Ratings based on 624 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Johor Bahru, Malaysia

More of an apartment than a luxury hotel room

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: Breakfast.
Cons: Softer towels. Better room arrangement. Decent sausages and fried tomato for breakfast. Making my own (small) cups of tea was a real hassle.
Location: Gyeongbokgung Palace is right next door. The National Folk Museum is worth visiting. Kyobo bookstore. Gwanghwamun Square. So much more!
Having seen the swimming pool and outdoor one-man (or woman) jacuzzis, I thought that the price was right for a mid to high range hotel. Upon entering the room, I found what was more of an apartment than a luxury hotel room. There was a hob and saucepans and a full sized refrigerator. The TV was not in front of the double bed, but in front of a small couch (sadly not big enough to properly lie on). The room was clean, spacious, the decor fine, it not luxurious, and had everything I needed. The bathroom had a bath and the usual toiletries, as well as a plug right next to the toilet (which seems to be a common thing in Korea - of course!). The water pressure didn't seem very high, but somehow the shower pressure was good enough to make for an acceptable (and hot) shower. The towels were just about acceptable. Why can't hotels use softener?! The breakfast was limited, but satisfactory. Sadly, I didn't get to use the pool or jacuzzis. They shut at 9pm. The hotel has a gym and a small children's playroom. There is a restaurant where breakfast is served. The internet works well. The staff were very friendly and helpful, if the reception does get a little busy. My only complaint was that the one time I stepped out of my room without my card, the cleaner who was right there to see it, refused to let me into my room but instead sent me down to the lobby. For a group or family who wanted to cook their own food, this may be my first choice. As a lone traveler, I explore other options.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2017 by AGSM, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our residents are satisfied wtih our service. At the same time, I would like to seek your understanding that the room maid could not open the door due to the security reason, however, I will forward your feedback to the Housekeeping Manager to seek the ways not to cause the guests' inconvenience. Once again, thank you for your valued patronage. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Yours sincerely, Joyce kim//Assistant Guest Service Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seongnam

Excellent hotel employees Excellent place

Posted Oct 7, 2017 on CheapTickets
Close to Geongbokgung, Insadong, Samcheongdong, it was comfortable. I did will-less demand to employees, but they responded very well. Room was old-fashioned, but well-kept rooms. Breakfast was delicious, but I hope there are more number of branches. If I will stay in seoul again, I can stay in this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2017 by AGSM, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience about our serviced residence. We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. At the same time, we are happy to have met your expectations in service and quality standards. Receiving such positive feedback motivates us to further improve our commitment to delivering good service. Once again, thank you for making us as one of your preferred accommodation choices. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future. Yours sincerely, Joyce Kim// Assistant Guest Service Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seongnam

Nice hotel close to the Insadong/Gyeongbokgung

Posted Oct 2, 2017 on CheapTickets
Nice staffs : Their reactions are so fast and exact. Nice place : Close to the Geongbokgung/Insadong/Samcheongdong etc. Nice facility : Looks like old but clean, feels like doing management very well. Beds are soft.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2017 by AGSM, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are glad to hear the compliments of our staff members at Somerset Palace Seoul. Your kind words inspire us to do better to ensure that our residents have a warm and pleasant experience. Once again, thank you for your valued patronage. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Yours sincerely, Joyce Kim// Assistant Guest Service Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2017 on Hotels
Friendly staff, convenient location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2017 by Assistant Guest Service M, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience about our serviced residence. We are happy to hear compiments of our staff members at our property. Your kind words motivates us to further improve our commitment to delivering good service. Once again, thank you for your valued patronage. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Yours sincerely, Joyce Kim// Assistant Guest Service Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great location!

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Cons: Breakfast, more choices would be good.
Location: Within walking distance to some amazing places! And it was a cheap taxi ride to the airport (about 25K Korean dollar and an hour trip)
Overall a great place in an excellent location. The only minor problem was the breakfast, it was lacking in choice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2017 by AGSM, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. At the same time, I have noted your comment in regards to the breakfast menu. As we are constantly looking at ways to improve our service, I will share your feedback with the breakfast vendor. Once again, thank you for your valued patronage. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Yours sincerely, Joyce Kim// Assistant Guest Service Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I would recommend to stay this hotel!

Posted Sep 19, 2017 on Hotels
we've stayed over a week in Somerset palace hotel and it was amazing. The staffs were very helpful and kind. Close to insadong and public transportation. The bed was bit too hard for me so they sent us a mattress topper which made the bed nice and soft. There's washing machine with washing powder and amenities were good. We really enjoyed our staying at the hotel. Thank you
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2017 by Assistant Guest Service M, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Also, we are glad to compliments of our staff members at Guest Service team. Your kind words inspire us to do better to ensure that our residents have a warm and pleasant experience at our property. Once again, thank you for your valued patronage. We look forward to welcomig you again in the near future. Yours sincerely, Joyce Kim// Assistant Guest Service Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Great location nice view

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Enjoyed my stay very much. Nice view of the Blue House and the mountain from the room, a panoramic view from the rooftop garden, good breakfast, comfortable bed. Will be my choice hotel in Seoul.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2017 by AGSM, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience at our serviced residence. We were delighted to leran that you enjoyed your stay with us. At the same time, we are happy to have met your expectations in service and quality standards. Once again, thank you for making us as one of your preferred accommodation choices. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Yours sincerely, Joyce Kim// Assistant Guest Service Manager
3 out of 5
by Takako

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 6, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 21, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 28, 2017 on Hotels