Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
33% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by DI from AB

A beautiful location in nature

Posted Oct 4, 2014 on Hotels
We love this place. A great place to get away. Very cozy cabins. The cafe and restaurant served good hearty food, but the staff had a bit of end-of/-season familiarity with each other, and casuality that seemed to make them indifferent to guests in their care. Still, we'd go again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cabin nightmare

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: The tube t.vs needs DVD player or cable . The bed is old and the wooden toilet seat could be improved . Canyon burger could be improved very dry .
Location: Johnson canyons a must see
Beautiful location rustic rundown cabins that need major renovations
5 out of 5
by Elizabeth from Lacombe

Lovely cabin

Posted Aug 8, 2014 on Hotels
We hiked the canyon, came back down and got into our cabin. We had a small deck with a lovely view. We had our dinner in the restaurant and both enjoyed our meals. The service was excellent.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great getaway!

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Will deffinatly be returning! Wonderful amenities and sights right at location store/restaraunt on sure and great! Cabin cozy but next time will remember VHS for kids as no tv. Deffinatly a great getaway!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to wild animals in Banff!

Posted Jun 28, 2014 on Hotels
Quiet, off the main highway.
4 out of 5
by Reagan from Grande Prairie

enjoyed the stay and location

Posted May 24, 2014 on Hotels
It was a little of a nightmare after driving 9 hours to be told what you booked isn't available. We got another room which wasn't what we wanted we were satisfied. They offered a fire wood stove but no matches or fire wood were at the unit so it was mildly annoying to split and gather my own wood and find a fire source. The bed was very uncomfortable and I was glad I drank enough to pass out. If your looking for a rustic retreat with beautiful scenery this is a great quiet spot but set your expectations a little lower than mine and I assure you will enjoy.
3 out of 5
by Ed from Montreal

Decent place if you're not a princess

Posted Sep 2, 2013 on Hotels
Decent place to stay. Don't expect anything fancy. Stay away if you're a princess or married to one.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

TOURIST TRAP

Posted Aug 20, 2013
The cabins themselves are nice, but the Johnston Canyon Resort is a bit of a tourist trap. We cooked our own food on a camp stove, as the food at the restaurant seemed a bit questionable.
2 out of 5
by Jeremy from Tampa

Less than expected

Posted Aug 12, 2013 on Hotels
Lock to cabin door did not even work. Very uncomfortable sleep. Overall stay poor. Like sleeping in car, camping or a cheap hostel at a hotel price