Ratings based on 165 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denmark

Best hotel in Joburg!

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: The staff, the ambiance, the food and the over all experience.
Cons: Honestly nothing worth mentioning.
Location: We went downtown several days for dinner, and it was an easy 5-10 min drive.
We work in the travel and hospitality industry, and this was by fare one of the best experiences we have EVER had. The Residence is exactly that. A place to call home. A place you never want to leave. The staff went above and beyond for us and were the most friendly, skilled and service minded we have ever experiences. This was truly a wonderful stay and I can only recommend this hotel to everyone visiting Joburg.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by Aaron, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your amazing review, we really appreciate you comments and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at The Residence. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and hope to welcome you back some day soon. Thank you once again and all the very best from The Residence team.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A hotel that feels like a home

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Cons: Late night room service.
My only regret is that I didn't get the residence boutique to pick me up from the airport - to ensure the smooth stream of excellent service we received from the moment we arrived at the hotel. I would advise anybody to use their transport services, its affordable and gives one a sense of security and elegance that you don't get from an Uber Black. After being poured a glass of bubbly and asked some short questions, check in was done! No need for lengthy forms or waits (even though we arrived early for check in). The hotel and room decorations are wonderfully classic old school, without getting too heavy handed. There's a wonderful use of space so that you feel more like you are in a forest maison than in residencial Johannesburg. We had lunch at the restaurant, and everything was impecable. The tempura prawn was particularly delicious. But mostly I would have to commend the ever attentive, ever present staff. It was a wonderful stay, and I have already heartily recommended the lodge to my friends.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2017 by Aaron , Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review we really appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at The Residence. We hope to welcome you and your friends in the near future and would like to wish you all the very best from the team.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

A great hotel in Johannesburg

Posted Mar 19, 2017
The Residence Inn is located in the upclass neighborhood of Houghton where Nelson Mandela had his home and where his wife still resides. The neighborhood is full of muti-million dollar homes and perfectly safe for walking. There is a modern shopping mall nearby, and the staff will take you there. The food and service were excellent. My wife and I staid in the Penthouse from which we had a view over the tops of neighboring homes. The Penthouse has a deck measuring a couple thousand square feet that has a hot tub, dining table for four, a sitting area for four and a swinging chair all arranged beautifully with tropical plants. We enjoyed breakfast on the terrace every morning and unwound in the hot tub in the evening. I strongly recommend the Residence Inn.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2017 by Aaron, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review, we really do appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Residence. It was an absolute pleasure hosting you and hope to welcome you back some day in the near future.
5 out of 5
by nicola

Posted Jan 24, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2017
Thank you so much, we really appreciate it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Great experience here - the staff is really phenomenal and the food was excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2017 by Aaron, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at The Residence. Thank you once again and all the very best from The Residence team.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 13, 2017 on Hotels
Exceptional personalized service. Seamlessy arranged our pickup form airport and next-day departure to incorporate a museum visit before returning to airport. Heated outdoor pool was a treat. Dining experience in hotel was extremely pleasant: comfortable uncrowded tables, excellent food.
4 out of 5
by Nuno

Clean and lexurious hotel. Fantastic service

Posted Dec 31, 2016 on Hotels
Clean and lexurious hotel. Fantastic service
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2017
Thank you so much, we really appreciate your review.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Absolutely Amazing hotel!!

Posted Nov 26, 2016 on Hotels
We travelled for our 25th wedding anniversary and stayed one night. From airport pick-up (with free wi-fi in the car) it was 5-star luxury all the way!! The rooms are gorgeous, the staff is fantastic and the service is top notch! Best turn-down service EVER! No ordinary breakfast buffet, oh no they serve every table with its own buffet tray!! The private jacuzzi was the reason we picked this hotel and we are so glad we did - one of the best hotels we have ever stayed at. The only thing I would change is to have a vanity table with a stool, mirror and electric outlet so you can sit down and do your hair and make up instead of standing at the bathroom mirror with the hairdryer plugged into the shaver!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2017
Thank you so much for your review and feedback, we really appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at The Residence. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and hope to welcome you back some day in the near future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 22, 2016 on Hotels
It was stunning. The staff was so very attentive. It was literally perfect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2017
Thank you so much, we really appreciate your review but most importantly that you enjoyed your experience at The Residence. Thank you once again and all the very best from the team.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfection

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
This is a beautiful hotel in a residential area. It is a short ride to downtown. The staff was wonderful. They could not do enough to for us. Breakfast was delicious.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2017
Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at The Residence. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and hope to welcome you back some day in the near future.