Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Perfect boutique hotel in Joburg

Posted Jan 9, 2017
This was a highlight of our 3 week trip to South Africa. The Winston is gorgeous, chic, and inviting. The beds are super comfy and I loved how each room was decorated individually. The staff were so helpful and inviting. Every time we walked into or past the lobby, someone greeted us. The grounds are quaint, quiet, and extremely clean. The breakfast and lunch menus were great and we enjoyed the service in the restaurant. We enjoyed chatting with Timothy and Bheki while having a glass of wine in the evenings - they were so sweet and shared stories of the South African culture with us. Thanks to the Winston for a fabulous stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Istanbul

One Of The Best In South Africa

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: The attitude of staff.
Location: It is very close to Rosebank mall and you can walk there during daytime.
This year, I have stayed more than 20 hotel all around the world. The Winston Hotel hotel is by far the best hotel according to its price and its offerings. I have stayed 4 nights in this hotel for my business trip in Johannesburg. It is an old hotel but it is as you finished your safari and come here to stay and relax. The staff is especially very friendly and helpful for your all requests. The hotel is very clean and tidy. I may not know I can go and visit Johannesburg again but if I had chance I will stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit, Michigan

Short stay.

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: Very comfortable.
Cons: Difficult to locate when driving.
Nice hotel. Very comfortable. Friendly staff. Only there for one night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but staff can be nicer

Posted Sep 25, 2016
The hotel is very good but rooms lack privacy and it's a bit noisy. You can hear the people in the terrace downstairs even if your room windows are closed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Wonderful boutique hotel

Posted Mar 25, 2016
Pros: intimate luxurious place.
Cons: we were happy!
Location: mall with shops, banking facilities, plethora of restaurants, lively market outdoors with performers and African arts
Aside from being an excellent hotel with attentive service, the arrangements for airport pick up and sightseeing the following day with a superb driver/guide are recommendable. We also enjoyed the location for our short stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2016 by Guest Relations - Winston Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Ulla, On behalf of The Winston Hotel, we would like to thank you for staying with us and for your kind review. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel just off the well beaten path

Posted Mar 7, 2016
The Winston is tucked away a stone's throw off a main drag, just two blocks from the Rosebank Gautrain (light rail) station and a large shopping mall. The grounds are well kept but not spacious, and the staff is welcoming and attentive. The room was comfortably furnished, with a large tiled bath and 4 post bed. The only negative was that the hotel is tucked away on a obscure sidestreet cabbies are unfamiliar with, so until one gets his/her bearings, it can be hard to find despite its good location. Once you learn were you are, the location seems pretty good, especially on the way out of town, when you can catch a 30 minute light rail train to the airport, during a paralytic rush hour,
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2016 by Guest Relations Manager - The Winston Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Jeff, On behalf of The Winston Hotel, I would like to thank you for staying with us and for your lovely review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again soon. With warm regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Feb 29, 2016
Only issue is more usb connections in the room to charge phones if you don't have a SA adapter.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2016 by Guest Relations Manager - The Winston Hotel, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for your review. We do offer adapters at reception. Hope to welcome you back again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cypress, TX

Absolutely Gorgeous!

Posted Feb 17, 2016
Pros: Amenities. Hotel restaurant and bar are impressive!
Cons: Everything was wonderful!
Location: Shopping mall and train station nearby but does not feel safe after dark to walk there.
This hotel feels as if you're staying in an Italian villa! Super sexy hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2016 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Eileen, Thank you for your review! We hope to welcome you back again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Lovely place, the staff were very nice and friendly, the room clean and spacious with a very large bathroom that had both a shower and bath.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2016 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
On behalf of The Winston Hotel, we would like to thank you for staying with us and for the lovely review. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york ny

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Beautiful hotel. Fabulous breakfast. Charming place to stay. Wish we could have spent more time at the Winston.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2016 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Ally, behalf of The Winston Hotel, I would like to thank you for staying with us and for the lovely review. We hope to welcome you back again soon.