Ratings based on 1,071 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Johnson City, TN

Beautiful hotel need new mattresses

Posted Sep 22, 2017
We spent our wedding night here. The hotel is beautiful and the room was so spacious. But the particular room we stayed in had a terrible mattress and really need replaced. But that is the only negative. This is a beautiful place to stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Classic hotel - great value

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: It has everything you'd want. The staff at all levels are very friendly and helpful.
Cons: Resurface the brass in the elevators.
We've been staying at The Carnegie in Johnson City annually over 10 years. We visit family. Anyone who can appreciate a "grand hotel" experience should stay here. The rooms are immaculate and reflect the style of the 1930's. This is a classic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Knoxville

Carnegie was an unexpected find in Johnson City

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: The furnishings appeared to have been thought out and well placed. Lots of seating in the commons area. The hotel had a feeling of distinction.
Cons: Would like to have been able to see inside "the wine cave" Not much information provided and stumbled upon this while looking for the spa.
Location: Visited the onsite spa and had a massage. It was excellent.
Very nice and rather unexpected in Johnson City, comparable with hotels in New York. Ate in the restaurant. The food was good but the portion size was small. Both times we ate at the restaurant we had to wait to be greeted and the restaurant was not busy. The staff didn't seem to be eager to serve.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Wonderful top class hotel asst reasonable price

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Fleeing from a hurricane, we were blessed to be able to stay at the Carnegie again. For the price of a moderate hotel we got to stay at this grand old stately property. Everything about this hotel is luxurious and the staff showers you with southern hospitality. We highly recommend it & will stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Loudon, TN

Convenient location to ETSU campus.

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: location and comfort of room
Cons: add a microwave to rooms along with the mini fridge.
Location: surrounded by the campus and many, many diverse restaurants.
Return visit and plan to continue to stay every time we return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Easy check in, great bar, nice pool. Restaurant had good food, slightly slower service than expected. Would definitely stay again, and recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Everything was perfect as it always is. I love this hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Good stay. Convenient for visiting ETSU, great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Carnegie Hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: The location, the room and decor.
Location: This is close to the campus but in a great location to reach any shopping center.
We had a wonderful stay at this hotel beginning with a wam and friendly greeting. The room was comfortable, clean and beautifully designed. Unfortunately, we did not get a chance to eat in the restaurant. Hopefully we can stay here when we visit the area again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tn

Lovely hotel, rooms so nice

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Couldn't believe the quality for the price. Great ambiance, beautiful room. Personnel so nice. Dinner at the restaurant was delicious and the Old Fashioned was awesome. Great stay!