Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Love this cool hotel!

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The art in the hallways and each room (I was able to peak into 3) seemed to have its own character.
Cons: Check out time is very early. The staff was gracious to let us refresh in a room because our flight was in the evening.
Location: There is a great fair and marketplace on the weekends. Good food and cafes.
12 Decades is a really cool hotel. Clean, funky, right in the middle of a hip neighborhood. I found the service to be hospitable. The space clean and safe. I definitely recommend the 1999-2006 lofted room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Very nice hotel in a great location, totally funky.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Hipster Loft Hotel in Trendy Maboneng

Posted Jun 28, 2016
12 Decades is an artsy boutique hotel for hipsters not afraid of neighborhoods that are converting from commercial/industrial zoning to residential spaces. There are a number of trendy shops, art galleries, an independent cinema and foodie haunts within walking distance of the hotel. The staff are incredibly friendly and accommodating and will help organize transportation or places to stock up on goodies for the in-room fridge. Those who enjoy self-catering options will enjoy a stay at this hotel.
4 out of 5
by Jessica

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 25, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Johannesburg, South Africa

Not given what was advertised.

Posted Jan 15, 2016
When I arrived at 10pm, no front desk staff was available to: 1. Sell me any Internet vouchers (the only way to get online at the hotel). 2. Correct my reservation when i discovered i was given the wrong room, a lesser room than what I paid for. 3. Fix my air conditioner when I discovered that it was not working. Despite trying multiple solutions, including contacting Expedia staff, I was not given any option but to desperately try to sleep in tiny, strangely furnished, over heated room without any way to get online to check in for my 32 hour long international flight that was scheduled for the next morning. The next morning, I mentioned this to the hotel's GM and was basically offered no reparations or viable solution. Overall, the entire experience was very unsatisfactory. I will not be staying here again. Neither will my friends who also had an unsatisfactory experience in their rooms as well. This hotel used to have it together but things are slipping. People should take their business elsewhere.
4 out of 5
by Andreas from Joburg

Exploring our hometown

Posted Dec 26, 2015 on Hotels
Some small gripes but loved the hotel and the cultural buss. Constitution Hill visit a must. Great insight to what is possible in SA
4 out of 5
by kabelo

great

Posted Dec 7, 2015 on Hotels
it was cool, some good memories
4 out of 5
by Adjoa B. from New York

Art wonder great location

Posted Jul 6, 2015 on Hotels
Really nice stay, loved neighborhood
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hip and Happening Hotel in Jozie

Posted Jun 18, 2015
Pros: I love the decor and how each room has a unique theme. It's nice to have a refrigerator and a kitchenette to make breakfast or have cold drinks.
Cons: They could use a bag cart to help transport the luggage to your room.
Location: Maboneng is a great location with the Art Pop Theatre next door, Art on Main one block away, great breakfast at Cateen and Eat Your Heart Out.
Having stayed at the 12 Legends Hotel a few times in the past month I can honestly say that it feels like home to me. From the first time we visited and Sydney spent the time to show us every unique room and even the fabulous rooftop view, to my first stay a few weeks ago to my last visit yesterday, I really can't say enough great things about how fabulous the decor and artwork are, how comfortable and spacious the room is, how the hot water is plentiful and HOT (my first great shower in 6 weeks), the beds are comfy but the crowning jewel and charm of the Twelve Legends are their smiling and warm staff - Lebo, Sydney and the others made me feel like a long lost friend and welcomed me and my traveling companion, Buzzie (my rolling bee suitcase) with a warm embrace that truly was the African experience!