Ratings based on 231 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from malawi

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Nice hotel but they dont have phones in the rooms that makes it had for family to rich guest
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX, USA

Good hotel near JNB airport

Posted Jun 18, 2017
Pros: Clean accommodations. Friendly staff! Good breakfast.
Cons: I liked the Sunrock as is, and plan to stay again next time I'm flying through JNB.
Location: The Sunrock can help set up half day and day long tours. The list of options is on their website.
We were staying in JNB for just under 24 hours and wanted some place close to the airport that included transportation. The Sunrock was perfect! The staff were very pleasant, helpful, and accommodating. They even helped us set up a half day tour rather last minute and leave our bags so that we could see a little bit of Johannesburg before our next flight. Oh! My ATM card was not working at the airport. Fortunately, I was able to easily change currency at a decent rate at the hotel!
5 out of 5
by Yvonne

Great stop over for airport

Posted Jun 3, 2017 on Hotels
We had an overnight stay between flights. This was a great place as it was close to the airport, airport transfers were included in the price and a buffet dinner was available at a reasonable price for quality food. There is a fantastic open plan lounge/dining/bar area with sporting memorabilia, harley bikes, wildlife trophies etc and two open wood burning stoves - great place to relax with or without a drink. No where of interest within walking distance so you would need transport if it was more than a stopover or organise a day trip with the accommodation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 14, 2017 on Wotif
A great place to stay if you need to be near the Joburg airport. The extra bonus is being picked up and dropped back to the airport even for a very early morning flight. Thank you
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
Good internet, nice pool
4 out of 5
by NORMAN

Great Airport Stopover

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful attention and service from a family run guesthouse. Neighborhood is not great, but passing through the gate you are in a beautiful, peaceful compound. Great dining area, pool, bar- all you need. Rooms are spotless and well equipped. My only criticism is a very spotty wifi performance.
5 out of 5
by Kathleen

Excellent value and warm reception

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
Although we had a little trepidation upon entering the grounds with our patient and punctual shuttle driver, we were warmly greeted and pleasantly surprised with this hidden secure oasis! The rooms were very clean, beds were very comfortable with plush bath towels and toilet supplies that included an insect repellent .....and a delicious breakfast with made to order eggs in a charming seating area. We enjoyed a delicious recommended bottle of wine at a delightful bar after settling into our rooms, and we're entertained by Arthur (owner) and provided with valuable insights and directions for our travels to Kruger the next day! We did not partake in the featured buffet but other guests indicated it was delicious... Appreciated the free airport shuttle, filling breakfast, comfortable accommodations and very personable service - all at a very reasonable price! Would highly recommend if flying into or out of J'berg!!
4 out of 5
by Mrs S M

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel itself was a little tired but the bar area with log fire was very friendly & atmospheric. The staff were extremely friendly & helpful. Unfortunately it was in a very bad area & I was quite uncomfortable due to this. That said it was an sir port hotel for a one night only stay.
4 out of 5
by Purnendu

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing little gem!

Posted Feb 4, 2017
We loved it ! Great place clean fun and so quaint!! Felt at home and at ease!!!