Ratings based on 1,162 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old style charm.

Posted Dec 13, 2017
Pros: homey
Cons: more than one ice machine
Love the décor. The Christmas decorations are very very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2017 by Christian L., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of the Carnegie Hotel! We are glad you enjoyed your stay during our Christmas time aesthetic. The reason we have only one ice machine is due to noise control. The ice machine is located on the lower level where there are no guest rooms, and we find that to be the best location. We hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Beautiful and charming. Enjoyed our brief stay. Hotel looks authentic.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2017 by Front Desk Staff, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 6, 2017
Lovely accommodations & very comfortable. It's understandable why no m'wacves avail, but it would have been nice to enjoy popcorn & a movie. No dvd player either. Minor issues, to be sure. Wi-fi nearly nonfunctional, but we survived, lol. Enjoyed the stay & already have recommended it to friends.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2017 by Christian L., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We do have a microwave on property and we also have DVD players upon request. We apologize you had some WiFi issues, please know that the Front Desk has troubleshooting recommendations if an issue like that reoccurs. We hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from virginia

Great hotel!

Posted Dec 6, 2017
We stopped just for just one night passing through. Prices were comparable to chains but that’s where the comparison stopped. Hotel, staff, food in restaurant, were all great. 1930’s redo if hotel, charming and quaint. Rooms, large, comfortable, and roomy. Would stay again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2017 by Christian L., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, Mike! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our hotel aesthetic favorable. We look forward any return visits to our property and Johnson City, TN!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel near our destination

Posted Dec 6, 2017
Very good experience with friendly staff and excellent room. I would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2017 by Christian L., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, Valued Guest! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to seeing you in the Johnson City area in the future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from knoxville

Excellent hotel

Posted Nov 24, 2017
Excellent staff, Very nice, clean, quiet at night for sleeping. The hotel has an excellent spa and restaurant. Other great perks and amnenities are free wifi, no charge for parking, gilchrist and soames toilitries and HBO...
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017 by Front Desk, Hotel Management
Thank you for your fantastic review of our hotel. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay so much and look forward to your next stay with us! Sincerely, Carnegie Front Desk
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice Ambiance, but skip the room service menu

Posted Nov 21, 2017
We enjoyed a very pleasant weekend, no complaints at all with the exception of the room service breakfast. Egg, bacon, mushroom and cheese omelet with NO cheese. No butter or jam for the toast, no water... And what does one normally do but immediately provide the person with a generous tip - unfortunately before uncovering the plates and discovering this. We had a very pleasant evening at the bar, wonderful service, ambiance, very comfortable. My wife was disappointed that they only have an outdoor pool, which was closed due to cold weather, and no hot tub. But, we'll likely stay again, just won't order room service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2017 by Christian L., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We apologize for any issues with your room service order. We have made this aware to our restaurant staff. Thank you for your feedback!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great weekend getaway

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Cons: Maybe a microwave in the room.
Location: Great, older hotel with outstanding character. Adjacent to the university, plenty of restaurants.
My first time in the city. The room was spacious. Very comfortable. Staff was very accommodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017 by Front Desk, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our property! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback. While we do not provide microwave's in the individual rooms we do have a hospitality center located on the lower level, open 24/7, for our guest's convenience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Historic Charm

Posted Nov 20, 2017
We stayed in one of the traditional king rooms and were impressed by the size. The front desk staff was friendly and knowledgeable and offered a great recommendation for a dinner restaurant. Parking was plentiful and free and the hotel was prettily decorated for the holidays. However, the hotel is starting to show its age in a "non-historically charming" way. Where the bones of the building are gorgeous, the fabrics- rugs, upholstery, linens- could really use an upgrade. Also, staying on the second floor, we heard the bass until pretty late for a special function downstairs. If you're looking for some southern charm, but don't expect the modern amenities and upgrades, the Carnegie Hotel is a great bet for staying in Johnson City!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017 by Front Desk, Hotel Management
Hi Bree, Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate the time you took to share your thoughts with us. We are happy to hear you found our front desk friendly and helpful but apologize about the noise you experienced from the event on property. Please let us know about your experience upon your next stay and we can do our best to get you in an upper level room away from any events. Thanks!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Great area - ETSU

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Loved it! Great place to stay. We really enjoyed it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Front Desk, Hotel Management
We miss you already :) Thanks for your feedback.