Ratings based on 248 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from johnstown pa

Smells

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Smelly halls. Booked a 2 bed with rollaway and only got a 2 bed when arrived. Breakfast ran out early. Apple juice was water. Toilet backs up easily.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Beds were very uncomfortable, Small area to eat breakfast which consisted of 2 cereals, a waffle maker which was broken and small cinnamon rolls. Disappointed in our stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2016 by K.Walter, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We do apologize that you were uncomfortable, but we are in the process of fixing some things.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap at the last minute!

Posted Jun 28, 2016 on Orbitz
Stay was good. Breakfast was good. Desk staff need to represent. Could not tell who they were. No name tag or super 8 shirt. Give them something to wear.
Comment from Hotel Management
by K Walter, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are currently working on a few changes as far as uniforms. We look forward to doing business with you again in the future
3 out of 5
by paula from Falling Waters, WV

Rates were DOUBLED for our weekend!

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
Whole way around edges of carpet at wall dirty. Blankets on bed HORRIBLE! Should be thrown out! Asked for extra pillows, only had 2 available.
Comment from Hotel Management
by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feed back.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't.

Posted Jun 12, 2016 on Hotels
Checked-in and was assigned to a room that was already occupied by other people, front desk staff had to phone the owner in order to put us in an empty room (why can't staff do this on their own??), this hotel reminds me of the cheap hotels you stay at in Absecon on your way to AC: Outdated, Dirty, Stains, Odor, Random pieces of used furniture, Obvious the owner makes "repairs",Random area rug in a random spot I'm sure disguised something I don't want to see, Way overpriced for conditions all the way around, etc... I wouldn't stay here or recommend to anyone. Your car is a better option: cleaner and free.
Comment from Hotel Management
by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We are in the process of updating and changing some things.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pay a Little More for a Better Room

Posted Jun 3, 2016
Pros: Nothing!
Cons: Total renovation!
Location: This was a business trip for me and I had to leave early. I was there a total of 8 hours. I could not have stayed any longer.
This was not a cheap hotel rate. I was on a business trip and paid out of pocket for this room. I looked at 3 rooms before finally settling on staying. The Owner/Front Desk person was very slow, and under-trained at the check-in process. I went to the first room and it did not feel safe because of the ground floor location. The room was shabby and the furniture old and damaged. The second room was ten times worse! He gave me a key for a second floor room. It had filthy looking black stained pillow cases. The upholstery on the arm chair was completely worn through to the stuffing. The carpet in the hallway was a safety hazard. It was ripped up and thorn, and the floor was exposed underneath, I explained to the person at the front desk to just throw everything out rather than keep it and continue to operate such a horribly run down hotel. He acted liked he felt bad that I hated the rooms, but he needed to be made aware of the impression the hotel made. I explained that I felt like leaving and taking the loss, and booking another hotel room somewhere else. He gave me a third key and that room was slightly better, and back down on the first floor. The pillow cases were cleaner, but the pillows need to all be thrown out in this property. The bathroom appeared clean, but the toilet ran non-stop. I took the top of the tank off to check the float. The lid was under a counter top. Believe me when I say, those people have NEVER cleaned the top of that lid! It was filthy!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by K.Walter, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback . We are currently correcting a few things
1 out of 5
by Amy from Okemos, MI

Cheap but not worth it.

Posted May 29, 2016 on Hotels
I would never stay at this hotel again. It was so outdated. The hallway carpet was filthy. The bedroom furniture old. Our desk chair was broken. The towels were super thin and rough. The pillow were lumpy. The bed was very uncomfortable. The breakfast buffet was tolerable. All the smokers gathered at a table right outside the front door.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feed back. We are working on correcting a few things.
4 out of 5
by Barbara

Posted May 27, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your stay
3 out of 5
by Allen

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your stay
1 out of 5
by Dennis from Franklin

Posted May 15, 2016 on Hotels
Sheets/blankets were stained.. Body towels were size of hand towels... Room smelled.. Smoke detector was hanging by wires from ceiling... Left pair of pants behind when we called to see if they had been found, we were told the maid normally keeps everything she finds instead of turning it in..
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are making corrections on a few things