Ratings based on 1,488 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Millerton, PA

WONDERFUL staff

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Pros: STAFF!
Location: Located in Jamaica area of NYC. Walking distance to shops and some restaurants.
Being from a small town and landing in the Big Apple was uncomfortable for us. BUT, the staff at this hotel were wonderful. The room was spotless and comfortable but not fancy. It was quiet and the breakfast was good. We met the nicest people, helpful, welcoming and friendly. Would not hesitate to stop again or to suggest to friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to airport

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Newly remodeled, nonsmoking. Very convenient trip to airport. Had an organized shuttle
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2017
very convenient for a flight from JFK, the room is cozy
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saint Vincent and the Grenadines

Clean, comfortable, and close to the airport

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Inexpensive, good value for money, free shuttle and breakfast
Cons: better sound proofing to block out the street noise.
Location: several decent restaurants nearby, we had indian food from across the street and it was delicious, also a walgreens w/in 20 min walk from the hotel
We stayed here when we had a long layover at JFK and was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the hotel for the price. The shuttle was nice, and the room was comfortable and clean. We had to leave before breakfast, but the facility looked nice. My only complaint was there was alot of street noise with garbage collection and several car alarms going off during the night, and our window didn't quite seal so it was far from the best nights sleep I've had, though the bed was nice and comfy. It looks like it was recently rennovated, the bathroom had granite surfaces and the curved shower curtain rod to make the shower more roomy. I asked the front desk to call us a cab because we had to leave at 4am to catch a flight, and I was surprised and disappointed to realize that they called a non official cab. It wasn't a yellow cab (or any other company) nor was it an uber or lyft. There was no meter. This is pretty normal in most of the world so I didn't mind, but I think that's frowned upon in NYC.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel stay

Posted Sep 2, 2017
There was alot of noise at 7am I'm the morning whole check out time is at 12am
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2017
It was pretty good. We needed a room to stay and this hotel was the cheapest and closest to our location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very friendly staff

Posted Jul 26, 2017
All staff were very friendly (drivers & front desk). Convenient location close to airport. Clean rooms.
4 out of 5
by kevin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Glynis

Great room for a short, overnight stay.

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
After travelling for 2 weeks in Ireland and the UK, I needed a hotel close to JFK for me and my 2 kids to stay in so that we wouldn't be flying directly to CA from London. I chose the Howard Johnson Inn #1 because of name recognition but also because of affordability, location to JFK and shuttle to airport. Although an older building, obviously, it was clean and didn't smell. The staff were friendly, helpful and accommodating; I needed a late checkout due to a late flight and although they don't do late checkouts, me and my kids were allowed to stay in the room until 1PM and were allowed just to hang out at the hotel until our flight. In the lobby is a screen as you see in airports, with all the flights on them; amazing!! I would definitely recommend this hotel for short stays and business trips.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by Jimmy, Hotel Management
We greatly appreciate your staying at Howard Johnson. We do our best to make guests happy. Thank you and please come again soon!
4 out of 5
by Safwan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels