Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Istanbul

One Of The Best In South Africa

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: The attitude of staff.
Location: It is very close to Rosebank mall and you can walk there during daytime.
This year, I have stayed more than 20 hotel all around the world. The Winston Hotel hotel is by far the best hotel according to its price and its offerings. I have stayed 4 nights in this hotel for my business trip in Johannesburg. It is an old hotel but it is as you finished your safari and come here to stay and relax. The staff is especially very friendly and helpful for your all requests. The hotel is very clean and tidy. I may not know I can go and visit Johannesburg again but if I had chance I will stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detroit, Michigan

Short stay.

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: Very comfortable.
Cons: Difficult to locate when driving.
Nice hotel. Very comfortable. Friendly staff. Only there for one night.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but staff can be nicer

Posted Sep 25, 2016
The hotel is very good but rooms lack privacy and it's a bit noisy. You can hear the people in the terrace downstairs even if your room windows are closed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cordoba ( España)

Elegante y bonito

Posted Sep 4, 2016
No tiene las instalaciones propias de los grandes hoteles ( gimnasio , piscina grande, etc) pero la habitación tiene todos los detalles posibles y el restaurante y el personal magníficos
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by EMANUEL TEIXEIRA from Brasília

Nice neighbourhood

Posted Aug 25, 2016 on Hotels
The Winston Hotel is a small boutique hotel in a residencial suburb of Johannesburg. It is a few blocks away from Gautrain Station (an easy way to get to OR Tambo Airport or to explore the city). The region seems pretty safe, although the hotel has a gate and my taxi spent a few minutes waiting for the hotel staff to open it. The check-in was quick, but the front desk staff seemed to be quite indifferent. They did not explain about the hotel services and as I asked for some touristic orientation, they just handled me some flyers. Anyway, the hotel has a beautiful swimming pool and all the rooms are around this area. The room itself was spacious and had a very well harmonized safari decoration. The bathroom was well-outfitted, with L'Occitane en Provence toiletries. The breakfast was just reasonable, but as the rest of the hotel, the restaurant is quite typical. It closes really early in the evening, so be prepared to have dinner at 18pm. The hotel does not have a fitness center, but you may use the one located at Rosebank Mall for 150 rands a day. Although the hotel website mentioned a transfer to the airport (or anywhere you plans to go in the city), I had some trouble in scheduling it. I did not get the transfer to the airport and with some insistence, they took me to Gautrain Station nearby. I also asked for a late check out (2 hours) and had to pay 600 rands for it. Due to all of that, I must say service was not what I expected of a five star establishment.
5 out of 5
by Chloe from Raleigh

Luxurious, comfortable stay

Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
Can't wait to stay at The Winston again. Fantastic restaurant, lovely rooms, great service - this hotel had it all.
5 out of 5
by Kelly

Loved the decor

Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Hotels
Shopping getaway
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful boutique hotel

Posted Mar 25, 2016
Pros: intimate luxurious place.
Cons: we were happy!
Location: mall with shops, banking facilities, plethora of restaurants, lively market outdoors with performers and African arts
Aside from being an excellent hotel with attentive service, the arrangements for airport pick up and sightseeing the following day with a superb driver/guide are recommendable. We also enjoyed the location for our short stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2016 by Guest Relations - Winston Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Ulla, On behalf of The Winston Hotel, we would like to thank you for staying with us and for your kind review. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
5 out of 5
by Caroline from Tunbridge wells

Lovely oasis

Posted Mar 20, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely friendly hotel. It has a classics feel about it in its furnishing and ambience. It is small and friendly. It is great for couples and families. 5 minutes from railway station. Would definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dear Caroline, On behalf of The Winston Hotel, I would like to thank you for staying with us and for your lovely review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again soon. With warm regards,