Ratings based on 6 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Windhoek

Our Thaba Eco Experience

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Pros: It is like an oasis inside Johannesburg. You are away from the highways and the hustle and bustle of Johannesburg.
Cons: Our only complaint is the staff member that assist us at check in; the other staff were friendly and accommodating.
Location: The location is close to some malls and shopping areas. The location is great if you want to get away from the hectic Joburg lifestyle.
We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The rooms were great, the restaurant food was delicious and most of the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Our only problem we encountered was at check in. The gentlemen helping us was unfriendly and he gave us the standard room instead of the luxury room. We were too busy to lodge a complaint and be moved to another room, so we stayed. I had booked the luxury room at a discount on Experia, but he gave us the standard room, perhaps to save money? The room we had was not bad, though. The hot water could have been hotter, but I read that they use solar geysers and we were showering before the sun came up, so that could be the reason why. Overall we would most definitely stay there again, but this time we will make sure we are given the correct room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel, excellent staff!

Posted Jan 13, 2016
Loved the whole Eco experience. Make sure you get a guided tour of the grounds.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2016 by Taryn H, Hotel Management
Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our hotel to other travellers. Kind regards Thaba Eco Hotel Taryn Heggie Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Understaffed, beautiful hotel

Posted Jan 2, 2015
We stayed at Thaba Eco hotel for New Years eve. We were given the incorrect room and had to wait 30min before we were taken to our correct room, I was irritated after that because I had to ask three times to get moved to the correct room.There was no soap and I had to phone twice to get soap. The room was beautiful and it is a magical place and I understand it was a busy evening but I feel they were understaffed and our needs as guests were neglected, therefore I would not recommend Thaba Eco hotel to anyone I know.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2015 by Taryn H, Hotel Management
Dear Maam or Sir We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for raising your concerns and bringing important areas for improvement to our attention. It is very important for us at Thaba Eco Hotel to be aware of such feedback and to ensure that our valued customers are always our first and foremost priority. We would like to respond to your feedback as follows: We apologies that you were placed in the incorrect room and waited for a far to long period to be placed in the correct suite. We have raised the issues with the housekeeping manager regarding the soap that was not in the suite. Our aim at Thaba Eco Hotel is to offer our clients an unforgettable experience and look forward to having them back for all special occasions. Please do not hesitate to contact me should you require any further assistance. Kind regards Taryn Heggie Reservations Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Good hotel near Johannesburg

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Easy to find. Secure location. Nicely appointed and spacious rooms. A couple of minor issues regarding missing coffee and toiletries but otherwise faultless. Staff helpful. Good quality restaurant on site. Easy journey to Airport.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Taryn Heggie, Hotel Management
Dear JT WOW thank you for the review. We are glad that we have an easy to find secure location. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Johannesburg

It's was good

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Same of the hotel furniture and accessories are not working
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Taryn Heggie, Hotel Management
Dear I like quality on Expedia We are terribly sorry that some of the accessories and hotel furniture where not working in the suite you occupied. Thanks to your feedback our maintenance team have gone through the hotel rooms to ensure this does not happen again. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Wonderful hotel away from Johannesburg

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: The suites are luxurious with comfortable beds and fine linens. The service is impeccable, food delicious and the grounds are nicely kept.
Location: Thaba is located about 30km from the heart of Johannesburg. It is surrounded by hilly terrain and has beautiful views of the area.
Thaba provides a perfect getaway from the huge, noisy city of Johannesburg. We spent three night there after a hectic 10-day safari - a great way to unwind.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Taryn Heggie, Hotel Management
Dear Mary We are extremely pleased that Thaba Eco Hotel provided a perfect getaway for you to unwind after your hectic travels. We are truly blessed to be surrounded by the wonderful environment we are in. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to South Africa.