Ratings based on 102 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from usa

horrible

Posted Sep 15, 2017
I could stand the rooms, the service or the food. Me and other couples felt the same way
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Great stay, lovely service. Rooms were large and clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by The Winston Hotel Management Team, Hotel Management
On behalf of The Winston Hotel, I would like to thank you for your kind words and for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona, USA

First Rate Hotel!

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: The rooms are nicely furnished, with all the amenities, and the facilities are delightful.
Cons: We were there in the winter and the room was difficult to warm to our desired level of comfort, although it was certainly adequate.
Location: The hotel is in a residential neighborhood, on a small stree, and near a large shopping maul.
A great hotel in a safe area of town. The staff is very professional, efficient, and helpful ... and extraordinarily friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2017 by The Winston Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Jim, On behalf of The Winston Hotel, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to offer us valuable feedback. We value our guest's feedback as it allows us the opportunity to continuously improve and offer our guests the best possible service. We hope to welcome you back to The Winston Hotel soon. Kind wishes, The Winston Hotel Management Team
4 out of 5
by Steven

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by John P

Lovely place, fantastic breakfast

Posted Apr 5, 2017 on Hotels
Large, comfortable room and bathroom. Meticulously clean and cared for. Delicious breakfast with choice of hot item such as eggs Florentine, plus a small buffet with an excellent range of choices from smoked salmon to cereals, fresh fruit etc. Fresh orange juice. Lovely. Minor flaws: could use more than one hook in bathroom. Small lamp at desk not working and not repaired when requested. Note: In late March 2017 there was construction at the site next door, with some grinding noises during the day. Noticeable if on patio, not in room. Building looks like it will be in a quieter construction stage soon. Easy walk to Gautrain station, but area on other side of station is where all shops and restaurants are in this neighborhood.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

JoBurg Visit

Posted Apr 5, 2017 on CheapTickets
Pros: Everything!!!
Cons: Mix drinks.
Location: Rosebank is a nice neighborhood and the mall is in walking distance. You can catch the hop on and off bus within a 10 min walk near the mall.
Tuck away in the neighborhood of Rosebank near the mall was this nice boutique hotel. The owner did a wonderful job with the décor, the staff is well-trained and sooooo accommodating! I would definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
by christopher

Convenient

Posted Feb 28, 2017 on Hotels
There was building work ongoing next to the hotel which was not good, and the breakfast does not cater for pork?. The hotel was comfortable but very small with very little atmosphere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Perfect boutique hotel in Joburg

Posted Jan 9, 2017
This was a highlight of our 3 week trip to South Africa. The Winston is gorgeous, chic, and inviting. The beds are super comfy and I loved how each room was decorated individually. The staff were so helpful and inviting. Every time we walked into or past the lobby, someone greeted us. The grounds are quaint, quiet, and extremely clean. The breakfast and lunch menus were great and we enjoyed the service in the restaurant. We enjoyed chatting with Timothy and Bheki while having a glass of wine in the evenings - they were so sweet and shared stories of the South African culture with us. Thanks to the Winston for a fabulous stay!
5 out of 5
by Kieran

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Istanbul

One Of The Best In South Africa

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: The attitude of staff.
Location: It is very close to Rosebank mall and you can walk there during daytime.
This year, I have stayed more than 20 hotel all around the world. The Winston Hotel hotel is by far the best hotel according to its price and its offerings. I have stayed 4 nights in this hotel for my business trip in Johannesburg. It is an old hotel but it is as you finished your safari and come here to stay and relax. The staff is especially very friendly and helpful for your all requests. The hotel is very clean and tidy. I may not know I can go and visit Johannesburg again but if I had chance I will stay again.