Ratings based on 1,456 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very friendly staff

Posted Jul 26, 2017
All staff were very friendly (drivers & front desk). Convenient location close to airport. Clean rooms.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, Oregon

Inexpensive hotel near JFK

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Inexpensive and close to JFK
Cons: Public spaces were somewhat tattered looking. The room has been recently renovated, though.
Location: Convenience store, fast food, and wine/liquor store were close. Not really the kind of neighborhood you would want to explore.
Pretty good place to kill a night for a long layover, which is what we went there to do. You get what you pay for, and this hotel is a good example of that. Nothing really wrong with it--the shuttle service to and from the hotel was a little complicated to find out about, but once we did that, it all went smoothly. The room and everything else about the hotel itself is OK--no better and no worse. The area around the hotel is a little scruffy, but didn't feel dangerous. An Indian restaurant (didn't try it), wine and liquor store, convenience store and fast food burger place are within a block away, and there is a restaurant on the premises (which is predictable for those who have stayed at Ho-Jos before), and they were very helpful about informing us of a variety of possibilities for delivery. Conbtinental breakfast was included, also predictable (mostly starchy things). So--OK it is.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst hotel ever

Posted Jul 6, 2017
horrible. It was nasty. Hairs were on the sheets of the bed and in the towels. We decided to just get a shower and check out and stay the night in the airport.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Neighborhood was scary. We booked this hotel because of the free JFK shuttle, but shuttles only run once an hour which was not convenient at all.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York NY

Close to the Airport

Posted Jul 2, 2017
The hotel was not my hotel of choice but because it was convenient to the airport and because of last-minute reservations and price-wise over all the other hotels I was kind of left with no other choices. If you plan on traveling make your reservations ahead of schedule and try to pick a good location because the area was not that desirable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to JFK

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Easy to find, great parking, clean room, good free breakfast and right across the street is a great Indian restaurant. Also very close easy drive to JFK or take the hotel shuttle.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vientiane Lao PDR.

The worst hotel yet on this trip.

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Reception staff don't deserve to have a job. Thick glass window at reception no speaker just a slot. The add said contact hotel. No reply to my contact. Howard Johnson is off my stay list.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

Really nice! Just a little far from Manhattan!

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Make sure you research transportation and know your way around the city. Look up the subway system lines!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from from montreal

Nice motel with convenient shuttle to airport .

Posted May 24, 2017
Convenient nearby bus stop to subway to get to times square. Able to buy bus ticket at front desk. Nice to have free coffee 24-7.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from west palm beach florida

Hotel that need a lot of improvement close by the

Posted May 18, 2017
To me the front desk doesn't care by eating and leaving her empty container of food behind her on the paper work where every body could see that she did not clean her self good after her meal and not to attentive