Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 21, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Giselle from Pretoria

Enjoyable stay

Posted Oct 14, 2015 on Hotels
Staff were very friendly. A la carte menu and food was disappointing. The buffet looked good but we weren't that hungry. No mini bar in room. Linen was cleean and beds comfortable. Bathroom clean. Historic site with beautiful gardens.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Many bedrooms have not been refurbished and are dated and uncomfortable. The gardens are beautiful and the gym and swimming pool are good. Nevertheless the restaurant and reception staff seem to spend a lot of time talking loudly to each other.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from eastbourne UK

lovely old hotel central to Johannesburg

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: The atmosphere of peacefulness.
Cons: I enjoyed my stay as it is and cannot think of anything to be improved.
Location: The location is central to the airport and shopping at the nearby malls of Killarney and Eastgate. Easy to get anywhere in joburg.
This hotel has a lovely character and emits a serenity the minute you you step into the lovely, well kept gardens. It is majestic and well kept reminiscent of a grand hotel in its time. The staff are friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast in the Milner room is fantastic with a tremendous selection catering for all tastes. The overall ambience of the hotel from the peaceful lounge, the smell of the cigar room, the cozy pub and the grand staircase is one of calm and tranquility. The rooms are grand and comfortable. My stay was relaxing and enjoyable, just as I had hoped.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by SANJAY from Mumbai, India

Posted Jul 2, 2015 on Hotels
it was good. The infrastructure is grand.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Kelsey from Seattle

Excellent hotel!!!!

Posted Jun 6, 2015 on Hotels
I had an absolutely wonderful stay in this hotel! The staff made it a perfect experience - Godfrey checked frequently to make sure the wifi was working well, Ernest at the transport desk provided us with local rides & went above & beyond for my friend & I (such as staying with us for about an hour while we were at the car rental place - he translated & double checked that it was all sound), & the rest of the hotel staff was also incredible :) The buffets had many options & the room was very quiet at night. Very happy with my stay here!!!!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Elmeka from Philadelphia, USA.

Nope. Noppity nope.

Posted May 8, 2015 on Hotels
Well...first I scheduled an airport pick up and no one showed up. I ended up getting there by taxi because no one from the hotel answered the phone when I called. The room was okay, but smelled of mildew and there was a stain on the floor. The bathroom was not thoroughly cleaned, as there were two dirty towels under the sink. I was going to make myself tea and the kettle was disgusting. There was water left in it and it had been contaminated. Nevermind. When I left the next morning, I removed the bed covers to find my son's sock and found mouse pellets instead. I will never stay here again. The only good thing was the bartended in the pub downstairs. He was funny and the wine was good. I am not, by any standard, posh. I've stayed in hostels and guest houses. But for what I paid for this room, I will never pay that much to stay in filth again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Tuomo from Helsinki

Historian tuntua!

Posted Apr 20, 2015 on Hotels
Hieman päästetty kulumaan, muuten makee paikka!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by LEN

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 2, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

my stay at the hotel

Posted Jan 23, 2015 on Hotels
My stay was excellent. Only that i wasnt pleased with the front desk i saw on my arrival. She was wasnt happy at all. But overally the stay was fantastik