Ratings based on 197 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best staff anywhere. Gorgeous resort

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Exceptional staff - everyone. Beautiful resort. Golf course spectacular. Lots of hiking trails. Average food though - weakest part.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from charlottesville va

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Fantastic resort with many activities the entire family will enjoy.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasantville

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: The décor. Quiet. The staff's aim to please.
Location: It's all about the spa services. Plan your visit to stay at the hotel.
This is a resort to unwind. Not much is going on, but staying here was easy. The staff is trained and pleasant and guests were friendly. The history of the hotel is a highlight and value-add to my stay. I recommend the tour of the property. A quaint hotel with good eats.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Wonderful resort with relaxation in mind

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: History, service and ambiance were all terrific. Extensive grounds were relaxing and beautiful.
Cons: The hiking trails are multi-use, including UTVs, so this seemed to increase the wear on the trails and hard to walk on. Lots of exposed rocks.
Location: Hiking, shopping and dining in town. Less than an hour from Flight 93 Memorial. Beautiful countryside to just drive around in and explore.
We spent a weekend here recently and it was a wonderful experience. Contrary to some of the reviews who felt they received inferior treatment because of booking on Expedia, we experienced nothing of the sort. We arrived Friday night and spent the remaining evening exploring the hotel and grounds as we were very interested in the history of the resort. Saturday we spent hiking and over did it so we spent the afternoon resting in our room, which was lovely. Dinner at 1796 was excellent, everything you would expect from a high end steakhouse. We ate breakfast both mornings in the Crystal Dining Room and the food and service were excellent. Fresh fruit was exceptional. Sunday we wanted to spend the day exploring Bedford, the covered bridges and the Flight 93 Memorial before we headed back home in the evening. Concierge provided wonderful information to help us with all three of our planned activities and she also shared with us some great detail about the resort even sharing some pictures of the reconstruction prior to the 2007 re-opening. My wife and I would definitely return and recommend this to anyone looking for a quiet spot to getaway and just enjoy time together. We felt it was a little expensive for children, but there were some people who had brought them with.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pa.

ok resort, if you enjoy a musty smell throughout.

Posted Jun 17, 2016
Pros: outside scenery
Cons: The hotel needs a total overhaul. worn and ripped carpets rusty hinges and knobs, dirty elevators, peeling and chipping paint, cobwebs and dust n room
Location: eat, there menu's are way over priced for the presentation and taste you get. not sure they have a chef. Food average.
We were put in a handicap room with roll in shower. needless to say no bathtub and after a shower the entire floor out to carpet was always wet. It was 84* and we went to use the outdoor pool and it was closed for party, really no pool, really.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 16, 2016
Some staff not so friendly when found out we booked Expedia. Restaurants OVERpriced
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expensive but pampered

Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
Rooms are great, lots of history. great access to ndoor pool but it had lots of chlorine so be careful. Crystal room dining was closed for some reason so had to dine at the tavern where the view and service were great but the chicken was dry and over cooked. Spa is top of the line. Overall a very nice experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 10, 2016 on Hotels
I reserved a King bed and was given a handicap room with two full beds. I tried to switch rooms and unfortunately, the staff was not accommodating to provide me with a room I paid for. It was quite disappointed. I have been to this hotel multiple times and this past trip was unpleasant.
5 out of 5
by Lee

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 9, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mountain retreat resort

Posted May 30, 2016
Beautiful views...great historical landmark...amazing antiques.