Ratings based on 172 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston

Best hotel in the city

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Each room is unique and the staff is extraordinary! Nothing is too much to ask. The entire staff especially Moses were the best group I have ever seen. I travel a lot personally and on business and this is the best hotel that I have EVER stayed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by Nicole Botes - Reservations, Hotel Management
Good day, Thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and I will pass the review on to the team. We hope to welcome you back to The Residence in the near future. Keep well and have a lovely week.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Hospitality at it's absolute BEST

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Everything!!! Rooms, service, location, hospitality.. EVERYTHING!
Cons: Asking for any better would be asking for Heaven. Nothing I can think of
Location: The Mall was great. Use their tour guide to get around town, totally worth the cost.
I truly have to give 6 starts to the folks at The Residence, This was an AMAZING stay. The staff was absolutely outstanding from the moment we arrived to the moment we left, catering to our every need as if we had known each other for years. Special thanks to Mr. Warren and Ms. Charity for all they did for us. Words cannot explain how grateful my sisters and I are for all your care and attention. One of my sisters was going through a very difficult time, hence the reason for our brief getaway and you all made my efforts worth every second of the trip! This Residence is truly "boutique" in every sense of the word. This will definitely be my new 'home" when ever I visit Johannesburg.. and believe me, I shall be back! :-)! Best regards, Dr. Gwen (and her 2 sisters :-))
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2017 by Aaron, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your amazing review, we really appreciate it. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and look forward to welcoming you all back. Warren & Charity send their regards and thank you once again from all of us here at The Residence.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denmark

Best hotel in Joburg!

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: The staff, the ambiance, the food and the over all experience.
Cons: Honestly nothing worth mentioning.
Location: We went downtown several days for dinner, and it was an easy 5-10 min drive.
We work in the travel and hospitality industry, and this was by fare one of the best experiences we have EVER had. The Residence is exactly that. A place to call home. A place you never want to leave. The staff went above and beyond for us and were the most friendly, skilled and service minded we have ever experiences. This was truly a wonderful stay and I can only recommend this hotel to everyone visiting Joburg.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by Aaron, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your amazing review, we really appreciate you comments and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at The Residence. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and hope to welcome you back some day soon. Thank you once again and all the very best from The Residence team.
5 out of 5
by Abdullah

Great experience

Posted Apr 7, 2017 on Hotels
Simply, a great and amazing experience!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2017
Thank you so much, we really appreciate your comments. All the very best from The Residence team.
5 out of 5
by Brett

WOW

Posted Apr 6, 2017 on Hotels
Best hotel I have ever stayed in. Unbelievable architecture. Must be seen to be believed and I had the lowest category room. How it is not a member of the LHW I don't know.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2017
Thank you so much for your amazing review, we really appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at The Residence. Thank you once again and all the very best from the team.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A hotel that feels like a home

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Cons: Late night room service.
My only regret is that I didn't get the residence boutique to pick me up from the airport - to ensure the smooth stream of excellent service we received from the moment we arrived at the hotel. I would advise anybody to use their transport services, its affordable and gives one a sense of security and elegance that you don't get from an Uber Black. After being poured a glass of bubbly and asked some short questions, check in was done! No need for lengthy forms or waits (even though we arrived early for check in). The hotel and room decorations are wonderfully classic old school, without getting too heavy handed. There's a wonderful use of space so that you feel more like you are in a forest maison than in residencial Johannesburg. We had lunch at the restaurant, and everything was impecable. The tempura prawn was particularly delicious. But mostly I would have to commend the ever attentive, ever present staff. It was a wonderful stay, and I have already heartily recommended the lodge to my friends.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2017 by Aaron , Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review we really appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at The Residence. We hope to welcome you and your friends in the near future and would like to wish you all the very best from the team.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

A great hotel in Johannesburg

Posted Mar 19, 2017
The Residence Inn is located in the upclass neighborhood of Houghton where Nelson Mandela had his home and where his wife still resides. The neighborhood is full of muti-million dollar homes and perfectly safe for walking. There is a modern shopping mall nearby, and the staff will take you there. The food and service were excellent. My wife and I staid in the Penthouse from which we had a view over the tops of neighboring homes. The Penthouse has a deck measuring a couple thousand square feet that has a hot tub, dining table for four, a sitting area for four and a swinging chair all arranged beautifully with tropical plants. We enjoyed breakfast on the terrace every morning and unwound in the hot tub in the evening. I strongly recommend the Residence Inn.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2017 by Aaron, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review, we really do appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Residence. It was an absolute pleasure hosting you and hope to welcome you back some day in the near future.
5 out of 5
by g

Total Luxury with boutique charm

Posted Feb 12, 2017 on Hotels
Total luxury with a small boutique atmosphere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2017
Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at The Residence. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and hope to welcome you back some day in the near future. Thank you once again and all the very best from The Residence team.
5 out of 5
by nicola

Posted Jan 24, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2017
Thank you so much, we really appreciate it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Great experience here - the staff is really phenomenal and the food was excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2017 by Aaron, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at The Residence. Thank you once again and all the very best from The Residence team.