Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Room stay

Posted Nov 25, 2016
The bed sucked bathroom was really small and u could hear through the walls. Was woken up by the neighbors talking and their dogs barking. Not very good place to stay at all.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint rt 66 hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Older hotel on old rt 66, friendly staff Rooms clean thought I was back in the 60s
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Older Hotel

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: Clean for the most part.
Cons: Clean the laundry room.
Disappointed, we were put in a smelly room clearly used by workers, or extended stay, with a previously Heavily smoked in small bathroom with only a small shower. Owner said he hadn't been in this room for a long time, had to request towels. There were very nice rooms available on the other end of the hotel, with nice bathrooms with a tub/shower combo, which were not being used.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Quick trip

Posted Nov 1, 2015
This is not a luxury place. But if you want a nice, clean, cheap place with a friendly mom & pop staff, THIS is you place. Really nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Good amount of room for the four of us. Wonderful, quiet place. The room seemed really "stuffy" even with the AC going.
1 out of 5
by Jennifer from Poplar Bluff, MO

Disappointed

Posted Oct 25, 2013
I had this room reserved 2 weeks in advance. It took me 3 days just to get someone to answer the phone for a late check in. Then when I showed up to check in before 11pm, the office was closed. I called the phone number and got a man who proceeded to tell me they rented out my room to someone else. I was highly upset. I had to drive down to Economy Lodge which was a great hotel and I will ALWAYS rent a room from them from now on. Found out the next day that Budget Inn rented my room to friends of ours...we were all there for the same function. They said the customer service was horrible, and they were charged more than expected. They were highly disappointed with this place also and will ALSO be checking in to Economy at our next function!!! I would not recommend Best Budget Inn to ANYONE!!!! 2 thumbs down!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ester from Independence

Beautiful setting right by a lake.

Posted Jul 23, 2013
Pros: Staff was very helpful. Any problems were taken care of immediately.
Cons: Shower in the bathroom needs to have the showerhead either replaced or cleaned of hardwater deposits.
Location: Just outside of Carthage, MO an the beautiful Lake Kellogg, there are many places of interest to visit. The Precious Moments Chapel is very close.
Friendly staff and beautiful setting make this older hotel very desirable for a leisurely getaway. The hotel has been recently remodeled and is done in a comfortable country style.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Linda from KC, MO

Decent room and affordable

Posted Jul 22, 2013
Pros: Comfortable bed and quiet
Cons: The continental breakfast was somewhat disappointing. There weren't many options and we had to go back to our room to eat.
Location: Kellogg Lake Park within walking distance
It was a pretty good room for the price. It is near the Kellogg Lake park so you can go to the lake if you want. There is also a small outdoor pool in the back area. The shower is small but overall the room was fairly nice. The bed was comfortable and the staff were nice and answered questions. I would probably stay again if we visited the area again. It is also in a pretty quiet area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Refrigeration from OK

Top pick

Posted Aug 13, 2012
Pros: Clean and nice clerk
Cons: Small bathroom but still room
Location: road work on highway leading to it made it difficult
Clean and well kept good customer service. Older hotel but extremely nice for the price of others in the area.
3 out of 5
by Carol from Minnesota, USA

Not really the Best for a Family

Posted Jul 23, 2012
The room was very hot when we got there. Air Conditioning wasnt on. We turned it on and it still was very hot. Wasnt cooling. so I asked for a fan. She brought us a big box fan, thank goodness. That did help keep us cool. Our 15 yr old grandson was with us and he went in the pool that was outside to cool off a bit. A couple hrs later we all cooled off and was able to sleep good. The Motel was also in a bad location as they were doing roadwork there and we couldnt get threw so had to take the long way around. It was a ok stay nothing fancy.