Ratings based on 324 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sussex uk

Excellent hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Excellent hotel in great location Always good high standard of facilities and food
5 out of 5
by Andreas

Very convenient hotel

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
I have been back 3 times now, always enjoy the Michelangelo, the area around the Mandela Square are just great for shopping and dining. One issue that must be addressed and that is the very poor toilette flush. ZA has extreme water issues yet a leading hotel cannot sort out a decent toilet flush and this with 'one flush'
5 out of 5
by Alan

One of the best hotels I've stayed at

Posted Mar 14, 2017 on Hotels
One of the best hotels I have stayed at. The position is great on Nelson Mandela square linking with Sandton City shopping complex. 5 minute walk from the Gautrain that takes you to the O. R Tambo international airport. The rooms are spacious and have an old world charm. The facilities including the gym and indoor pool are impressive. BUT the most impressive thing about this hotel is the staff. Friendly, efficient and helpful. It's worth going back just for them
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Johannesburg

Room looked out to Nelson Mandela Square, Sandton

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Always greated with friendly wanting to help staff, which made us continually feel very well taken care of.
5 out of 5
by Steve

Posted Jan 15, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent area, all in walking distance. Hotel's close to train from airport.
5 out of 5
by Mohomed

World renowned

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
It met all my expectations
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No Business -Check if Full

Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Hotels
We booked a room for two inclusive of Breakfast @ £220. The Hotel is a very high standard and based on a previous stay I wanted to take my wife. The hotel staff are very amenable. We had two points that disappointed us; 1. Limited Wifi Data as free Wifi 2. Breakfast room was full and had breakfast in main bar area. No breakfast menu was offered.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Staff - Poor Wifi

Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Hotels
Was disappointed to have a small cap on data on the free Wifi. At the price per room reasonable data allowance should be given as standard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Great location and service

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Best location for the business traveller in Johannesburg. Close to most businesses and good quality hotel and service. Would recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Best hotel ever

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: everything from the service to cleanliness, hotel's architect was astonishing
Cons: the spa massage wasn't so good
Location: loved the convenience of shops
the hotel was state of the art exquisite. Service was phenomenal and food was delicious