. When I asked where the rooms where that were depicted on the website, I was told those were superior rooms and mine was only a Luxury Room. Heaven forbid I get a standard room! Would have to bring my own duvet, which probably not a bad ideas as the one on our bed did not go beyond the top of the mattress. Food was excellent but given the cost I should hope so. It was also less than romantic with those fluorescent lights. All round - a complete waste of money and a disappointing Valentines Day "treat".