Ratings based on 92 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Perfect boutique hotel in Joburg

Posted Jan 9, 2017
This was a highlight of our 3 week trip to South Africa. The Winston is gorgeous, chic, and inviting. The beds are super comfy and I loved how each room was decorated individually. The staff were so helpful and inviting. Every time we walked into or past the lobby, someone greeted us. The grounds are quaint, quiet, and extremely clean. The breakfast and lunch menus were great and we enjoyed the service in the restaurant. We enjoyed chatting with Timothy and Bheki while having a glass of wine in the evenings - they were so sweet and shared stories of the South African culture with us. Thanks to the Winston for a fabulous stay!
5 out of 5
by Kieran

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Istanbul

One Of The Best In South Africa

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: The attitude of staff.
Location: It is very close to Rosebank mall and you can walk there during daytime.
This year, I have stayed more than 20 hotel all around the world. The Winston Hotel hotel is by far the best hotel according to its price and its offerings. I have stayed 4 nights in this hotel for my business trip in Johannesburg. It is an old hotel but it is as you finished your safari and come here to stay and relax. The staff is especially very friendly and helpful for your all requests. The hotel is very clean and tidy. I may not know I can go and visit Johannesburg again but if I had chance I will stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit, Michigan

Short stay.

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: Very comfortable.
Cons: Difficult to locate when driving.
Nice hotel. Very comfortable. Friendly staff. Only there for one night.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 25, 2016 on Hotels
Very good
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Nice Hotel

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel with beautiful grounds. Great breakfast, well served. Please note the hotel is not smoker friendly and advertise that they do have the strictest smoking rules in the country. Large construction site next to the hotel that was very noisy.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relaxing comfortable hotel of charm and character

Posted Sep 27, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely hotel - ideal size with helpful and considerate staff. My second stay and looking forward to my next.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but staff can be nicer

Posted Sep 25, 2016
The hotel is very good but rooms lack privacy and it's a bit noisy. You can hear the people in the terrace downstairs even if your room windows are closed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels