Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

2.5 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by ABIODUN

My stay was fine and good

Posted May 18, 2017 on Hotels
My stay was ok and good. I will to stay there again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor experience - significant decline over a year

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: The staff were friendly
Cons: Better internet, better supervision of room keepers. Beddings were not being changed routinely.
Location: Close to where I was visiting in Johannesburg.
I visited this hotel last year, had a good experience and looked forward to staying there on my visit this year. It was relatively affordable for me. However, the facilities seem to have taken a nosedive in a year. Internet never seemed to work consistently in the Hotel despite this being one of the points of advertisement. When it did work, it was only in the reception. Likewise, there was a musky smell on the corridors of the hotel.
1 out of 5
by Shawn

Bad hotel

Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Hotels
It was in the roughest area
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Shawn, Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Sincerely, General Manager Devonshire
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 29, 2017 on Hotels
Not great
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable beds

Posted Oct 15, 2016 on Hotels
Apart from the absence of the "Free WiFi" they claim to offer, the overall experience was fairly good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the review of the Devonshire Hotel. Your feedback is appreciated and will be reviewed. We look forward to welcoming you once again in the very near future. Warm Regards Staff and Management The Devonshire Hotel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Devonshire Jo'burg

Posted Sep 25, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is located in a bustling area. You have to be very heads up in Jo'burg.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Vaued Guest, Thank you for your stay at the Devonshire Hotel. We welcome your feedback. We do hope that you will visit us in the near future. Warm Regards Staff and Management The Devonshire Hotel
1 out of 5
by Barbara

Very dissappointed.

Posted Aug 22, 2016 on Hotels
Unable to book in as reception did not allow online payment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Barbara, Thank you for taking the time to review The Devonshire Hotel following your stay with us. We would like to thank you for your feedback. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience that you encountered when checkin in. We have had problems with our WIFI and it is being attended to. We value your support and look forward to your next visit. Warm Regards Staff and Management Devonshire Hotel
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was under major renovation and the key card machine was broken, so hotel staff had to escort people to allow them entry to their rooms every time they came in and out. Wifi was inconsistent. The conditions of the stay were frustrating, but front line staff were friendly and supportive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review the Devonshire Hotel on your recent visit. We value your feedback and therefore would like to apologise for any inconvenience that you may have encountered on this occasion. We can only express the hope that it will not deter you from using the Orion Hotels and that your future stay will exceed your expectations. Warm Regards Staff and Management The Devonshire Hotel
1 out of 5
by Godfrey from Durban

Horrible stay, DON'T EVER stay here!!!!

Posted Jun 29, 2016 on Hotels
horrible, will never recommend this hotel. torn curtains, paid for breakfast but was told that this did not include breakfast. anyway, would not even want to eat here, looking at the room and looking at the staff ironing outside my door.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Godfrey, Thank you for taking the time to review The Devonshire Hotel following your stay. We would like to apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your visit. Kindly note that we have room only specials on online platforms and a lot of times, people seem to miss this tiny detail which can have a big impact on the day of your visit. There was no staff ironing outside your door but they were also guests, we do apologise for this. We do hope that you will afford us the opportunity to win back your most valued business. Warm Regards Staff and Management The Devonshire Hotel
3 out of 5
by Ntate from Standerton

Horrible experince

Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
Really bed when I got there there was no one but the security guard at reception because the receptionist had gone drinking at the close by night clubs... he eventually got there but couldn't check me in for another two hours, he was so drunk he kept on sending me to a couple of rooms that were not cleaned and one of the rooms looked like it still had guests because there were personal belongings. after the search for the room ended eventually I had to wait for him another 45 minutes to open the garage for the parking area because he was busy attacking my friends physically. when I got to the room it had no towels whatsoever. his name is Lebo
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Ntate, Thank you for taking the time to review The Devonshire Hotel following your stay. We would like to apologise immensely for your experience and we can assure you that this is not standard at our Hotel. The person you are referring to is going under disciplinary hearing as this is not acceptable. We do hope that you will afford us the opportunity to win back your most valued business. Warm Regards Staff and Management The Devonshire Hotel