Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Wished we could've stayed longer...

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Location: Although we didn't have time to explore, we could tell the hotel was situated in a very nice, safe area.
Wonderful, quiet room with private terrace which was equipped with outdoor shower. Comfortable bed and large bathroom. Restaurant was excellent--friendly, attentive service, interesting menu and very detailed presentation. The entire hotel is warm and inviting. I would wholeheartedly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Excellent Funky Hotel

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Great place - stayed for one night. Felt very safe and the place is full of character!
Cons: Nothing - we stayed on the top level and there wasn't any lifts (that we saw), but it was an easy walk.
Location: We didn't leave.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful Hotel, Terrible Service and Attitude

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: Beautiful setting
Cons: Service not commensurate with the category the hotel try to play in, bad attitude.
This is a hotel that bills itself as a luxury boutique hotel, and it is as far as the location goes, the service however is by far not matching it, and the bad attitude is only making it worse. I reserved for a luxury suite, and at check-in was presented with a sort of window gallery open to the swimming pool with absolutely no privacy, and no safety as essentially public walkways of the hotels had direct access to all my windows and glass doors. As I politely indicated that I could not take this kind of accommodation, the staff found me another suite, and although I was willing to pay for it, a young staff member (trainee?) indicated that the upgrade was complimentary and that he was happy that they could find something acceptable, to which I indicated that I was much obliged and thankful. Nothing wrong with that, except that at check-out, the price of the upgrade was included. When I asked what that was, I was sternly told that the upgrade was at that cost, and when I told about the staff person telling me that it was complimentary, after a long time debating in some back room, I was told that it was not right, and served a convoluted story about the upgrade being for my original luxury suite to the one I was presented at check-in (remember the one that had the privacy of a train station). And when I caught the staff in question, who was trying to hide as I was leaving, had even the nerve to tell the same story looking me in the eye telling me that he wasn't going to argue
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Amazing in every way!

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Everything was perfect! I see why it is rated so high. The staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms were huge and well decorated. The hotel was quiet and relaxing. Exactly what we were hoping for after a long flight. We wish we had stayed another night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin,Tx

Oasis

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: All above.
We came the first time for a night and found oasis in the big city. We came back after few days again and we were looking forward to come back for another night and a day. It's a such relaxing place with excellent staff. The restaurant is so good that you don't need to think of any other place to go for the lunch or dinner. The transportation from airport to the hotel is excelent.Looking forward to come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Missouri

great place!

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: Everything!
This hotel is beautiful and comfortable and feels very safe. The restaurant is lovely and the service is great. The spa on the rooftop was heavenly-great view, beautiful flowers, and wonderful massage. The gift shop was also very nice, with well-priced and fashionable items. The driver, Nhlanhla, who picked us up and delivered us to airport was kind and professional. The vehicle was first class as well. I highly recommend this property and would love to stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA.

Excellent luxury hotel in Joburg.

Posted Mar 16, 2016
Location: Basically central Joburg. An excellent neighborhood and we felt very safe. They arranged all car transport, so no taxis were needed.
Beautifully furnished with antiques. Large room with separate sitting area and Jacuzzi on the terrace. Hyper friendly staff, great assistance with tours, sightseeing and arranging car transportation by the friendly hotel staff. Great restaurant with excellent meals and wine. Great full English breakfast. Honestly, cannot recommend with more enthusiasm. Try it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best hotel we have ever

Posted Feb 28, 2016
We traveled from the US and stayed here based on reviews. It far exceeded our expectations. The service and attention to detail were amazing. I would highly recommend this Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Quiet get away

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Pros: Very friendly and accomodating staff. Everyone was working to help or make your stay comfortable. Drivers are available for tours and drop offs.
Location: It is in a residential area and it is very quiet. Near the final Mandela home. A small mall is within walking distance. Every thing else is a drive.
We stayed two nights. We had a nice chat with the owner. This hotel is 5 years old and composed of 3 separate homes tied into one facility. This explains the 3 separate pools. it is 30 minutes from the Airport and 15 minutes north of downtown in the section of town called Houghton.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Beautiful boutique hotel in a upscale suburb

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Spacious and comfortable rooms, enjoyable outdoor shower and bath in the suites, great service both in the restaurant and spa, and friendly hospitality. Highly recommend for a unpretentious stay in jburg.