Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sunnyside Park Hotel

Posted Dec 1, 2017
My booking through Expedia was not registered on their system. They had no idea I was booked into the hotel. When I showed them the confirmation from Expedia, they found me a room. The explanation given was that Expedia had used the incorrect email address to make the booking and yet my colleague had booked through Expedia and there was no problem with his booking. They had no card key for me because their card reading machine had broken. I had to be escorted to my room each time I needed to get in. The hotel took a deposit of R500 from my credit card when I checked in and yet I was told at dinner and the bar that I had to pay cash. When I told the staff that I had given a credit card deposit when checking in, they showed me a list on which my name appeared with instructions that I had to pay cash. Very awkward and inconvenient. The hotel is a beautiful old building but it is run down and tired. It needs a lot of maintenance. The aircon kept switching itself off and a technician had to be called to re-set it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lagos

Good hotel in pleasant surroundings

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: Reception and restaurant staff were very good. Made our stay very comfortable.
Cons: Room service does need improvement
Reception staff were very good and went out of their way to accommodate requests. Hotel environment is very pleasant with good security. Buffet breakfast was good. Room service needs improvement - sometimes wrong order delivered.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel convenient location

Posted Aug 26, 2017
I stayed here because it was on a recommended list from conference organizers at Wits School of Education. Breakfast and pub staff were friendly. Decor and landscaping were colonial style. Wish the shower door had a better seal; it leaked a bit. Overall it's a nice 3.5 star hotel. People who want 4-5 stars should stay in Sandton.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by Louisa, Hotel Management
Dear Bridget Thank you for your recent visit to Sunnyside Park Hotel. We appreciate you taking time to write to us. We have started with renovations of the bathrooms to give it a modern look and feel We look forward to having you stay with us again when your travels bring to Johannesburg again Sincerely, Louisa
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely hotel and grounds.

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: comfortable
Cons: Not much
Location: nothing much nearby, took a taxi from the hotel to the nearest Mall £30 round trip bit expensive
A good stay ate in the hotel a few times food was delicious
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Sunnyside Park Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Jane, Thank you for your recent visit to Sunnyside Park Hotel. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate you taking time to write to us, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We will also speak to our Transport company to have a look at their shuttle rates. We look forward to welcoming you back.
4 out of 5
by Johann

Posted Jun 25, 2017 on Hotels
Great value!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: Staff very helpful and friendly. Meal standard good.
Spent two nights at the hotel prior to catching the train to Cape Town. Didn't venture out on our own but enjoyed an escorted day out seeing Johannesburg , Soweto and the Anti Apartheid Museum.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Anita

Posted May 1, 2016 on Hotels
Time at the hotel, we did enjoy.We are not cavary people, but we had try it one night. Not so great
4 out of 5
by Liziwe Xoliswa from Cape Town

Posted Mar 6, 2016 on Hotels
This Hotel is in a perfect location. Has beautiful surroundings and is close to the Constitutional Court but it is old inside, the carpets are really dirty; the bed is wobbly and I didn't have a restful sleep. My body was sore.