Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from johannesburg

Posted May 17, 2016
We had a good time with friends. Rooms were clean and comfortable although needing attention in the bathrooms, old toilet seat, mix matched and cracked tiles. The staff were pleasant. Disappointed that manager insisted on closing the bar at 11pm for a large group all staying at the hotel, even though there was another event on the property that continued until the wee hours of the morning. Perhaps she did not see the business opportunity.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 20, 2016 by Antoinette Kleyn, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review Velmore Hotel Estate & Spa following your stay. We are please to see that you have enjoyed your stay, and would like to apologise for the bar closing at 11pm. We do hope that you will visit us again in the near future. Warm Regards Staff and Management Velmore Hotel Estate & Spa
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
We were invited to a birthday dinner by friends and a few of us stayed over for a night. The rooms are large and the beds comfortable with linen clean. Towels were clean but old. The safe in our room was not working. There was no hotel doorman. The hotel had additional rooms located at a different buiding. Check in however was only available at what seemed to be the "main" hotel, meaning if your room was in the other building you would have to walk between buildings to check in and access the dinning room. The second building reception area was cluttered with chairs - looked more like a storage facility. We had a buffet dinner and breakfast. The food was ok - nothing special. It was also noisy so I struggled to sleep. If they put a little attention to detail it would be a lovely place.
Comment from Hotel Management
by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Client, Thank you for your review following your stay at Velmore Hotel Estate & Spa. We would like to apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay with us, senior management have been brought in to attend to these matters. We do hope that you will afford us the opportunity to win back your most valued business. Warm Regards Staff and Management Velmore Hotel Estate & Spa
4 out of 5
by Melita from Vereeniging

A night out

Posted Mar 23, 2016 on Hotels
The room was clean and everything else was fine except that the one side lamp was not working , other than that we enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was exceptionally delicious.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Melita, Thank you for taking the time to review Velmore Hotel Estate & Spa following your night out. We are thrilled to see that you have enjoyed your stay and the great breakfast! We would love for you to visit us again Warm Regards Staff and Management Velmore Hotel Estate & Spa
1 out of 5
by H from Pretoria

What a waste and completely overrated.

Posted Jan 13, 2016 on Hotels
The check in wasn't a problem. Though he needed proof I had paid. The wifi password was incorrect so I went home to mail it to him. I only booked coz it was my husbands birthday. I live 6 km from the hotel. The room allocated didn't have a balcony or patio as on the booking. The bathroom fittings were falling out. The room overlooked a scrap yard and had insects flying outside the window. The pool was very dirty and couldn't be used. I asked for pool towels and they had to go somewhere else to get it. The pool area was smelling of cow dung. There is nothing to do at the hotel so my stay was a waste. The breakfast was very basic. 3 cereals, one juice, a plate of cut fruit, yogurt in bulk and tin peaches. Bread. Three muffins and egg. With veg for omelette. The only positive was that they prepared a cake which was put together from the leftover cake of the night before from the wedding at the venue and which I attended.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Can't Wait For My 3rd Stay at Velmore!

Posted Sep 3, 2015
Pros: The rooms, grounds, staff, steak (dinner) and ambiance were phenomenal. Great value for money.
I've stayed here twice and had a fantastic experience on both occasions. The rooms are absolutely beautiful, elegant, well appointed and large with beautiful balconies. It's a very peaceful property from the hustle and bustle of Joburg and Pretoria. A great retreat for couples!
5 out of 5
by Futhi from Pretoria

Tiptop

Posted Feb 18, 2015 on Hotels
Just minor things to sort out otherwise we loved the decor in the lounges and rooms, the outside was so beautiful and full if fresh air, we were pleased. The staff were excellent too but improvements for some of the restaurant staff (further training) will enhance customer experience.
2 out of 5
by CVZ from JHB

Not a 4 star - don't stay there

Posted Dec 5, 2013 on Hotels
Shocking. Dirty room. And exremely noisy. Constant noise from the pipes in the bathroom. Rooms so badly insulated you can hear everything going on outside and in the surrounding rooms. All 4 and 5 star hotels I have stayed in offer complimentary bottled water - not here. The food at the function at the hotel as well as in the restuarent was also dreadful and shocking quality.
5 out of 5
by Tony & Ansie from South Africa

Great Hotel

Posted Nov 22, 2013 on Hotels
Very well appointed hotel,luxury room was huge, a quiet night, we were the only people in the restuarant, but the service was still good, and the food was first class.Huge outdoor swimming pool.Our second visit to the spa.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not bad

Posted Oct 21, 2013 on Hotels
Good value for money but the breakfast was below par.