Ratings based on 616 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from singapore

Good location - near the 2 main palaces

Posted Dec 30, 2017
7-10 min walk to the 2 main palaces G & C. 5 mins to Insadong. 5 mins to Anguk Metro Line 3. Easy access to Incheon Airport by Airport limousine bus. Rooms are clean and comfy, floor heating. Equipped with microwave, stove, fridge, washing machine. Staff are friendly and English speaking.Service is good. Decent spread for breakfast including Korean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2018 by AGSM, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our residents are satisfied with our service. Once again, thank you for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Yours sincerely, Joyce Kim// Assistant Guest Service Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singpaore

COMFORT HOTEL

Posted Dec 10, 2017
This is a very good comfort hotel. It is winter season in Seoul and the rooms are heated very well. Hotel staff are friendly and attended to your request very quickly. Breakfast is reasonable. In term of value, this hotel is definitely 4.5 out of 5.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2018 by AGSM, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience about our serviced residence. We are glad to hear the compliments of our staff attitude. At the same time, we are happy to have met your expectations in service and quality standards. Your warm words inspire us to do better to ensure that our residents have a warm and pleasant experience at our property. Once again, thank you for your valued patronage. We look forwrad to welcoming you again in the near future. Yours sincerely, Joyce Kim// Assistant Guest Service Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Posted Dec 6, 2017
mattress was hard for me and my wife. We both had backache when we woke each morning we stayed. furniture needs to be replaced, out dated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2018 by AGSM, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are sorry to hear your disappointment with Somerset Palace Seoul and that we could not make your stay more comfortable. Aswe are keen to make improvements to enhance our residents' overall stay at our property, I will share your comment with the Housekeeping Manager. Once again, thank you for your valued patronage. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Yours sincerely, Joyce kim// Assistant Guest Service Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Efficient and clean!

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Very efficient kitchen, staff are courteous, and breakfast was tasty.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2017 by AGSM, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We were delighted to learn that you enoyed your stay with us. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our residents are satisifed with our service. Once again, thank you for your vqlued patronage. We look forward to wlecoming you again in the near future. Yours sincerely, Joyce Kim// Assistant Guest Service Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa Canada

Excellent location

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Excellent location and all palaces, Insadong, and all tourist attractions and subway station are nearby except for the airport bus station which is too short distance for taxi but a long 10 minutes walk with a heavy luggage. Good breakfast and many excellent restaurants nearby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2017 by AGSM, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. At the same time, we are happy to have met your expectations in service and quality standards. Receiving such feedback motivates us to further improve our commitment to delivering good service. Once again, thank you for your valued patronage. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Yours sincerely, Joyce Kim// Assistant Guest Service Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Spacious, comfortable rooms with a view of palaces

Posted Nov 7, 2017
We stayed in 2 different (2BR) rooms as we left and came back to Seoul. Both are spacious, clean, and comfortable equipped with practical amenities (kitchen, washer & dryer, 6-seater dining table, living room, bath tubs, etc). Breakfast selection is good with Korean and western options. It also has a playroom for small kids. It's in an ideal location that is quiet and pleasant, and is walking distance to palaces. It's perfect for families. The staff are extremely efficient and spoke English well, which is helpful when obtaining local information.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017 by AGSM, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience about our servised residence. We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. At the same time, we are happy to have met your expectations in service and quality standards. Receiving such positive feedback from our residents motivates us to further improve our commitment to delivering good service. Once again, thank you for your valued patronage. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Yours sincerely, Joyce Kim// Assistant Guest Service Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Johor Bahru, Malaysia

More of an apartment than a luxury hotel room

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: Breakfast.
Cons: Softer towels. Better room arrangement. Decent sausages and fried tomato for breakfast. Making my own (small) cups of tea was a real hassle.
Location: Gyeongbokgung Palace is right next door. The National Folk Museum is worth visiting. Kyobo bookstore. Gwanghwamun Square. So much more!
Having seen the swimming pool and outdoor one-man (or woman) jacuzzis, I thought that the price was right for a mid to high range hotel. Upon entering the room, I found what was more of an apartment than a luxury hotel room. There was a hob and saucepans and a full sized refrigerator. The TV was not in front of the double bed, but in front of a small couch (sadly not big enough to properly lie on). The room was clean, spacious, the decor fine, it not luxurious, and had everything I needed. The bathroom had a bath and the usual toiletries, as well as a plug right next to the toilet (which seems to be a common thing in Korea - of course!). The water pressure didn't seem very high, but somehow the shower pressure was good enough to make for an acceptable (and hot) shower. The towels were just about acceptable. Why can't hotels use softener?! The breakfast was limited, but satisfactory. Sadly, I didn't get to use the pool or jacuzzis. They shut at 9pm. The hotel has a gym and a small children's playroom. There is a restaurant where breakfast is served. The internet works well. The staff were very friendly and helpful, if the reception does get a little busy. My only complaint was that the one time I stepped out of my room without my card, the cleaner who was right there to see it, refused to let me into my room but instead sent me down to the lobby. For a group or family who wanted to cook their own food, this may be my first choice. As a lone traveler, I explore other options.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2017 by AGSM, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our residents are satisfied wtih our service. At the same time, I would like to seek your understanding that the room maid could not open the door due to the security reason, however, I will forward your feedback to the Housekeeping Manager to seek the ways not to cause the guests' inconvenience. Once again, thank you for your valued patronage. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Yours sincerely, Joyce kim//Assistant Guest Service Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seongnam

Excellent hotel employees Excellent place

Posted Oct 7, 2017 on CheapTickets
Close to Geongbokgung, Insadong, Samcheongdong, it was comfortable. I did will-less demand to employees, but they responded very well. Room was old-fashioned, but well-kept rooms. Breakfast was delicious, but I hope there are more number of branches. If I will stay in seoul again, I can stay in this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2017 by AGSM, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience about our serviced residence. We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. At the same time, we are happy to have met your expectations in service and quality standards. Receiving such positive feedback motivates us to further improve our commitment to delivering good service. Once again, thank you for making us as one of your preferred accommodation choices. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future. Yours sincerely, Joyce Kim// Assistant Guest Service Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seongnam

Nice hotel close to the Insadong/Gyeongbokgung

Posted Oct 2, 2017 on CheapTickets
Nice staffs : Their reactions are so fast and exact. Nice place : Close to the Geongbokgung/Insadong/Samcheongdong etc. Nice facility : Looks like old but clean, feels like doing management very well. Beds are soft.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2017 by AGSM, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are glad to hear the compliments of our staff members at Somerset Palace Seoul. Your kind words inspire us to do better to ensure that our residents have a warm and pleasant experience. Once again, thank you for your valued patronage. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Yours sincerely, Joyce Kim// Assistant Guest Service Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2017 on Hotels
Friendly staff, convenient location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2017 by Assistant Guest Service M, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience about our serviced residence. We are happy to hear compiments of our staff members at our property. Your kind words motivates us to further improve our commitment to delivering good service. Once again, thank you for your valued patronage. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Yours sincerely, Joyce Kim// Assistant Guest Service Manager