Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Near river, but also near highway. Mixed feelings.

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: Leaving.
Cons: Everything.
Location: This part of Johannesburg (Ranburg, Olivedale) is fairly uncongested. While a few stores are nearby, you'd have to have private transportation.
The room was always freezing cold. I was bumped from one room to another after being told the better of the two rooms I stayed in would be available for the duration of my stay. The stay was nice enough, and even went out of their way to assist me. However, this may have been because the accommodations themselves were very much less than desirable. The TV didn't work. The shower regularly ran out of hot water. On one occasion, I was showing when suddenly it went from comfortably warm/hot to freezing cold. So many things went wrong that I didn't even bother to report the matter to management. Oh, did I mention that Internet access was spotty? Regrettably, I wouldn't send my worst enemy to this place. It's my understanding that new management may take over soon. If true, improvements might be in the offing. But, in the meantime, rent at your own risk. It doesn't enjoy the former glory it apparently once had.
3 out of 5
by Brian

Posted May 19, 2017 on Hotels
Never received a receipt for the R400 that I had to hand over to one of the employees.
5 out of 5
by Gary

Great Place to stay

Posted Jan 20, 2017 on Hotels
The stay was very good
1 out of 5
by Sihle

Posted Jan 15, 2017 on Hotels
I'm disappointed by thier service I was standing outside thier gate for 40 minutes no answer they didn't even pick up thier phones. So no I didn't enjoy my stay cause I had to do another booking drive from thier place to another just dissapointing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Africa

Sandton, South Africa

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Pros: Owner was friendly and amenable.
Cons: Outside areas need fixing and cleaning. No burglar alarm or reaction service.
Location: Close to popular venues with easy access to highways.
Worked well for us as near to friends and relations.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Serenity at it's best

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
wow, this was exactly was i was looking for. The place is great if you want to relax and get away from all the hustles of work. Stephanie is just a lovely person, he is great with people and will make your stay a home away from home. I love what he has done with the place, his personal decorations just give the place homely touch. I would go back there tomorrow if i could. We used the executive room, a beautiful room, large bathroom. The river flowing nearby provides the best sound to work up to, with the birds.
4 out of 5
by Jabulani from Hemel Hempstead

Recommended

Posted Jun 11, 2016 on Hotels
Great place, family loved it
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, quiet location in Johannesburg

Posted Feb 27, 2016
Pros: Stefan, the owner was very nice and helpful. . We also loved the overall inside and outside decor which is very original and pleasing to the eye.
Cons: The room we had has a couple of high windows without curtains so the night outside lights and daylight came streaming in which disturbed sleep a bit.
Location: Stefan recommended a very good Thai restaurant located in a nearby mall. The guesthouse is located close to many suburbs in east Johannesburg.
There were no surprises - everything was as expected from the website. We only stayed for one night but were able to enjoy much of what the guest house has to offer.
4 out of 5
by Matthew

Posted Feb 2, 2016 on Hotels
Needed a bed close to the Dome. The room was clean / comfortable and close to our destination
3 out of 5
by Barbara

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 16, 2015 on Hotels