Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sao Paulo/Brazil

Very good.

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Pros: Good rooms at a very good price.
Location: Close to the airport (secondary)
It was only a night. The room was clean, silent and has a good size. In the morning we saw a bunch of animals inside the propery, which is an advantage of the hotel. Zebras and antelopes were around us when we walked to our car early in the morning what was pretty cool.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Quentin from pretoria

Not the greatest

Posted Jan 2, 2015 on Hotels
The gardens at the lodge is absolutely fantastic. The breakfast was very very poor and we opted not to eat there. It certainly lacks a strong management team as the staff were very inattentive and I had to ask twice for our room's floor to be washed, the floor was sticky and unswept upon arrival. Overall I'd say it's a bit over priced for what you get compared to other hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Marcia from Portland, Oregon, U.S.A.

Lovely!

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels
It was wonderful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gift from Johannesburg

good serviec

Posted Sep 8, 2014 on Hotels
It was good, beside the incident where the Guys that were repairing electricity they cannot knock, but they just jump inside the room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kiepie from Roodepoort

Not what we expected

Posted Jan 10, 2014 on Hotels
Okay first of all the front reception staff service was excellent. There was a few things that bugged us. There was no bath plug for the bath, no basin plug and in addition half the channels had no volume (loud white noise).
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 7, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 5, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ambrose from Richards Vay

Excellent place.

Posted Dec 28, 2013 on Hotels
Wow our 23rd anniversary was fabulous and was made extra special. Thanx to the chef the reservation staff and the waittresses. We had the pleasure of having the whole restaurant to ourselves, thanks to the festive season.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gramama3 from USA

Zulu Nyala Country Manor

Posted Dec 5, 2013
Pros: It is in a lovely rural type setting which is relaxing and pretty.
Cons: The furniture in my room was worn which made it feel like it wasn't extremely clean.
Location: It's 45+ minutes from the OR Tambo airport. In traffic is can be much farther. The cost of a taxi is from 550 rand to 800 rand depending on traffic.
I enjoyed my stay. I heard the birds singing all day. The decor is what we might considered 'typical' African with real thatch roofs, sofas with animal prints, etc. The main sitting room is nice and they have a computer for guests. There is a restaurant where they are very happy to please by making special dishes for special dietary requests. I enjoyed the breakfast where they had warm croissants fresh from the oven. I had some travel problems and the staff bent over backwards to help me out. All the staff is super nice. It is off the 'beaten path' which one should know before booking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Amanda from Detroit

Nice hotel for on your way to/from the airport

Posted Oct 9, 2013
Pros: Staff was excellent and accommodating. The room was comfy and clean.
Cons: Water pressure in some rooms. The pools could be cleaner. Menu for dinner.
Location: 30 mins from OR Tambo. Mall 3 miles away with mainstream stores and restaurants.
I always get nervous when I'm traveling abroad and a hotel is incredibly affordable and still has a decent number of stars... this hotel did not disappoint. It's about 30 minutes away from OR Tambo, pretty close to a nice mall where you can pick up anything your forgot or grab a bite to eat. The rooms were very large, comfy beds, huge bathroom with tub and shower. We stayed here two separate nights (one coming into SA and the night before we left SA), the first room had excellent water pressure, the second had horrible water pressure and it was difficult to get hot water. That's really my only complaint. There are Zebra's on location as well as two pools. They only offer a buffet for dinner and it's a little pricey ($20US), I'd recommend going to the nearby mall if you have a vehicle.